We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Les Geraniums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Geraniums
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Barroux
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family of 3 just finished our 5 day stay here in late June. We were part of a larger painting group who were also staying at Les Geraniums. This hotel is situated in an extraordinary medieval town, Le Barroux. The hotel has old world elegance and an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff (who put up with our large group of American tourists/painters). The girl at the front desk took time out to book at least 8 of our train tickets back to Paris. Arriving in this town was like a dream after the bustle of Paris and Avignon; there are winding streets, fountains, ancient architecture a charming post office/ market and elegant tea room (where they serve lavender Gelato). Our dinners, (4 courses, served on a coveted outdoor dining courtyard with breathtaking views) at the hotel were consistently 5 stars and we looked forward to what would be served next, from braised pork chops, in their juice and potatoes to seafood and other variations of french cuisine. Our ten year old looked forward to the desert, of course, and everyone's favorite was a chilled "soup" of fresh cherries, watermelon and sorbet, yumm!! Be prepared for long dinners as this seems to be the French way, in between courses we enjoyed the views and conversation and my daughter would often check on the resident cat's whereabouts. This is a good family or couples destination and there is a loop of nearby villages and famous vineyards for wine aficionados.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank touringtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We discovered this comfortable inn with the medieval castle out the front door in June.
As soon as we saw it we were charmed. Compared to Parisian hotels our room was
spacious. The hotelier and staff are unfailingly helpful. (My husband got stuck biking
and the owner drove to help him.)
Chef produced tasty local specialties. They even accommodated a dairy free diet.
Spectacular views from the terrace which serves diners afternoons and evenings.
We hated to leave! K & G

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fifield2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for a quiet break in an exquisite French village then this small, character-filled hotel is your answer. We received the warmest of welcomes from the owners, Hugh and Geraldine, who work very hard to make this haven a success. The highlight of our visit was a delicious dinner, creatively presented and served on the terrace. From here,d the view of the garden and the distant lights of Avignon added to the magic. We regret that we had only one night to spare - but we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spending time for some plein air painting in the Provence, this hotel was a perfect base camp. The owner, a former general manager of diverse grand hotels, is someone who knows his business and, with his staff, very capable of creating a wonderful laid back atmosphere in which you feel immediately welcome and at home. The food was delicious. This is a place you could come year after year to explore that wonderful Provence, I definitely plan on returning here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of days. I enjoyed the classic atmosphere in the hotel. Unfortunately it wasn't quite up-and-running yet. It meant that we didn't have internet and the restaurant wasn't neither up-and-running. But the service was good, the owner was very nice and helpful.
The rooms was small and the bathroom was literally in the closet. The location though is pretty much perfect.

Room Tip: There is only 8 rooms, so make sure to get a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We've stayed here before and liked it, even though the food is a little on the pricey side. But this time, after a very long drive, we found the patron to be very un-host like to the point of rudeness. Yes we turned up with a dog and we NOW know they accept small dogs only, but we weren't aware of that. (Our dog is a medium spaniel, house trained, clean, quiet). The hotel, as far as we could see, was virtually empty. The patron, on finding out we had a medium rather than a small dog, just refused to consider us point blank. But it was his curt attitude that was terrible. No concession, no apology, no smile, just a scowl. We thought he would have at least recommended another hotel in the area, but no. In the event we found a cheap and cheerful hotel in nearby Malaucene which we will be recommending to our friends. The host in this hotel was completely the opposite - friendly and appreciative of the business. The whole point of a hotel (hote = host) is to welcome travellers, not turn them away. If you have a dog or prefer your host to be friendly go to nearby Malaucene instead.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank antoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My second stay in 9 months, and we'll be back again in December. Easy going staff, comfy beds and a great location make this hotel a pleasure to stay at. Almost onsite parking is a welcome bonus. Ask for a room in the annex for a slightly more modern room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex as they are more modern than in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Barroux
5.7 mi away
Chateau de Mazan
Chateau de Mazan
#1 of 2 in Mazan
398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Relais des Dentelles
Le Relais des Dentelles
#2 of 2 in Beaumes-de-Venise
22 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Florets
Hotel Les Florets
#1 of 2 in Gigondas
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
54 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
#5 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
23 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Geraniums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Geraniums

Address: Pl de la Croix, 84430 Le Barroux, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Le Barroux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Barroux
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Geraniums 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Geraniums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Geraniums Hotel Le Barroux
Les Geraniums Le Barroux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing