We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern ski hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhotel Enzian

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alpenhotel Enzian
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hochsolden
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern ski hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is situated in the small village (or actually, a group of 7-8 buildings) of Hochsölden, 700m above the actual Sölden. Note that the are virtually no services, save a few hotels and their restaurants, plus an Intersport shop up there. The hotel is clean, modern and its wellness/spa department is good if a bit small. There is a medium sized pool. You can jump straight to the piste from the ski room door, which is one of the best features of the hotel. Mainly East European staff was very friendly and spoke both German and English fairly well. The dinner courses were fancifully constructed but in general, looked better than tasted. The quality of the food varied during our stay - at best it was very good. Breakfast buffet was above average in terms of variety. The rooms were clean, quite spacious (though the term "junior suite" is a bit misleading - they were more like big rooms) and in our cases (floors 1 and 2) equipped with a balcony - handy for cooling soda and beer cans. The beds were a bit hard. Not an inexpensive hotel but all in all, a nice package, unless you value bars and night life!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mmiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie I, Manager at Alpenhotel Enzian, responded to this review, 22 July 2015
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and the time you've made for writing it!
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our house!

It would be great to welcome you again some day!

All the best and kind regards,
your Team from hotel Enzian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly located next to the slopes !! really a ski-out and ski-in experience. Wellness is nice and swimming pool is big and has a nice view on the slopes. Restaurant has very helpful and friendly staff. Food is good and the breakfast buffet has everything what you can expect for 4* hotel in Austria.

I can recommand everyone to go to this hotel. Your holiday will be perfect !!

The only thing be careful when you drive to the hotel when it's snowy ! Put on your chains !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexi_Vangerven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie I, Manager at Alpenhotel Enzian, responded to this review, 23 July 2015
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive rating, your recommendation and the nice words!

We're very pleased that you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much. Pure skiing experience, relaxation and culinary delights are the ingredients we like to offer our guests here in Hochsölden.

It would be very nice to welcome you again some day!

All the best from the Ötztal,
your Hotel Enzian team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great location, very friendly stuff, stunning mountain view, wonderful breakfast, nice dinner. Good spa area with different saunas and swimming pool. Just one thing we really did not like: the chef is unable to cook fish normally. We had several chances to try. Monk fish was completely unbeatable, the other day fish was over cooked, than - oversalted. What can I say: just choose meat, it was really great for all the seven evenings we staid in this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't eat fish in their restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reingleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, and we had an excellent stay. The service is very friendly with everything taken care of. The food is great with lots of choices. Wellness area is lovely but no spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Willem_Katrijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, Herts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

The hotel is right on the piste at Hochsolden; just leave the ski/boot room and you are straight on the piste.
We stayed over Christmas 2012 and had a fantastic time. All the staff are very friendly and efficient. The room (no. 304) was spacious, modern and very clean. The toilet and bathroom were separate rooms off the hall, where there was ample wardrobe and hanging space. In the main area of the room, there was an Austrian twin (basically two single mattresses within one large frame), a double sofa bed (very comfortable) and a table and chairs. There is then a small alcove area at the front of the room with a desk and two more chairs. The balcony was over the bar area, looking directly onto the piste. High speed internet in the room was excellent (charged at 25 Euro for 24 "rolling" hours, you could also have other options ranging from one hour upwards.
The food at the hotel was excellent. A salad buffet was always the first course and there was a huge selection of very fresh produce. Next came a choice of soups, followed by another choice of starter. Then a choice from 3 or 4 main dishes followed by a choice of 2 or 3 desserts. Finally, the cheeseboard is a separate buffet and was accompanied by wonderful fresh breads, crackers, grapes, chutnies etc. There is a good selection of excellent quality wines ranging from 28-40 Euros. Breakfast is a buffet, with eggs cooked to order. Fresh bread, fruits, cereals, cheeses, hams, salamis etc are also on offer along with the cooked bacon, sausages etc etc.
The "Wellness Centre" is the spa, which is also superb. The swimming pool has windows looking out onto the piste and there are plenty of loungers. In the swimming pool side of the centre, there is also a hot tub. The other side of the spa features sauna, steam room, salt room and a reading area; as you would expect in alpine countries, swimming costumes are not permitted in the sauna etc, but there are plenty of towels for you to sit on and wrap around yourself if you have that British reserve about nakedness! My wife enjoyed a number of massages/treatments that were very reasonably priced.
For the kids there is a basement games area featuring table tennis, pool, air hockey etc in addition to a range of video games.
The bar is informal and reasonably priced. There is also a no-smoking lounge area with log fire.
All of the staff spoke excellent English and I cannot praise them enough for their high standards of service.
The only let-down for us about this holiday is not linked to the hotel, but the lift system. My wife is a non-skier and usually uses the lift system to meet my daughter and I for lunch. Unfortunately, pedestrians are not permitted on any of the chair lifts in the resort. This leaves just the two gondola lifts from Solden available, reached by taking the bus down to Solden at 10am and either returning on the 3.15 bus or returning by taxi for 26 Euro. A return trip on either gondola for a pedestrian is about 25 Euros. There is one restaurant at the top of the Gigijoch gondola and another at the mid-point of the other gondola. The restaurant at the top of Gaislachkogl was closed for refurbishment while we were there, but is due to open in summer 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is situated in Hochsölden on a height of 2000 meters. Road to the hotel was very steep and the road in the "village" (some hotels, a ski rental shop and a ski school) is very narrow. I went there with my family (my wife and our 2 children (3 and 7 years old).

We stayed there 1 week in the beginning of april 2012.

The hotel is located next to a red slope so you can ski in and out the hotel. The room we stayed in (101) was a big room with a balcony. The room seemed a bit outdated but was OK. The matrasses of the bed were not so good, I would expect better in a hotel of that price range. Food was good and the personnel was very helpfull, every "problem" was solved on the spot, I could appreciate that attitude. The hotel had a private parking which was nice.

The swimming pool and the wellness area were OK and child friendly (swimming pool, in the wellness area small children were not allowed)

The ski resort (Sölden) is really OK and the slopes are very good even in april the snow quality was OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Very nice skihotel, next to the slope, you start and finish in the skiroom. But also the rest is onderfull. Very, very very gentle and helpfull personel. The breakfast buffet, the dinner are copious. The rooms large and we had no suite but eventhough there was a seperate place in it. If one thing was a little bit less perhaps was the wardrobe with only two shelves. Very recommendable hotel. We all enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hochsolden
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 5 in Hochsolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenfriede
Hotel Alpenfriede
#4 of 5 in Hochsolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
#1 of 5 in Hochsolden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sonnenhotel Hochsoelden
Sonnenhotel Hochsoelden
#5 of 5 in Hochsolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.4 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 32 in Solden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Enzian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Enzian

Property: Alpenhotel Enzian
Address: Hochsoeldenstrasse 7, Hochsolden 6452, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hochsolden
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hochsolden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Enzian 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Alpenhotel Enzian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing