We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best...”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I liked the look of the place at first, being a little more secluded and away from the hustle and bustle of town. However it turns out I was nearly the only guest staying there for a couple of nights, so that somewhat skewed my experience and made it feel a little like the start of a horror movie.

While the staff did their best to make me feel at home, at times their hospitality was nearly suffocating (3 hugs on check-in, telling you their room number twice and leaving a general feeling of being alone on an island with a creepy stalker). Certain staff need to understand when to stop. That said this was a singular incident and I have the highest respect for all other staff for working under the conditions of what appears to be a hotel going downhill fast.

The choices with regard to the restaurant on site are not at all pleasing. There seemed to be about 5-6 different dinner mains, and they only ever had lychee or soyabean soft drinks.

Overall the room itself was huge, and was relatively clean (bathroom could have done with a bit more of a scrub), however you get what you pay for and I didn't end up paying that much.

The boat trips to the island are a good bit of fun, however this can be a bit time consuming should you miss the boat and there can be a fair few hours in between.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank yukkalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    25
    22
    20
See reviews for
19
30
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I am not satisfied!
I chose this island because I wanted to be in a place that is quiet and trying to be relaxed. BUT unfortunately this wasn't the case.
In my opinion, this is just 2star hotel.
- the staff were not well trained and unfriendly.
- in general very laud due the machines around working. e.g They starting very early in morning cleaning the garden area by Backpack Leaf Blower machine, very disturbing!
- poor breakfast. awful!
- in the evenings, bad food, bad organized and slow at the restaurant. The list of foods on the menu were not signaled (how hot is the food they are providing) the next day I got seek from the food that I had just once there. Very very bad food.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baahram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bayan Lepas hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Had a bad experience during my check in. Called the resort few days prior the check in day, the staff confirmed all payment has been made and told me don't need to bring any prove. But upon check in, the front desk staff did not help us in verifying our payment and force us to pay if we could not show any documents to prove that the payment has been made. Rude and loud tone when talking to us.

Bad condition of cleanliness. Dirty floor.

Not much choice of for breakfast. Very few ferry provided (i.e. at night, from jetty to resort, after 6:30pm you have to wait until 10:30pm.

Not worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Location is fine and convenient. Cleanliness of room is fair but TV programme is less selection. There are 2 TV channels which is "ok" reception. The rest of the channels are not working. Restaurant menu was less selection. There is only a temperarily menu. Service was fair. It is definitely a good place to sleep and rest because strictly no entertainment during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 辉 捞
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Rooms were fine. Air conditioning and hot shower was good. Place is good for outdoor activities. It suffers in terms of food, where food offered in the in house restaurant is poor and breakfast specifically is poor with lack of options and slow service.

Check in was good. Front office service was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vhinod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The write up & the pics on the web didn't do justice to the place. A let down to us.
Sometimes in June this year, my wife & I went to this resort to have a break & explore the island and its reputation, former penal colony, so the web stated. Jerejak Island is an island between Penang and the mainland.

Once we get off the boat on the island jetty, we were to lug our luggage to the resort which is half a kilometer away. Though some of the luggage were transported by a small car by the staff. This is not normal for a resort. Unless we are going to a remote lodging on an adventure. The facility is good . The room is spacious, the services is, though the staff tried, wanting.

Next day I tried to trek to the prison building, one of the many trails and oh my! Its like walking in wild bush & not a resort trail.The weeds & long grass overgrown the trails so please bring a long knives to cut your path. There are historical sites that are covered by thick undergrowth.

So staying on a penal colony island without beach to speak of trails to wander about, is a big let down except for honeymooners, I guess.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitrah_engine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma_ahmad, Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Jerejak Rainforest Resort as your preferred choice of holiday and thank you for your kind feedback.

We would like to clear your mind that the luggage pick up service is one of our Standard Operating Procedure to our valued guest who checked in and it is a normal practice for our resort as a "Personalized Service"

For your kind info, the Prison ruin does not belong to the Management of this property anyhow we try our level best to maintain the trails for the conveniences of the visitors since the Prison would be the first things that will cross our locals mind when Jerejak Island is mentioned.

Did you go to the Prison Trail on your own or was it guided by our crew? Most of our activities are guided for safety purpose.

Here is the link of our official website: http://www.ancasahotels.com/jerejak.php

We hope that with this explanation will change your perception and do come and stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My first honeymoon time.. i'd celebrated here in JEREJAK RAINFOREST RESORT... This place being the most fantastic moment to me and my wife to enjoyed the nature and the nice seaside.. also not to forget to all the staff here is so friendly with us.. very privacy... calm places and whoever want to feel the adventure.. you're welcome here bro and sis!!! tq from us aida & mie JUST MARRIED on 31 AUGUST 2013.. MERDEKA!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nur Adawiyah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
4.5 mi away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#3 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
#1 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
U Hotel Penang
U Hotel Penang
#6 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
88 reviews
9.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
2.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Penang
Eastin Hotel Penang
#4 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerejak Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerejak Rainforest Resort

Property: Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Address: No. 1 Jalan Relau Mk 13 | Daerah Timur Laut, Pulau Jerejak, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerejak Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful tropical island set amidst virgin jungle, Pulau Jerejak is every nature lover's dream come true! Coupled with her rich historical background, a holiday here promises to be refreshingly different.Relics and artifacts share a home with the rich flora and fauna of this island.Get ready for an adventure as you step into one of the few remaining rainforests of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jerejak Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerejak Rainforest Hotel Bayan Lepas
Jerejak Hotel Penang
Jerejak Rainforest Resort Penang/Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing