We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant for unwary tourists.”
Review of Les Geraniums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Geraniums
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Barroux
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We dropped in here for lunch after visiting the chateau. It looked inviting with tables set out on an attractive terrace. There was a set menu offering two courses for 18€ with no choices, or a more elaborate one for 30€. We opted for the 18€, which was duck, followed by a strawberry bavarois. The bread was hard & stale, the pieces of duck were roughly chopped and included the bone & gristle, although the accompanying sauce was good. Having served the food, our waiter then avoided us completely, otherwise we would have asked for the bread to be replaced. In most restaurants in France, the waiter returns to check whether everything is satisfactory. Not here! The bavarois was adequate but not home made. We had to go inside to the bar to ask for our bill. The waiter's attitude bordered on insolence. Again, no enquiry whether we had enjoyed the lunch. We didn't leave a tip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

my husband and I stayed here for two nights in June. We have been here many times over the years and its a perfect place to just really relax. Very simple , very pretty and very clean rooms. We were in the annexe- which we requested- there's a lovely sense of being part of the village when you walk out from there to the main hotel and restaurant ( one minute!).The views from our room over the valley down to Caromb,were incredible! We had lovely evening dinner on the terrace and were made to feel really welcome by all the staff. The only Slight point for improvement would be that the half- board guests seemed to have wider dinner choices with more local/ in season choices on their menu-- this would have been a nice option for the main menus.Perfect location in an idyllic and beautiful village! Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: we particularly love the annexe rooms- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

East is Mt Ventoux-cyclist love this 6,000 ft challenge.
West is the Cote de Rhone-lovely villages and wineries and many walking trails.
Easy drive to the Luberon, and 2 hours to the coast.
Le Barroux is a lovely village topped by a castle.
Good food and wine, comfortable accommodations.
Friendly staff and free wifi.
Free locked parking area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

A nice, quiet, comfortable room with a superb view of the valley with easy parking on site. Delicious food, served on a beautiful terrace. The staff was pleasant, accomodating and helpful. The Benedictine Monastery nearby where "Watchmen of the Night" was filmed, and the Notre Dame Abbaye of the Annonciation nearby are well worth the visit. Vaison La Romaine and Fontaine de Vaucluse are excellent day trips.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and loved it. The room was very nice and the views were amazing. We had breakfast on one patio and dinner on another with a view over the valley and an amazing sunset. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpl517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a room in an old building. The room was dark and simple, three stairs to climb. The view from the window was very nice. Breakfast expensive

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bramvanderkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We reserved this hotel with internet to stay a night during our trip to our holiday destination. Tt was really a nice surprise for us.
The place is wonderfull (a small typical village with a castle on the top of a hill at the feet of the Mont Ventoux), the hotel is decorated with respect of the environment, two very beautiful terrasses (one for the drinks and breakfast and another with a splendid view for the restaurant, the personnel was very kind and the meal was excellent.
We keep this address in mind for later in order to spend several days so that we can try the whole menu card and discover the nice places all around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Barroux
3.6 mi away
Le Relais des Dentelles
Le Relais des Dentelles
#2 of 2 in Beaumes-de-Venise
22 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Florets
Hotel Les Florets
#1 of 2 in Gigondas
218 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
#6 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
22 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Garance
Hotel La Garance
#2 of 6 in Bedoin
87 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chateau de Mazan
Chateau de Mazan
#1 of 2 in Mazan
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Geraniums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Geraniums

Address: Pl de la Croix, 84430 Le Barroux, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Le Barroux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Barroux
Price Range: £61 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Geraniums 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Les Geraniums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Geraniums Hotel Le Barroux
Les Geraniums Le Barroux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing