We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
StayForLong
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
1
11
28
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1
11
28
13
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The first and the last to this place. The pool was closed for renovation but the receptionist told us that it was open as usual. The kids were so excited and eager to swim to the pool. After seing the pool and its loisy condition, i sraight away when to the reception and told the person in charge how awful your service is. The room was damn and smelly. The bathroom is too small and public toilet looks better than the bathroom here. The morning breakfast was very easy since no one cares to look at your entry ticket.. Haha.. Sucks.

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadiazmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Easy access for dining area. There is a nice street with lots of pubs and restaurants

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dimu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2011

If you're looking for a basic place to stay, which is relatively clean then Seri Malaysia will be ok. Although the room may look a bit old, it will suffice for a basic place to sleep. However, the room we received did not have a good air-conditioning unit (it was a bit noisy and was either too cold or too hot). Apart from that, the room met most of my expectations (that is, expectations of a 2 to 3 star hotel).

Overall for the price you pay, it gets you a decent night's sleep in Penang. However, its far away from the places that most tourists want to visit in Penang so if you do not have a car, it would be best to stay in Georgetown instead.

Room tip: The area is pretty quiet so most of the rooms either face greenery or the front carpark.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Seri Malaysia Hotels, particularly in Penang, are suitable for family with kids who don't really look for perfection in a 3 star hotel. I didn't expect much when I came here but there were few things that I can't tolerate in SMH Penang:
1) room's toilet was dirty and lack of maintenance. Toilet flush was not working and the shower looked terrible;
2) limited parking;
3) bad staff.
Kids don't really care and my nephew enjoyed swimming at the pool, though.
Recommended short stay for families who came for outdoor activities, not recommended for families who look for comfortable room, good service and relaxation.

Will find better hotels at Ferringhi & Tg. Bungah next visits.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MccKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2008

The Seri Malaysia is a dirty hotel. We stayed there 2 nights and there were spiderwebs on the ceiling, the carpet on the floor was very dirty, the sheets had been white 20 years ago I guess. The bathroom was another dirty place, the mirror wasn't even cleaned before we entered the room and the shower had a drainage problem, not to mention that it was dirty.

Then 2 more things, there's a mosque very close, so if you are not moslim, this is a very early unpleasant wake up call. And worst of all, the rooms smells very bad and even with having the window open for hours, did not get rid of the bad smell.

On the positive side, the breakfast is Asian, but when the staff spotted us (Europeans), we were offered eggs any way we liked it, with appology that there was not more than toast, butter and jam to have.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Maarten-in-Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews