We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Just-Luzac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Sequoia Parc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We just came back from 2 weeks there. I'll go to the point:

1. Brittany has SO MUCH to offer although the weather IS unpredictable.
2. Nothing much to do outside the camp unless you jump into the car for 30 minutes and go to Royan, which again is nice but not Marbella if you know what I mean.
3. Mobile very good but no dishwasher like in most camps these days.
4. Camp supermarket ok although a bit dear as predictable.
5. Camp shop for accesories closed during lunches (hello???...)
6. Staff quite rude and not very helpful.
7. Camp too big - too many people in pool areas. Fab pools I must say but I prefer smaller campsites.
8. And the last one.... EVERYBODY WAS EATEN ALIVE by mosquitoes and horseflies. Up to 30 bites per person we got despite anti mosquito wrist bands, candles, plugs, sprays, you bloody name it.

We will not come back. MUCH better camps in other places I know in Brittany and Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IHLIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Back today and wanted to ease the minds of those yet to go after reading these reviews just before we went.
The campsite is great, well maintained and did offer everything it said it does. For those saying not 5 star I really am not sure what else you are looking for; possibly a different type of holiday?
The pools were great, love the lazy river, warm too, especially after a proper swim first. We didn't feel the lifeguards very vigilant enough, strolling from pool to pool. We felt we needed to keep a watchful eye on our kids, would have been nice to have lifeguards stationed at each pool at all times.
The caravan, Thomson, was small but again did what it said. I would have liked a washing up bowl and window blinds in the bathrooms but the pitches are private so unless you have guests no one can see into your toilet anyway!
We found the area not as interesting as the south coast of France and wouldn't rush to return there however would go back to this site again.
If you are vigilant about insects you can prevent the bites. In two weeks we each got about 5 but never had door open with lights on and hunted them dwn before sleeping. Also, used deet!
Prices are similar to uk except for meals, a bit more expensive.
We went canoeing on the nearby river leaving from Mornac sur Surdre, had a fab day there.
Marenne lagoon was great for safe sea swimming, we got a dingy and really enjoyed our days there.
Overall, don't let the moaners put you off, it's a great campsite!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie78W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hi Debbie,

It's great to see you enjoyed your holiday on Sequoia Parc, we have been in contact with our team on site who have said that the site are spraying the areas susceptible to the mosquitos on a regular basis, so it is good to see they did not impact your holiday enjoyment.

The Charente Maritime is receiving some positive feedback scoring 8.2 out of 10, although we understand customers enjoy different things. I love the south coast of France too, it is a stunning area with some lovely places to visit - the beaches there are fantastic too.

We hope to see you again, the Al Fresco team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a super campsite with pretty much everything you could want.
Very nice cabins which were well serviced when there was a problem. Great take away food when you don't want to cook.
Very pretty with flowers and nice surroundings.
Some of the animals in the farm were looking like they needed a bit of TLC.
All staff were good and helpful.
The only problem was a surfeit of mosquitoes, we have been there before and they were not so bad. but this time everybody was getting badly bitten. Bring some powerful protection!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place is extremely clean, the pool area is brilliant. i'd read scary reports on mosquitoes here on trip adviser, but they weren't too bad over the last two weeks. I did use repellent though.
We went with our 3 year old and 5 month old. Our 3 year old was happy to just ramble around in the pools which are within his depth. the 5 month old didn't pass too many comments!

We went during the most expensive period, but still enjoyed what we got. The chalet we stayed in was the smallest, and it was small, but since we had good weather, we were outside most of the time.

For those who aren't used to full self catering............take note of what will be in the chalets....they leave them bare except for cooking utensils and crockery etc. The shop on site was well stocked and not too overly priced.

one negative, we hired sheets and then even had to make up the bed and then return the sheets to the laundry.

There was no smoking allowed around the pool and this was fully compliant.
The life guards also removed towels from loungers if they were just left there to keep seats in the morning, WHICH WAS BRILLIANT!

We'll be back

Room Tip: really pay attention to the dimensions of your chosen chalet! we were in ones far from the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowdcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Within 1 hour of arriving at our Pitch A82 we were forced to look for spray or anything to help fight off our pitch residents, a million mosquitos. Unfortunately the shop was out of stock and the local chemist was shut, so we were forced to wait 48 hours before we could get any kind of medication. You also need to be aware the pool staff will only enforce the 1 hour rule for towels on sunbeds when it suits them which we found very very frustrating it depended on the weather and their mood. I went to reception to complain about my towels being removed and the young gentleman just laughed said he agreed with me turned around picked up his dog and just left!!!. The reception staff were more concerned with could they have the fridge back a day early because they were busy, I pointed out I was a paying guest so I wasn't prepared to give it up.
I have to say I've been holidaying and camping in France for 12 years now and I've never complained before but the treatment we received was not 5*; you even miss the entrance if you blink long enough! On a plus side, toilet blocks and park were clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Do not pick a pitch in the A zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in sequoia parc from 5th to 13th August 2013 and I definitely wont be returning.

Negatives
The receptionist Marie booked us in she was rude, uniformative, not helpful, grumpy it was like as if we were bothering her rather than greeting us with a smile especially given the rates you pay, just not what you expect from a 5* campsite she pointed to our pitch on a map and that was it, we werent shown our pitch by a campsite employee which is norm for a les Castell 5* campsite, she didnt tell us where the sanitary blocks were, nor electric hook up, water, what is available on site etc - NOT A GOOD ATTITUDE

We had to wait 2 hrs to get electric hook up as the connection was so far from our caravan we had to get a 2nd lead, we had to contact reception 3 times before they dealth with the problem, when the maintenance staff arrived who were extremely friendly and helpful they did sort the problem, but the lead was stolen during our visit so we had to go through the same problem again!!

the sanitary blocks, there is not enough of them for the size of the campsite, they are always dirty, toothpaste and hair everywhere, also queues waiting to use toilets, showers, wash basins. The showers dont have a regular temperature therefore the water is either scalding or freezing my children aged 8 and 5 yrs were crying each time they had to shower because of the water temperatures, definitely not what you expect from a 5* campsite

Pools there is a good selection of pools but not enough room around the pools therefore be prepared to fight for your space which is a regular occurence at the side of the pool, lifeguards aruguing with customers over removing towels from a sunlounger, customers fighting with customers over space, it is so bad you dont even have space to put your towels down and on a Sunday it is chaotic, bordering dangerous there are so many people around the pool seriously overcrowded. Then if you do get lucky enough to get a lounger it is probably broken! Another pool needs to be built to accommodate the numbers on the campsite or the area around the current pools expanded, new loungers are needed, there are broken tiles going up to one of the slides, and the edges of the pools, flower areas need to be cleaned. NOT Good enough by a long shot definitely not 5*

Bar/Restaurant. Met with grumpy staff who are there just to take your money and believe everything in Sequoia is very overpriced!! We asked for a towel/cloth to dry some chairs one evening after some rain, my kids wanted to watch the evening show I was told her colleague had dryed them I explained the tables were dry but not the seats after some huffing and puffing I was reluctanly given some tissue which was fine but why the big drama over it!! Another time I selected the wrong icecream and when I asked to change it again staff were cross and threw the returned icecream back in the fridge with temper and reluctanly gave me the other icecream. Words dont describe the bad attitude. the same attitude is in the restaurant no greeting no chat nothing just order, eat and get out!!!! Oh and overpay for the quality of the food.

Laundry, not enough washers and dryers, you have to pay 8eur to dry one small wash as one dry isnt enough, my thoughts on this is because the vents arent cleaned enough and the washers and dryers are over used , three dryers for the whole campsite. Again Not what you expect from a 5* campsite

Another issue be prepared to be bitten, mosquitos everywhere, I know this isnt a problem Sequoia can deal with but it is something you should be aware of.

My feel on Sequoia is that is WAS a 5* campsite at one stage but over the years it has become 3* quality, money needs to be invested by the owner to bring it back up to 5* quality, new facilities built and the staff need retraining.

Positives
Very pretty flowers around the site
Pitch was a good size
Kids entertainment good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Seakay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

First impression of reception and courtyard bar/shop areas very attractive with lots of flowers. Pool area was excellent, plenty to occupy 2 daughters aged 14 & 12 plus friends. We stayed in our own tent on an enormous pitch which was great and the facilities were fine, usual open air and mixed sex even if they weren't supposed to be!
Drinks at bar extortionate, mosquitos are a problem but you get used to it! We had a great holiday as always, lots of friendly people, but felt once on site and doing the camping thing, this site was no better than the other 7 we have visited in france for the money it costs. Possibly expected better toilet facilities and tidier pitches if had to pick out any faults. Overall, a great holiday on a good site.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Johnson012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Just-Luzac
18.1 mi away
Camping Les Grosses Pierres
Camping Les Grosses Pierres
#4 of 18 in Saint-Georges-d'Oleron
652 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
#1 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
493 reviews
7.9 mi away
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
#3 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plage
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plag...
#4 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
389 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siblu Villages - La Pignade
Siblu Villages - La Pignade
#1 of 5 in Ronce-les-Bains
336 reviews
14 mi away
Camping Signol
Camping Signol
#1 of 1 in Boyardville
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sequoia Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sequoia Parc

Address: la Josephtrie, 17320 Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Marennes > Saint-Just-Luzac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Just-Luzac
Price Range: £40 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sequoia Parc 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The campsite Sequoia Parc is a 5 stars family campsite of 45 ha of nature and greenery in the heart of the Charente-Maritime region. In the village of Saint-Just-Luzac, it is also at only 7km from Marennes Plages and near to famous cities like La Rochelle, Saintes, Rochefort or Royan, which you will visit with pleasure. You will appreciate the climate of the region, particularly because the Charente-Maritime is the most sunny part of France, after Côte d'Azur. This year, the campsite will turn its 20 years ! You could try several activities in family in the campsite. You could, for example, appreciate our swimming pool area of 2 000 m², with 4 pools of which 3 heated, slides, river and jacuzzi. You could also do sports thanks to our tennis courts, our petanque field and multisports field (soccer, basketball, volleyball). Children will appreciate our mini-farm but also our children club which welcome for free, and during all the season kids from 4 to 12 years old. Do you want to take a stroll in family? Take the Velodyssee by bike. You will go along the Atlantic coast. Bikes can be hired at the Information Point of the campsite. You can also take a stroll by horse or poney thanks to our equestrian center. In July and August, our organizers keep surprises! Animations, competition, concerts, shows... You will have fun at campsite Séquoia Parc! If you are hungry, our restaurant, Le Carrousel, welcomes you every evening, to make you discover our regional flavor. You could also taste our snack, which proposes take-away, particularly pizzas baked in a wood-fired oven. Finally, our mini-market is at your disposal and proposes you several products for your daily purchases. All our pitches and accommodations are delimited by trees and hedges to guarantee you maximum of privacy. Our accommodations can accommodate from 4 to 7 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Camping Sequoia Parc Hotel Marennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing