We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solo Equestrian Trip”
Review of Il Poggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Poggio
Certificate of Excellence
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solo Equestrian Trip”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I came to il Poggio as a solo traveller and felt like royalty! They sent a cab to Chiusi train station with the driver holding a sign w/ my name on it, welcomed site. Upon arrival they greeted me by name and brought me up to my suite. It was amazing! Huge room, antique dressers, large bed and great bathroom. The jacuzzi worked great& shower was wonderful. What made my stay so good was the owners & staff. It was my 1st. time traveling Italy alone & 1st equestrian vacation. I have ridden horses my whole life and the riding was great! The stable was excellent& care of the horses excellent. Steady, reliable horses that were solid and safe. The trails were Awsome! The young guide was helpful & took good care of beginner riders. The dining experience is top rated, and as a picky eater.... They were wonderful. Enrica, the owner welcomed me like family. The chef visited all tables to ensure their meals were satisfactory. I had a session w/ chef Massimo, and laughed and made gnocchi ... And ate it that PM for dinner. My trip was an all inclusive & well worth it! No hidden charges & they fed me 3 meals a day The best part was the staff!!! I felt a connection to all if them;). Well worth the trip & I can't wait to come back!!! I miss them already! Thanks to all that helped me & welcomed me! Wi-fi was so so .... But I could talk to my husband every night. The pools were clean the grounds well maintained. Ask for a suite, you won't regret it!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    77
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
104
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our week here as the staff worked hard to insure we were comfortable. Location in SW Tuscany allowed us to plan several excellent day trips to adjoining towns and be back in time for their delightful dinners. It was unusually hot that week and advise that unless you are in one of their suites, there is no AC in their standard apts. Family run resort that has a very positive vibe.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank findsthegoodspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location of this resort is excellent, being close to Casciano del Bagni. The resort is an older one, with bed, furniture and kitchen appliances that were dated and even worn out. Kitchen appliances were poor and we had to ask for a kettle and sponge for the dishes! The staff were friendly and helpful, which helped.
But the resort it is perched at the top of a hill with wonderful vistas. Wonderful walks to be had, in all directions around the resort.
One drawback is the distance from the main N-S motorway - about 40 mins to get to, before you can tour Florence, Rome or other sites.

Room Tip: choose one away from the reception area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Il Poggio is a combination of timeshare and hotel. The apartments are adequate, since most of your time will be spent outdoors. There is a nice pool beside the main building. As soon as the weather allows it all meals can be taken outside on the terrace. The views are fantasctic.
Breakfast is excellent, with enough choice of pastries etc.
A good place to stay and relax, and also to use as a starting point to explore the beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Most ground floor rooms have a small patio; nice to sit there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Great place great people. We spent 2 weeks traveling around Italy and ended our trip here at il poggio and were GLAD we planned our trip the way we did. We loved it! We decided on our next visit to Italy we would make this one of our base camps for train trips to other cities which where all within 2 hours. You may think this extravent but we realized having a place that felt like your own was worth it.

yes you need a car. Yes it's a drive to other towns but now we understand how to travel Italy. A 30min to 1.5 hour trip on back roads in southern Tuscany is beautiful and relaxing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Based in a working farm, this apartment complex is on a hill opposite a small Tuscan village,
There is compulsory Club membership which gives discounts on meals and purchases in the local village store. Most Tuscan and Umbrian popular cities however are more than an hours drive, eg. Siena over 1 hour, Assisi and Florence 2 hours, Pisa longer, so be satisfied with smaller/closer places such as Montalcino, Pienza etc. or perhaps Horse Riding in the adjacent countryside. Own produce is extensively used in the kitchens and in house wine very good value. Restaurant a la carte and alternative daily special menus available in the evenings. A very enjoyable week.
Friendly family and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paullaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is the 4th time we have stayed at Il Poggio,but may be the last because the overall quality does not justify the price.
The location is fabulous,reception is friendly,dinner is good. The room and bathroom were very spacious and light with wonderful views. Two big heated towel rails in the bathroom and two radiators in the bedroom which could be adjusted made it very cosy on a chilly night.
On the other hand, the jacuzzi in the bathroom didn't work, the old fashioned TV had a smallish square screen which obscured part of the picture and the bed and pillows were quite hard,though the sheets were very nice.
Most disappointing though was the breakfast: cheap cereals,long life milk,rancid butter,tasteless white bread( no toaster) a lot of sweet cakes. I managed with fresh fruit ,yoghurt and cheese.
All of this would be perfectly acceptable if it were not for the price, considering it is March and one ca't use the pool : 160 euros per night B&B. To put this in perspective,a month ago we stayed in the best hotel in Valletta, Malta ( the President of Greece was staying there) on a State visit.We had a big room, bathroom and balcony, with a beautiful view of the harbour .There were huge indoor and outdoor pools ,a spa, a marvellous 5 star breakfast, free shuttle into Valletta etc etc for 130 euros per night !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celle sul Rigo
2.9 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sette Querce
Sette Querce
#2 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
15.1 mi away
La Casella, Eco Resort
La Casella, Eco Resort
#1 of 3 in Ficulle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
La Locanda Di Cetona
La Locanda Di Cetona
#1 of 1 in Cetona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.9 mi away
Agriturismo Casa Fabbrini
Agriturismo Casa Fabbrini
#1 of 6 in San Casciano dei Bagni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Podere Assolatina Agriturismo
Podere Assolatina Agriturismo
#3 of 6 in San Casciano dei Bagni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Poggio

Property: Il Poggio
Address: Il Poggio, 292, 53040 Celle sul Rigo, San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Casciano dei Bagni > Celle sul Rigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Celle sul Rigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Poggio 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hill near the medieval town of Celle sul Rigo, between Val d’Orcia and Val di Chiana, stands the Il Poggio Holiday Farm. The Farmhouse, the central building of the farm, offers a peerless view that spreads over Valle del Rigo, the Radicofani stronghold, Monte Amiata, Monte Cetona, up to Valle dell’Elvella which is bordered in perspective from the town of San Casciano dei Bagni. The Il Poggio buds from the join of two family farms grown up in the spirit of tradition. In 1987 it starts to be in business by doing the first refurbishments of the rural buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Il Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Poggio Hotel San Casciano Dei Bagni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing