We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth 5 stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Just-Luzac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Sequoia Parc
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well worth 5 stars”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to a Castel site, this was far more deserving of 5 stars than our previous stay in Bidart. All in all a top site.

We liked loads, including the pitch size (see picture). We were on a premium pitch (F136) and we (2 families of 4) could easily have survived on 1 pitch. It was massive, the premium pitch came with a decent sized fridge/freezer and other bits and pieces

The pool complex was great, the slides and lazy river a big hit with our kids (4 and 6), as was their odd trip to the kids club. As mentioned by others, the on site entertainment was basic, but went down well with our youngsters. Table tennis being close to the play park worked well for the dads.

Site shop was well stocked (open all day) and for those that are price sensitive, there are 2 bid supermarkets in Marennes.

Staff (reception, info, shop, bar) were all very friendly and helpful.

Best beaches were on the south west if the island, you just needed to make sure that you got out before the traffic (manageable).

My only negatives were the showers (clean and plentiful), which had a tendency to be erratic in temperature and the pool loungers. Whilst I am pragmatic about getting loungers, you literally had "to join them" if you wanted one. That meant being there 20 mins before it opened and given that we did not spend the whole day at the pool, any PM arrival meant sitting on concrete. Quite disheartening when you see rows of unused loungers with the territorial stamp of a towel......

We had read loads about mosquito issues, our experiences were no different to any other French trip. They are there, but prevention worked fine.

I would definitely return, although the weather was shocking for our 2nd week!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank esw1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    138
    69
    21
    9
See reviews for
285
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just back from two glorious weeks of sunshine at Sequoia Parc. Sequoia Parc is certainly one of the most attractive and well laid out campsites we have ever stayed on - with the stunning chateau as its centrepiece. There is a beautiful outdoor courtyard area which houses the bar, restaurant, outdoor entertainment/stage area, as well as the campsite shops and reception. The site has a very lively pool area (one of the best we have seen) – with 4 good sized pools to choose from, and of course the popular lazy river. The pool is very busy and like many campsites, there is the usual queue for sunbeds in the mornings. However, during the 2 weeks we were there, and as the site got busier, the lifeguards were quick to remove towels from sunbeds being kept by people. The lifeguards also got very strict on the swimwear rule.

Because the site is very popular, the mobile hire was more expensive than previous years. We booked directly with the campsite, and while the mobile home plots were noticeably more spacious than other sites we have been on, note bbqs are not included. It is possible to hire a small charcoal bbq for €15 a week, which we thought was a bit steep considering the cost of the accommodation. So we ended up buying a bbq in the local supermarket for €19, which we were able to bring home with us.

There is an efficient takeaway on site with prices similar to home. The onsite restaurant is of a very good standard and was very busy during the time we were there. We ate there on our last night, and for a group of 8 people for starter, main course, dessert, 2 bottles of wine, minerals and beers, it was €306, which we thought quite reasonable considering the quality of the food.

Considering the size of the campsite, and mixture of ages staying there, we found entertainment onsite a bit disappointing and is definitely more geared towards younger children. There is the usual bingo each week, as well as other talent shows, but we certainly couldn’t classify the entertainment as “lively”! There was a kiddies disco most evenings at around 7pm, but other than that there was no other lively entertainment. And everything strictly finished at 11pm. So this was very disappointing for my 12 year old and 17 year old. Other campsites we have been to would have had live bands and discos each week for all age groups and up to midnight!

In saying that, Sequoia Parc is a lovely comfortable campsite and is certainly one I would be happy to return to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GalwayGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Loughborough, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We returned today from a one week stay July 15 -22nd.
The parc - beautifully kept. Pool lovely but freezing! Kids don't seem bothered. Interestingly all men in traditional shorts in pool and that seemed ok! My hubby armed with speedos after review but not needed! No chance of sunbed on warm day - we took our chairs in and that's ok! Loads of space! Pool bar ok - ice cream, pancakes etc. Parc shop good - friend who lives in France said only marginally more expensive than supermarket! Great play park.
Restaurant lovely - we found if very English friendly and delicious! Some interesting alternatives too - but yes it's expensive. Kids loved food - not sure about reviews of fancy food - pizza, pasta, burger, sea bass, steak, etc.. All home made.
Accomodation: alfresco reps Derek and Kath were brilliant. Alfresco pitches in F zone great location.
Only complaint was uncomfortable beds - agree with previous review re sore backs!
Mossizes not a prob to us at all. Prob 3 bites in 7 days - same as uk to us. Don't have light on and door open at night. Had burners if outside and plug ins. Others also said not a prob with mozzies any more than anywhere else warm.
Days out to zoo at la palyme worth a visit. Not sure it's great for animals though - small enclosures. Lovely beaches on oleron.
La Rochelle beautiful.
We would recommend this parc for a great base. 7 days max. In cold weather forget the pool!

Room Tip: Try and avoid being near main road I imagine its noisey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Tina,

Thank you for your review of your holiday with us to Le Sequoia Parc.

It sounds like you had a lovely time and we're really pleased to see your feedback and suggestions.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.
the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Overall a really good enjoyable holiday. Location really good for visiting surrounding areas, beach, shops. La Rochelle definatelŷ worth a visit for the many shops, accommodation very clean and facilities in chalet good. Was concerned by other reviews on Mosquitos, but really not a problem if you are prepared and use common sense ie don't leave doors/windows open with lights on etc.
Restaurant nice. Food good. Would be good if more choice for children. Service was slow on both occasions. A bit pricey as was the takeaway. Great facilities and entertainment for children. Swimming pools great for children however one toddler pool at top needs attention as tiles missing and concrete beneath showing. My 2 year old scuffed knee. Some paving stones around pool need attention as wobbly. Beautiful chateau and flowers around the site. Would probably not return to this site again probably only due to discover a different part of france next time, but would definatelŷ recommend to others and try another castels campsite.

Room Tip: VIP chalets good as air con and TV.was good walking distance to all facilities on site. Was reasona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in Sequoia Parc with husband and 2 children. We booked the VIP 2 bedroom cottage. I was a bit disappointed with the accommodation. I was expecting better. The size was fine, however the bedroom were very small. The beds were more like camp beds and very uncomfortable. We woke with back pain every morning. The food at the take away is fine but on the expensive side. Pizza is the best thing to order here. There is an intermarche about 2km away and it's best to stock up here.
Plenty for kids to do, and pool is great, but water very cold. Beds fill up and quite hard to get in the afternoon on hot days. Great place for young kids to wander and mingle with other young kids. Yes mozzi problem like everyone has commented on. I would go back but only if better beds and larger accommodation was on offer. Car is a must for the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lheraghty1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delvin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just returned from 9 nights, booked directly with campsite. Accommodation was spotless but only gas hob for cooking facilities no grill or oven or kettle. Travelled with 2 children age 11 and 13. There was no activities for the older boy went first morning down to football pitch or grassy field no one there at all and much the same over our stay. We departed on 6july and when we asked about activities ie shows, aqua aerobics, activities for teenagers we were informed it was low season!! We have always been away to numerous campsites for these dates but was never considered low season so big disappointment reception had a very short opening hours. Bicycle rental is expensive when we tried to replace first bike as saddle was loose and one wheel soft on another it was hard to find it open even though it should have been the gates were locked. Very poor selection of shops closed at 7pm. Pool complex was super and good small children's playground. If you need to check out before 8am not possible we got check out at 8.10 but would have liked to have got out before 8. Yes mosquitoes are a problem as was the poor weather and rain. Don't think of coming here without a car nearest bus stop 2 km away. No entertainment at night only tv in bar. Campsite very empty would imagine if it was 1/3 full i am estimating max during our stay was glad we were not staying any longer, no will not be back! Paid for wi-fi but had great difficulty getting it to work go to MacDonalds as we did on a wet morning for free wifi

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed in Sequoia Parc for 2 weeks recently. Had stayed there on a number of occasions previously, either with Canvas or in a motorhome. This time I booked one of the chalets, a 3 bedroomed with verandah. We arrived just before the high season, so Parc was reasonably quiet with restricted office hours. Staff were efficient and pleasant, particularly restaurant staff, Louise was bright and cheerful. Parc is very well maintained and run, very safe for young children. Pool area is large and again well supervised by lifeguards. Perhaps the owner could take a leaf out of his employees book and smile and say hello to guests occasionally. Overall well worth a visit, particularly for those with young families. Lots to see and do within a couple of hours drive, Futuroscope and Puy Du Fou are to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Just-Luzac
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Marennes Oleron
4.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 4 in Ronce-les-Bains
392 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Flots
Hotel Residence Les Flots
#1 of 9 in Saint-Palais-sur-Mer
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
#1 of 22 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
713 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
#2 of 22 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
392 reviews
14.0 mi away
Camping Signol
Camping Signol
#1 of 1 in Boyardville
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sequoia Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sequoia Parc

Property: Camping Sequoia Parc
Address: la Josephtrie, 17320 Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Marennes > Saint-Just-Luzac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Just-Luzac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sequoia Parc 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The campsite Sequoia Parc is a 5 stars family campsite of 45 ha of nature and greenery in the heart of the Charente-Maritime region. In the village of Saint-Just-Luzac, it is also at only 7km from Marennes Plages and near to famous cities like La Rochelle, Saintes, Rochefort or Royan, which you will visit with pleasure. You will appreciate the climate of the region, particularly because the Charente-Maritime is the most sunny part of France, after Côte d'Azur. This year, the campsite will turn its 20 years ! You could try several activities in family in the campsite. You could, for example, appreciate our swimming pool area of 2 000 m², with 4 pools of which 3 heated, slides, river and jacuzzi. You could also do sports thanks to our tennis courts, our petanque field and multisports field (soccer, basketball, volleyball). Children will appreciate our mini-farm but also our children club which welcome for free, and during all the season kids from 4 to 12 years old. Do you want to take a stroll in family? Take the Velodyssee by bike. You will go along the Atlantic coast. Bikes can be hired at the Information Point of the campsite. You can also take a stroll by horse or poney thanks to our equestrian center. In July and August, our organizers keep surprises! Animations, competition, concerts, shows... You will have fun at campsite Séquoia Parc! If you are hungry, our restaurant, Le Carrousel, welcomes you every evening, to make you discover our regional flavor. You could also taste our snack, which proposes take-away, particularly pizzas baked in a wood-fired oven. Finally, our mini-market is at your disposal and proposes you several products for your daily purchases. All our pitches and accommodations are delimited by trees and hedges to guarantee you maximum of privacy. Our accommodations can accommodate from 4 to 7 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Camping Sequoia Parc Hotel Marennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing