We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Top notch traditional chalet”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dienten Cabin

Dienten Cabin in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dienten Cabin in winter
Lower apartment living room with wood burning stove - ideal for those winter evenings Upper apartment living room with brand new LED lighting, Wii, 40' LED TV and large sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
11 reviews
Dienten Cabin in winter
Lower apartment living room with wood burning stove - ideal for those winter evenings
Upper apartment living room with brand new LED lighting, Wii, 40' LED TV and large sofa
Upstairs kitchen/dining room
View from the upper apartment
Lower apartment kitchen with charming original features
Lower apartment dining room - plenty of space for all guests of both apartments
Upper apartment bathroom is brand new for 2013/14
Dienten Cabin upper apartment
Upper apartment smaller double
Upper apartment twin room - great for kids or friends
Upper apartment double bedroom with en-suite
The sauna is perfect for relieving those aches and pains from a day on the mountain
Dienten Cabin garden in winter
Dienten Cabin at night
Dienten village and the Hochkönig
Alpen glow on the Hochkönig
Dienten Cabin in summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dienten am Hochkonig, Austrian Alps

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
milesyb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top notch traditional chalet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dienten Cabin is a great chalet with loads of traditional character, and is an ideal base for skiing in the Hochkonig area. The Cabin has an authentic Alpine farmhouse feel to it, with the right balance of traditional features and mod-cons having been sympathetically modernised by owners Chris and Annika. It's just outside the main village of Dienten so it feels nicely private, but it's just a short drive to the lifts and restaurants. The ski area is good fun, the Hochkonig isn't huge compared to some of the bigger resorts but there's plenty enough to keep skiers and boarders of all abilities busy for the week, and the unspoilt views are epic. All in all the Cabin is a great chalet in an enjoyable location, and we'll hope to return someday.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ts0184
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Loved this cabin and the local area! It's right near a nice quiet ski area, great for all abilities, and the cabin is just a few minutes drive from the town - which is really authentic and Austrian.
We stayed in the upper cabin, which has been renovated and done really nicely. Chris and Annika have thought about all the small touches in the apartment and it makes for a really comfortable and easy stay. There's a drying room, room for storing all your ski gear and lots of in-room storage too. The bathroom is wonderful with a great shower and instant hot water and there's even a hair dryer! The kitchen is a great communal space and has everything you could need for cooking up delicious group feasts.
I loved the living room and all the small touches like the Wii, books, games, DVDs, music etc that allowed us to completely relax and feel at home. I would definitely recommend this place as a wonderful home-away-from-home and can't wait to come back in the summer for some hiking and climbing.
Thanks Chris and Annika for being so helpful and making it such a wonderful stay!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The bathroom in the upper apartment, the speedy wi-fi, all the inside activities (Wii, dvds, games, books etc)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavol2014
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A piece of history with all comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

If you would like to taste a piece of history, how the people in the Alps lived centuries ago, and at the same time you do not like to resign on necessary comfort of 21 cent., you are on the right address. We enjoyed very much our stay in this 300 years old chalet, being out of village rush, but within walking distance to excellent typical restaurant. We can recommend it very strongly. And, Chris and Annika (the owners) were very polite and helpful in any situation. We had a great time there !

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik K
Kerteminde, Denmark
1 review
“Charming and very cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We held our Christmas holiday in Dienten Cabin together with my brothers family. The Cabin was a perfect base for our holiday and we really enjoyed our stay. You just have to be aware of the fact that the hight to the roof and door frames are low. The owner Chris and his wife was very nice and service minded all the way from the first contact to the end of our stay :D

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The charme of the Chalet, the sauna, the living room downstairs and the kitchen upstairs.
Liked least: The kitchen at the lower apartment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D
Buxted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cabin in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We loved our stay at Dienten Cabin. It looked really lovely in the photographs and did not disappoint when we arrived. Set in the outskirts of Dienten the cabin is not overlooked by anyone. We stayed in the upper apartment with our two young boys. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped and the shower in the newly-fitted bathroom was fantastic. Our boys loved playing in the garden and we enjoyed a couple of BBQs during our stay. We would highly recommend Dienten Cabin to anyone. We look forward to coming back next year!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siretwist
Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: alles
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e n
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing