We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place!”
other traveller has booked this property
Chateau de Villers. An aquarel impression of the estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau de Villers. An aquarel impression of the estate
Aerial view of the Hunting Lodge The hunting lodge, summer 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Chateau de Villers. An aquarel impression of the estate
Aerial view of the Hunting Lodge
The hunting lodge, summer 2013
The chateau of Villers, front side
Chateau of Villers, wintertime
Swiming pool with telescopic cover
Swimmingpool with cover / lateral view
Swimming pool (cover retracted)
Swimming pool, 6-6-013
Gate of Lions, access lane to the estate / right turn leads to hunting lodge
Gate of boars, view from the house of the intendant of the estate; his wife, houskeeper of the lodge
View on the Hunting Lodge below, taken from the house of the intendant of the estate
Glass front entrance door / dining table before  kitchen bar,extend. to 12 pp / bathroom door
Kitchen with bar overlooking dining area and livingroom
Kitchen annex / loundry with  freezer, big refrigorator, washing machine and dryerr
Bathroom groundfloor
Same bathroom
Same bathroom with toilet groundfloor
Staircase to 2nd floor
Passage 2nd floor with view on Masterbedroom
2nd floor  second toilet
2nd floor  Second bathroom
2nd floor same bathroom opposite angle
2nd floor Masterbedroom
2nd floor same Masterbedroom / view on balcony frontside
2nd floor same Masterbedroom
2nd floor Children bedroom
2nd floor same Children bedroom
2nd floor Third bedroom
2nd floor same Third bedroom
2nd floor View on  garden from Third bedroom / main tree (Ash) illuminated at 10 - 12 p.m.
Children playground with picnic corner
Children playground / Picnic corner bis /  Ash tree illimunated in the evening
game room / table tennis
Stables
Horse stables / boxes adaptable to a space of 12m2  each / stairs, access to saddlery
Garden next to pool (at the left, completely out of sight), opposite chateau
Autumn leaves / rare beech tree and as rare ancient pigeonnier (pigeon loft) with  400 pigeon holes
Beach tree in spring with baby owl
Inside pigeonnier with  amazing carpentry ceiling and turning  ladder / now refuge baby church owl
Pigeonnier inside
The chateau of Villers by night
The castle park iluminated / in front the pigeonnier and one of the two rare 'tortured' beeches
Chateau de Villers by night / backside
The chateau around 1900
View from the chateau on the valley of the river Aisne 15th century cereal mill, nowadays farm
View from the chateau on village church of Villers
The 16th century church of Villers, restored after WW II
The 16th century village  church of  Villers en Argonne by night
Chamisso family tomb with officers sword with the insignia of the Order of  St Louis and family crest
Chamisso family tomb / close-up
Chamisso family tomb / close-up family crest
Main entrance chateau (renaissance period) with same  family coat of arms
Horseriding in Villers: Poney club with children farm / free access
Horse riding in Villers: the manège  -  riding school : free access
Horse riding in Villers: stables
Horse riding in Villers: the poneyclub with blacksmith at work : free access
View on Villers church (front left) and Villers castle park (front right), taken from the little chapel, 12-9-011
Villers village map with suggestions for walks in the surrounding forrests with their many ponds
The near beyond (the estate): a farm with swan pond
View on Ante  / Boncourt castle, birth place Adelbert von Chamisso, destroyed during  the Revolution
The village of Ante. Boncourt castle was situated here. Sold and deconstructed in 1792
The chapel to the castle of Boncourt, that survived; nowadays village church of Ante
The surviving chapel of Boncourt castle. Adelbert von Chamisso was baptised here
Outline of former moat (green, because of water remnant). Herewithin was Boncour castle & courtyard
Boncourt castle grounds. Now a famer prepares the earth for harvest; every time remnants  are found
Chamisso family crest, original wall painting at Boncourt. Only pictural remnant of this chateau
Valmy, the battle of 1792 saved the French Revolution & 'changed the face of the earth' (Goethe)
Valmy battle field memorial
The valley of the river Aisne: view on the village church of Villers
The valley of the river Aisne: view on Villers surrounding farmland and forrests
The valley of the river Aisne: lock in the Aisne where the river is most narrow
The valley of the river Aisne near the lock on the Aisne
Valley of the river Aisne: just an other bucolic spot near a fishing cabin
The palatial 18th century townhall of nearby Sainte Menhould, where you may do your daily shopping
Kaiser tunnel / rest and recup. for wounded German soldiers in the Argonne forest near  frontline
Kaiser tunnel / entrance/exit WWI German underground field hospital to visit
Dominating American WW I War Memorial at Vincennes with stunning views over former battle grounds;
French W.W. I memorial at a location where once was a village
Bar le Duc:stunning monument of the Prince of Orange by Ligier, symbolising triumph of resurrection
Your hosts: picture taken in December 2010 at Cape of Good Hope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Menehould, Marne, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sharpie18...
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay here, particularly as the weather was so good. The gite is quiet and rural, and perfect for "getting away from it all" (although it does have wifi!). The photos of the interior on the website are pretty representative.

Nothing was too much trouble for Mr Landman, the owner.
..the cottage is very clean & well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. We spent most of our time outdoors on the patio, so the barbecue was well used. We even managed some sunbathing and a swim in the pool.

Plenty of space in the fridge for French goodies and champagne! We eagerly anticipated the morning arrival of the pastry lady who delivers croissants & batons!
The shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water.
The bedlinen was fine- if you are fussy about thread counts, then I would maybe bring your own.
The stairs are really steep (& open), and there is only a stairgate at the top rather than at the bottom.
Our dog loved the open space around the gite, where she could play with her ball (preferably not in the Chateau park). The garden is not fenced in. There are nice walks around the area, but we also went to the Lac Du Der which she enjoyed. The French seem to welcome dogs everywhere!
We enjoyed some champagne tasting in Reims (at Taittinger and Veuve Clicquot- book in advance), but if you want something closer, head towards Bassuet (30 minutes drive) through Givry en Argonne where there are several small producers selling at excellent value.

The local restaurant (Au Relais de la Forêt) in Passavent is very good. Dominique is a charming host and kindly gave us a lift back so we could enjoy some wine.

If you like military history and don’t have much time, head towards Varennes en Argonne, where the Butte de Vauquois is worth a visit (20 mins) as is the Kaiser's bunker in the forest. The American cemetery (the largest in Europe) is about 40 minutes away and all through a beautiful countryside. I would recommend taking a copy of Rose E Coombs's book "Before Endeavours Fade" as this gives a brilliant guide to Verdun and the local area with suggested routes

All-in all, a great week – Mr Landman made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We’ll be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luxembourg
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in June 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 5 March 2012 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK.
Reviewed 27 February 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sleaford.lincs
Reviewed 27 February 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Feb 2012
Many thanks for this rapid reaction and your kind comments.

All the best to you,
Johannes Landman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing