We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Althought it is not experience but it is still overpriced for such quality accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Location is fine and convenient. Cleanliness of room is fair but TV programme is less selection. There are 2 TV channels which is "ok" reception. The rest of the channels are not working. Restaurant menu was less selection. There is only a temperarily menu. Service was fair. It is definitely a good place to sleep and rest because strictly no entertainment during the night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 辉 捞
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Rooms were fine. Air conditioning and hot shower was good. Place is good for outdoor activities. It suffers in terms of food, where food offered in the in house restaurant is poor and breakfast specifically is poor with lack of options and slow service.

Check in was good. Front office service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vhinod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The write up & the pics on the web didn't do justice to the place. A let down to us.
Sometimes in June this year, my wife & I went to this resort to have a break & explore the island and its reputation, former penal colony, so the web stated. Jerejak Island is an island between Penang and the mainland.

Once we get off the boat on the island jetty, we were to lug our luggage to the resort which is half a kilometer away. Though some of the luggage were transported by a small car by the staff. This is not normal for a resort. Unless we are going to a remote lodging on an adventure. The facility is good . The room is spacious, the services is, though the staff tried, wanting.

Next day I tried to trek to the prison building, one of the many trails and oh my! Its like walking in wild bush & not a resort trail.The weeds & long grass overgrown the trails so please bring a long knives to cut your path. There are historical sites that are covered by thick undergrowth.

So staying on a penal colony island without beach to speak of trails to wander about, is a big let down except for honeymooners, I guess.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitrah_engine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma_ahmad, Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Jerejak Rainforest Resort as your preferred choice of holiday and thank you for your kind feedback.

We would like to clear your mind that the luggage pick up service is one of our Standard Operating Procedure to our valued guest who checked in and it is a normal practice for our resort as a "Personalized Service"

For your kind info, the Prison ruin does not belong to the Management of this property anyhow we try our level best to maintain the trails for the conveniences of the visitors since the Prison would be the first things that will cross our locals mind when Jerejak Island is mentioned.

Did you go to the Prison Trail on your own or was it guided by our crew? Most of our activities are guided for safety purpose.

Here is the link of our official website: http://www.ancasahotels.com/jerejak.php

We hope that with this explanation will change your perception and do come and stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My first honeymoon time.. i'd celebrated here in JEREJAK RAINFOREST RESORT... This place being the most fantastic moment to me and my wife to enjoyed the nature and the nice seaside.. also not to forget to all the staff here is so friendly with us.. very privacy... calm places and whoever want to feel the adventure.. you're welcome here bro and sis!!! tq from us aida & mie JUST MARRIED on 31 AUGUST 2013.. MERDEKA!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nur Adawiyah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed there with my wife on 20 August 2013. Booked for a night to view the hotel first before to decide to stay longer. Luckily we only booked for a night & decided not to extend our stay because this is the worst hotel I ever stayed in Penang. A very run down old hotel. I wonder how their staff can continue to work for such a hotel because the same staff did a few persons job. The same guy worked as the luggage carrier, the bellboy and the front office staff who do the check-in. He also served as the information counter staff. He does everything. They have a so called spa with one & only female therapist but too bad for us as she is on sick leave that day. After checking in we decided to leave the hotel right away back to the island as there is nothing to do in that hotel. We only went back into the hotel with the last ferry trip at 10:30pm. We demanded for a King/Queen size bed as we are couples but instead was told the hotel only have 2 singles bed joined to become a Queen size bed. Room was old with a funny smell. Bed was horrible. Bathroom old & dirty with stained at every corner. Towels also with stained mark. No choice of breakfast as we are only offered a set of tasteless lousy American breakfast as reason given was there is only 2 rooms occupancy that day. Oh my God! A so called Rainforest Hotel & Spa with only 2 occupied rooms in a day. After breakfast, we quickly packed our belonging and leave that horrible place and we swear never ever to return to this hotel again. As a Malaysian, I felt very ashamed to even mention this place to any friends. Should be demolished and taken off from the tourist map.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Josephwong74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma_ahmad, Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear En Aris Wong,

The management would like to apologize for the shortcomings during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback and we are taking the comments seriously for service improvement.

Please accept our apology with an extension of discounts on your next stay with us. Kindly contact Vikneswaran (Front Office Manager) if you wish to give us another chance.

As a Malaysian, I hope that we will still support each other.

Thank you and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Good Point
- Friendly staff & ready to help - Mohan, Vicky (Front Office)
- Good food (if ala-carte) - Chef Palandran
- Calm enviroment - Good place to relax and fishing

Minus Point
- No beach to have fun
- Need more renovation for the rooms
- Swimming pool needs daily cleaning

It's take 10 minutes from Penang bridge to reach the Jetty. It's located beside Queens Bay Mall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exploracion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Old resort, need to refurbish asap. Garden and swimming pool are not so well maintained. Room smell damp, got big ants on the pillow! furniture need to change and breakfast very limited and basic. Total rate 2.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayan Lepas hotels
4.5 mi away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
#1 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#4 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Penang
Eastin Hotel Penang
#5 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
707 reviews
2.1 mi away
U Hotel Penang
U Hotel Penang
#6 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerejak Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerejak Rainforest Resort

Address: No. 1 Jalan Relau Mk 13 | Daerah Timur Laut, Pulau Jerejak, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerejak Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful tropical island set amidst virgin jungle, Pulau Jerejak is every nature lover's dream come true! Coupled with her rich historical background, a holiday here promises to be refreshingly different.Relics and artifacts share a home with the rich flora and fauna of this island.Get ready for an adventure as you step into one of the few remaining rainforests of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jerejak Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerejak Rainforest Hotel Bayan Lepas
Jerejak Hotel Penang
Jerejak Rainforest Resort Penang/Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing