We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful unspoilt part of France”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Just-Luzac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Sequoia Parc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have visited Normandy, Brittany and The Loire, but not this part of France which we loved. The campsite is larger than we would normally choose however we were lucky to be at the back in a Canvas Holidays unit.
We spent a couple of days around the pool and yes it was difficult to get sunbeds but we like to explore places otherwise you could be anywhere warm! We saw people waiting for the gates to open at 9.15am (they don't open until 10.00am)! We went down at 11.00am and managed to get sun loungers. The main pools are cold (the sea was actually warmer) but it wasn't a huge problem, the pool where the lazy river is located was actually quite warm. Speedo style swim shorts must be worn, they won't let you in the pool unless you have them and that applies to boys too.
We didn't go to any of the entertainment as it's not our thing, however the kids disco seemed popular and there was a good programme for exercise fanatics ranging from yoga to aqua aerobics.
The pizzas from the takeaway are ok and we bought some on our first night - there is a Leclerc supermarket in Marennes and a bigger better stocked one in Rochefort for everything you'd need. The Rochfort Leclerc has a large Intersport sports shop which is excellent for bodyboards, swimsuits/speedos and snorkels.
There are mozzies because the area is largely salt marshes but as previous reviewers have said use mozzie spray and plug ins and we used citronella candles, between 3 of us we got about 3 bites.
Yes you need a car but that was one of the main reasons for choosing France so we could drive around and explore, otherwise we'd have gone to Greece or Turkey where we could get a bus /boat to places. The campsite is 5 miles from the Ile D'Oleron which is beautiful. The Sunday market at Chateau d'Oleron is worth a visit, everything can be bought from local goats cheeses in a variety of flavours, to hand crafted necklaces and the small indoor market has fresh fish and bakeries. We visited the tourist office and got a map of the island and the lady highlighted the best beaches - vert bois in the south is silvery sand, warm sea and patrolled by life guards, there is just enough swell for body boarding. The beach after Boyardville is backed by forest, you park in the forest and its a five minute walk to the beach which is wheelchair friendly, there are lifeguards but the waters are safe and shallow, there is a wheelchair which can be borrowed to go into the sea. The people are lovely and friendly and go out of their way to help.
On the mainland Ronce les Bains is an old fashioned small holiday resort with a number of delicious ice cream shops - the beach isn't brilliant as its on the estuary but a couple of miles up the road is Galeon d'or beach which is so stunning you could be in the carribean. Don't let negative reviews put you off, yes you have to travel around, yes you need a car, but would you go to Cornwall without a car? La Rochelle is beautiful and worth a visit - bit disappointed with the Aquarium, although this may be because it was heaving! There are a lot of Brits in the area and campsite but no more than other popular parts of France. The campsite when we stayed (last 2 weeks in August) was mainly French families camping, then the British/Irish and quite a few Dutch, the French families were the first to leave as they usually have a week at home before returning to work. We may return again to the campsite however we would probably choose to stay on the Ile D'Oleron as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank hayleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

As a family we stayed for a week (last week). Impressive surroundings and beautiful location. However, we booked a holiday in France in order to embrace ourselves in French culture. Went to the bar for a complementary drink on arrival only to be confronted with a trilingual welcome briefing- with English as the main language! As we explored the campsite on our bikes we realised that 8 out of 10 holiday makers were British and English was to be heard all around. As a family we left the campsite early every morning to escape and to immerse in French life (so that we actually felt we were on holiday and not in Minehead or Bognor Regis!). Nice area, loads of places to visit such as La Palmyre beach, the zoo, La Cayenne and Oleron although traffic is a problem in high season ( to be expected) and a car is a MUST. Staff in reception were very friendly and advised us that May or June is the best time to visit in order to avoid the British tourists (she said with a smile on her face). Accomodation comfortable (3 bed chalet) No room to store food without re-arranging the cupboards and there had obviously been a flood in the bathroom previously and had been 'patched' up, but a leak from the shower still remained throughout our stay which water found it's way into the lounge area. Mozzies not a problem but there were fly guards on bedroom windows.
A really nice place, but would I stay here again? I fear not. Will be returning to holidaying in the La Palmyre area to get the maximum feel of being on holiday in France.
To some this may seem like a very negative review but after over 12 yrs of holidaying in this region I this was more like 'home from home' rather than a holiday abroad.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Ceindeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is quite possibly the worst campsite that we have ever been too! We left 3 days early and were only booked in for the week! Toilets and showers not clean, we were eaten alive by Mosquitos, the pool was so cold it was unpleasant, entertainment either hopeless or non existent in high season! The surrounding area was dire, no where pretty or pleasing to the eye, beaches dreadful and nothing interesting to visit! Sorry we ever booked our holiday on the Maritime coast!!

Room Tip: Avoid this area of France
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelsequoia, Responsable relations clients at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Dear Mrs A.

We would like to thank you for your testimony following your recent stay at Castel campsite Séquoia Parc and regret that our services didn't meet your expectations.

I allow myself to reply to your comments.

Sanitary
The cleanliness is one of the priorities of our campsite. Did you inform the reception about the sanitary you used and which wasn’t cleaned as you expected?

Mosquitoes
We treat the campsite before and during the season against mosquitoes. We also collaborate with a company that works for the French authorities “EID Atlantique”. Nevertheless it remains impossible to control the mosquitoes entirely, especially when the weather is humid. According the statistics there weren’t more mosquitoes at the campsite than elsewhere in France.

Swimming pools
Three out of four pools are heated by heat pumps that turn continually (day and night). Unfortunately during your stay the weather wasn’t favorable, with a decline of temperature below average, for this reason the pools were not able to reach temperatures up to your expectations.

Entertainment
Our campsite main target group is “families with young children”. For this reason we propose free kids clubs for children from 4 to 12 years and aim our facilities and services mainly at families with young children. However we also propose activities for teenagers like: tennis, multisport fields, ‘jeux de boules’, ping-pong, swimming pools, the games night and the different sports tournaments that were organised every day by the animation team.

Surrounding
The perception of the surrounding area is a personal perception. But the Charente-Maritime region is the second favorite destination for tourism in France. There are many beautiful beaches on the “Côte Sauvage” around la Palmyre, the islands île d’Oléron, île de Ré and île d’Aix and Royan. There are also many cities to visit like La Rochelle, Saintes, Royan, etc. There is a protected nature reserve “Natura 2000” with its migratory birds and a regional natural park “Marais de Poitevin”. The region is also renowned for its regional products like Cognac, the oysters “fines de claire” and the “Pineau des Charentes”, which you can taste at the producer and where you can have a guided visit or at one of the many local markets. You can practice many sports on the water like surf, catamaran, sailing and stand up paddle but the region is also beloved by cycling enthusiasts with the “Vélodyssée”. The Charente-Maritime region has an important historical and cultural heritage with the famous “Fort Boyard” and the fortified village “Brouage” and “Fort Louvois” both designed by architect Vauban who worked for Louis XIV. Families that visit the region are particularly fond of "Zoo La Palmyre", the Aquarium in La Rochelle and tree climbing at Castle La Gâteaudière.
We throughly regret that the surrounding area didn’t live up to your expectations.

Always concerned by the well-being of our guests and desirous to improve our facilities and services, we will inform our staff members and the management about your comments.

Best regards,

The Séquoia Parc Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 10-24 August in a euro camp chalet. Don't be put off by reviews. I had no mosquito bites, staff friendly, bar good, restaurant on site good. Kids having a whale of a time. Lots to see im surrounding areas, yes you need a car.I think next time we would go back to a site where beach in walking distance..but this site appeared well run and picturesque.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our 2nd holiday at sequoia parc and was perfect ,2 adults and 2 16 yr lads ,accommodation was everything we could ask for we had the VIP 6 berth cottage which came with 2 bikes ,everywhere is so clean the pool and area large ,but you do need to be early to get sun beds and if bagged early and left the staff took off the towels which we found great entertainment when they came back 2 hours later
But really if you roll up at 12 expecting a beds you are mad
Played tennis every day ,table tennis , biked
Did not go to the entertainment ,not us but looked busy when we passed through
Great holiday

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed there in my own caravan. Nice, large pitches. Don't be scared about mosquitos. Depending on weather condition it might be a problem, but we had no issue. Pool is cold, Bar was excellent. WiFi is too expensive, Supermarked is reasonable.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank klaus300e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Brought the bikes and made the long drive from Cherbourg to Sequoia, south of La Rochelle but whilst the campsite itself was very good, we were very disappointed by its overall location - 2 mega-busy roads either side of the campsite make driving hazardous and cycling nigh-impossible (esp. with kids). Nearby town of Marennes is gateway to large Isle d'Oleron and south to Palmyre so roads and Marennes had long tailbacks/heavy traffic. I would also comment on the pool network which in general was excellent but bizarrely all pool-edges were badly finished with sharp concrete or tile-edges which caused several members of the family to have cuts/bruises from simply brushing against the pool wall. Phone signal/network very weak in the area and wifi expensive - to attract teenage kids, Castels should provide free wifi on all its campsites.

Room Tip: Lot more amenities/cycle paths if you go a bit further south to palmyre area, though it's more b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Just-Luzac
7.9 mi away
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
#1 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
491 reviews
18.1 mi away
Camping Les Grosses Pierres
Camping Les Grosses Pierres
#4 of 18 in Saint-Georges-d'Oleron
652 reviews
10.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plage
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plag...
#4 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Camping Oleron Loisirs
Camping Oleron Loisirs
#1 of 18 in Saint-Georges-d'Oleron
537 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sequoia Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sequoia Parc

Address: la Josephtrie, 17320 Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Marennes > Saint-Just-Luzac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Just-Luzac
Price Range: £40 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sequoia Parc 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The campsite Sequoia Parc is a 5 stars family campsite of 45 ha of nature and greenery in the heart of the Charente-Maritime region. In the village of Saint-Just-Luzac, it is also at only 7km from Marennes Plages and near to famous cities like La Rochelle, Saintes, Rochefort or Royan, which you will visit with pleasure. You will appreciate the climate of the region, particularly because the Charente-Maritime is the most sunny part of France, after Côte d'Azur. This year, the campsite will turn its 20 years ! You could try several activities in family in the campsite. You could, for example, appreciate our swimming pool area of 2 000 m², with 4 pools of which 3 heated, slides, river and jacuzzi. You could also do sports thanks to our tennis courts, our petanque field and multisports field (soccer, basketball, volleyball). Children will appreciate our mini-farm but also our children club which welcome for free, and during all the season kids from 4 to 12 years old. Do you want to take a stroll in family? Take the Velodyssee by bike. You will go along the Atlantic coast. Bikes can be hired at the Information Point of the campsite. You can also take a stroll by horse or poney thanks to our equestrian center. In July and August, our organizers keep surprises! Animations, competition, concerts, shows... You will have fun at campsite Séquoia Parc! If you are hungry, our restaurant, Le Carrousel, welcomes you every evening, to make you discover our regional flavor. You could also taste our snack, which proposes take-away, particularly pizzas baked in a wood-fired oven. Finally, our mini-market is at your disposal and proposes you several products for your daily purchases. All our pitches and accommodations are delimited by trees and hedges to guarantee you maximum of privacy. Our accommodations can accommodate from 4 to 7 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Camping Sequoia Parc Hotel Marennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing