We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Nearby Hotels
Eastin Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DR Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lexis Suites Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Lexis Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olive Tree Hotel(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TH Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$35
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sun Yi Villas(Bayan Lepas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Arena Residence(Bayan Lepas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
210
275
87
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
275
87
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe club loungehotel shuttleshuttle servicebusiness tripswimming poolgolf clubnice hotelkoi pondrooms are largepremier roombatu ferringhiroom service isfree shuttlequiet locationnice poolfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

For tourist to stay here and enjoy the serene moment quit recommended. The room is spacious, clean and the staff so far was friendly. However its far from the city centre where you can easily indulge specialty of penang (food, monuments, night life)

Room Tip: Facing the golf club and hill.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadisbegmerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear gadisbegmerah,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang.
It delights us to note that you had a fabulous experience, and a good stay here.
We would also like to let you know that exclusively for our in-house guests, we have
complimentary and frequent shuttle services to the shopping malls, heritage city centre
of Georgetown, Batu Feringgi and the airport.

Glad that you selected Hotel Equatorial Penang and all of us certainly look forward to
welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The interior of the rooms were really nice, renovated and spacious. The staff of the hotel were relatively good mannered and well-behaved. Some were really helpful and friendly and some were just cold and very serious. The hotel is very big, but most of the spaces are either wasted or allocated to seminar rooms and ... which the hotel is making a lot of money conducting different local events such as weddings or corporate events. The parking was not located in a good way. After parking my car I had to get lost in the parking to find my way back to the lobby and my room. It was a long walk. I only tried the breakfast buffet as of food and it was fairly good (8/10) and various foods were presented as it is usually a common thing among Malaysian 5-star hotels. The swimming pool was not bad I would say but it could be better in terms of chairs and beds and its surrounding design; I give a 7 or 6 out of 10 to the swimming pool. The only real problem with this hotel is that you must have a car to drive around in town, otherwise you have to pay a lot for your taxi. It's a long way (between 14-20 km) to many attractions and centres in the city of Penang.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are probably the best. Ask for level 5 or higher, its only about 8 or 9 floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear parandco,

Thank you for sharing a review on your recent visit toPenang. We certainly glad to
note that you had a wonderful experience during your stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang.
However, we must apologise for the some of the unacceptable service that was extended
to you and that we are actively working to improve our service levels. As we are located on
a hilltop, we do provide complimentary and frequent shuttle services to nearby preferred
locations; exclusively for our in-house guests only. We do hope you will consider taking the
advantage of this special privilege during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Nice and spacious hotel .. the whole area is spacious .. especially the lobby .. it has beautiful garden besides the lobby .. nice swimming pool with waterfalls .. nice view of the golf course .. you can see Penang first and second bridge from the hotel ..

The room is ok.. spacious with balcony .. bathroom is big too .. and clean .. but free wifi connection in the room (room 704) was not stable .. so it is quite a frustration ..

Location of the hotel is ok .. not bad especially if you have a car .. otherwise it could be quite a challenge to you .. but the hotel provides free shuttle to several places in Penang ..

All in all .. a good hotel and a pleasant surprise too as I ended up staying in this hotel when my other two regular hotels were fully booked.. will come here again when I go to Penang :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOERIZAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear JOERIZAL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel
Equatorial Penang. Whilst we are delighted to note that you thoroughly
enjoyed your stay with us, we have noted your
dissatisfaction on the wifi connection and do apologize for
the inconvenience. Please be assured that we are actively working to
improve our service levels. Your feedback has proved invaluable to us,
and all of us look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to another delightful
stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This property is an excellent place if you wish to enjoy the birds eye view of Penang from your room. This hotel layout is rather unique and spacious. This is D hotel should you decide to stay here for R&R. Having said that, you need to ensure that transportation is covered as this property is situated on the hill which makes public transport / cab not easily available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear msyen,

Thank you for sharing a review on your recent visit to
Penang. We are delighted to note that your stay at
Hotel Equatorial was a positive and memorable experience.
We would like to let you know that exclusively for our in-house
guests, we have complimentary and frequent shuttle services to
the shopping malls, heritage city centre of Georgetown, Batu
Feringgi and the airport. We do hope you will take advantage of
this special privilege when you next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed 1 night during Hari Raya holiday. Beautiful hotel with clean and nice room. The swimming pool is fantastic with water fall. You will feel peaceful and relax when you at the pool. I only have one comment which is I only able to check in to 2nd room after I approached the front desk 2 times. Overall, highly recommended for those who drive because of the location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank DericSoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Deric Soong,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang.
We are pleased to note your experience with us was overall an enjoyable
and delightful one, and do apologize at the same time for the delayed
check-in you encountered for the second room. We hope this will not deter
you from making another visit here as all of us look forward to welcoming
you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews