We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Crozon
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I selected this hotel from the Logis hotel website and so glad that I did.
We stayed for three nights and loved it.
From the warm welcome at reception to the nicely decorated and spotlessly clean room.
Took a while to find it as it is at Le Fret which is several miles outside of the town centre but in a great, peaceful location.
Extremely good breakfast with lots of choices including local fare but the icing on the cake was the restaurant. Why eat elsewhere when you can eat here.
We had the Menu du Terroir which included choices for starter, main and dessert and at 27 Euros was money well spent. The food, service and attention to detail were impeccable and we shall definitely look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Reserve the restaurant as it is not very large and is obviously popular. Ask for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARHawkins3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    110
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
36
185
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The room was big and clean but tired. We would stay again.

We ate in the hotel restaurant (there are limited other choices) but the food was excellent however there was a later price to pay which we attributed, without evidence, to either the oysters or the fish. Very disappointing for a first class restaurant but as always, ymmv.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocemalo, Gérant at Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to leave your comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Hostellerie de la Mer. I don’t really understand your comment about the restaurant cause oysters and several fishes are in the first menu (“menu du terroir” at 27€) and there is 4 choices for starter, plate, and dessert on this menu.
I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hostellerie de la Mer.
We look forward to your next visit and remain,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

On a business trip I spent one night here. My colleague and I knew we would be arriving late so we called ahead and were able to make sure the restaurant would be open and a table reserved for us. Upon our arrival check-in was quick and the room was clean. The room overlooked the water which was nice especially when the sun started coming up. The hotel was fairly full but I heard nothing from my neighbors. Plenty of hot water in the morning and check out was quick and easy with the bill being correct. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and the staff was very polite. They have a good wine selection and the set menus are priced well. The only complaint was that I had a fish bone in my soup. The chicken with mushrooms was excellent. The breakfast was reasonably priced and contained everything one would expect from a French hotel breakfast. Though they only rate a 2 star hotel, if one takes into account location (middle of nowhere, small community) then I would consider this a 4 star with the excellent service. If in the area again I would stay at the Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriscoPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We actually only went there for the restaurant. The welcome was nice (try to get a table by the window, although in winter time at night the view is less important...). The decoration of the dining room is nice. The service is very well-mannered. It is however rather slow, so don't go there if you are in a hurry! The food and wine selection is nice (several wines by the glass...), although it may be considered a bit pricey. However, it is nice old-style service and a perfect setting for a romantic evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcanada31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed for one night before returning to Brest to finish our holiday. Wish we'd stayed longer. Le Fret is wonderful - peaceful, good swimming round the side of the quay, and a nice selection of bars. The hotel staff were friendly, the room was excellent - comfortable and clean. The highlight however was the food in the restaurant - simply wonderful! I'm forever being surpised by the gastronomic quality of Logis hotels - and the service/rooms are right up there with it as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I was expecting the worse given some of the reviews but turns out my time at the Presqu'Ile Crozon was one of the highlights of a month in La Bretagne. This small hotel certainly helped. I booked a superior double with sea view. The room was very comfortable and modern with wifi that worked well. I enjoyed numerous baths in the roomy bathroom. The view out the window to the bay was gorgeous.

I had no problems with the staff. A young gentleman checked me in who seemed to want to practise his English (which was excellent) even though I'm fluent in French. The other staff whether at reception or in the restaurant were always polite and friendly. The restaurant is of gourmet standard.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Room was good. The reception people where rude. The restaurant matradie was rude. The food was expensive and sub standard.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1954Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crozon
4.1 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#3 of 8 in Crozon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Grand Hotel de la Mer
4.1 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#5 of 8 in Crozon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 5 in Camaret-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Thalassa
Hotel Thalassa
#2 of 5 in Camaret-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de la Presqu'ile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer

Property: Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer
Address: Quai Le Fret | Le Fret, 29160, Crozon, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Crozon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Crozon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie de la Mer, located within the Pininsula of Crozon, in the traditional port of Le Fret, is a charming Hotel Logis with a restaurant facing the bay of Brest. With a view on the sea for some of the room, you will enjoy your trip to the ends of the earth at the extreme tip of Brittany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hostellerie de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing