We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A special place for a special occasion”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the chateau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
The pool, as seen from the top floor
outdoor dining (more tables and chairs available)
plenty of space, all secure
large grounds
Entrance hall
delightful farmhouse kitchen
dining area
twin bedroom
library
there is 1 bathroom and 3 shower rooms, 5 WCs
Top floor bedroom
chill area on the top floor
part of a bedroom
twin room with antique beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Vogon1
Bramley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place for a special occasion”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having spent two weeks in this charming location with extended family and friends for my daughters wedding I don't think we could have found a better place to stay. With all the style and charm it is everything you would expect from an old French property with the added benefit of a large number of bathrooms to support the 8 bedrooms. The grounds are large enough to provide space and it has a large "real" pool you can actually swim in. The BBQ is also large enough to provide for extended groups while the good quality Wi-Fi provides a modern counterpoint to the period furniture and collectibles.
Searching hard for areas of improvement I would like stronger light in the kitchen and more plug sockets.
The village of St Just is quiet (a positive) but you have all the convenience (supermarkets, bars, restaurants) of Marennes just 5 minutes away. If you like fresh sea-food this is the place for you.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space; inside and out especially the large pool.
Liked least: Limited plug sockets
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the property and thank you very much indeed for your nice comments. So appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esm2015
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great location for an alternative christmas”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in the chateau with a few friends over the christmas week and had a super time. From the moment we walked in, we knew we would be able to relax and spend time catching up with each other. Although in darkest deepest winter ( almost) it was cosy to sit around the kitchen table with the fire blazing after long walks on the beech. A perfect place to unwind and create happy festive memories. Thank you!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you for this very nice review, Emma. Appreciated. Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason J
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Chateau de Rochebonne in October as a group of three families with Children, and all agreed that it was simply the best holiday we have had. The Chateau is stunning on arrival, and internally has a brilliant mix of historic architecture and artefacts, and warm and inviting rooms. Mornings and evenings were hugely enjoyable spent around the large kitchen table in front of the fire, or relaxing in the large and comfortable sitting room, whilst the children not only enjoyed exploring the Chateau, but playing in the games room and the large open gardens. There was a long list of things to do in the local area, with great beaches, attractions for the children such as the Aquarium (which was amazing) and the Chateau of Enigmas, and castles, wineries, and fine dining for the adults. The local area has a great mix of rural and costal charm and we thoroughly loved the Chateau and the area. A must stay for all, but a fantastic location for Families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2014
This is such a lovely review, and I am delighted you liked the property and the area so much. I was sad not to meet you (we were in India at that time - I have to say I prefer France!!) but would love to see you if there is a next time ! Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenEast...
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed with some friend ps at chateau Roche in September and loved every minute. When we arrived through the gates, up the lomg driveway we honestly couldn't believe it was ours for the week. Despite its size it has a very cozy feel, the kitchen is lovely and big with a large open fire, perfect for leisurely breakfasts and dinners unless of course you are BBQ'ing and sitting on the lovely courtyard. The pool is fab, lots of comfortable loungers and play areas for children. Catherine is very welcoming and we had lots of great recommendations of restaurants and things to do. We went to the beach quite a lot which was beautiful and only about 15 minutes away. The chateau is also very clean . Superb place to spend a holiday anytime of year, can't wait to return.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
So glad you like the property and that you had a good holiday. Thank you very much for this great review! Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CND02
Modesto, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay-felt like we found our home in France”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We recently stayed at Chateau Roche. From the moment we saw the Chateau arising from the woods in the distance we were overwhelmed with its beauty. As we drove through the gates and gardens and then let ourselves in the ancient house we were awestruck by every lovely detail. Every nook and cranny ( of which there are many) is filled with antiques, collectibles, etc... Each room of the house has been lovingly decorated and display random examples of the owners personal artwork. I could go on about the house forever, but, frankly the average ready probably has not the time. The highlights of the stay were the beautiful farm kitchen where we spent much of our time eating cheese and pate. the garden is filled with flowers and we enjoyed the beautiful pool. I tried to spend more time reading here, however, with the adorable villages just a stones through from the chateau we were far to busy for such folly. The closest village is just behind the chateau, through the back gate and down a garden path. There are also many other villages not mentioned in tour books that offer endless exploration. The best part of the chateau was its central location! Bordeaux and La Rochelle are easy day drives. We dined on oysters in one small village, took tiny boats down rivers beneath historic houses...amazing!
We will be back next year and if the owner decides to sell we hope to be first in line.
The Downing

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself was ike visiting a historic site
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad you loved the house and the area. Do visit us again next time you are this side of the Atlantic!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The best holiday ever.”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Myself and my husband were blessed to come across this beautiful Château .
We spent two weeks in glorious late summer weather. The house itself is stunning and has a really homey atmosphere. set in lovely gardens and comes complete with a private pool.
Everything was as advertised and Catherine and Bruce were extremely helpful with great advice regarding restaurants, markets etc.. It is very near to Royan with it's fabulous shopping and also La Rochelle.
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this property for family get together s or any special occasions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the privacy and pool best.
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Impression was wow”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We travelled as an extended group, Mum Dad. 4 kids & partners 2 very young grandchildren. The property met all our expectations & more. Plenty of room despite the large group, excellent kitchen,washing and leisure facilities, village close by for basic provisions although beware the village is shut in the evening.

Plenty to do do & see within a short distance, all in an idyllic setting & excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: First Impressions were awesome
Liked least: The Beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing