We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site could have been better, be very careful who you book with”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Just-Luzac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Sequoia Parc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This is one of many campsites in the Castel and Camping chain. We have stayed here 3 times, once in our own caravan, once in a site owned mobile and lastly in a French Life mobile. So the site has appealed to us, but over the years little has changed on this site unlike so many others we have visited within the chain and other French campsites. There is a very relaxed atmosphere here, the pitches are big and the facilities are good. The takeaway was extensively used and reasonable value for money with a good selection available. The bar was large and catered well for the many Dutch who used this site with Dutch TV channels available at the bar. Of all the sites we have visited in France this one had a slight coldness about it, mostly from the staff who were not as friendly as other sites and this was worst in the bar where you almost felt you were putting people out asking for a drink or asking for the TV to be turned on. The pool complex was large and sunbeds were available. The pool had a dated feel to it, there was a pool side shop for drinks and ice-cream which was handy. There could be a cool sea wind come in causing a sudden drop in temperature. The area around had decent beaches worth a visit. The restaurant was not extensively used and there was room for improvement here and in the bar adjacent to it in the same building. We booked our last stay with French Life a real disaster that completely spoilled our holiday on this site. We booked a mobile with decking, confirmed at booking, we didn't get it, they gave our booked mobile to another family who arrived earlier and were given an awful van which they refused to stay in and were moved to our van as no others were available as they were overbooked. This meant that when we arrived we were given the van which had already been turned down and really as they were overbooked must have been the couriers on site. The van was not clean inside or outside,curtains were hanging off one window, another window the curtains didn't meet, the sink was not cleaned, the cutlery was mismatched 1 knife and 11 forks, there was an abandoned wasps nest in the shower roof light, no decking as booked and paid for, wine stains on the worktops, and a rusted fridge. You would think they would have refunded us our money as they had no other accomodation available, no, perhaps move us into an available site owned caravan, no, they tidied the van and said we really had no other option. Not very helpful, my family were fuming as was I our holiday here was completely ruined. So if you want a more relaxing stay I would recommend the site vans which were surprisingly not fully booked up or Canvas who really impressed me with the thorough way they cleaned their vans a lot of which had air-con. The site vans were in the open so no shade but the heat was never too intense and they had spacious pitches. Be carefull who you book with!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KeenCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

Having been on an Italian campsite for the last 2 years, I did find it hard to get my head around this campsite in the beginning. On the positive side it was spotless; didn't have to put up with people smoking in my face at the poolside; it was flat(!), completely safe for the kids (6 and 8) to roam around by themselves; even on the hottest, sunniest day, while you might not get a lounger by the pool, it didn't feel as busy as it really was; the supermarket was good value and well run. We never eat in the restaurant so can't comment. In general found the staff to be pleasant.

On the negative side, I just didn't get why they have to be so strict at the pool. OK eating and smoking I do, but why not let the small kids in particular play with their own toys in the pool? And, I really didn't get why you weren't allowed to wear flip flops around the pool. Firstly, it was actually more dangerous without and secondly not very pleasant to have to go to into (albeit well maintained) loos without:-( The bar was not cheap - in fact I would say it was expensive - a gin & tonic was more or less the same price as Dublin. I only has one!

The weather was lovely when we were there - only 2 days rain out of 10 and on both the sun came out in the afternoon. While we did bitten by mosquitoes not as bad as in Italy last year. We didn't venture too far from the campsite. La Rochelle is worth a trip as is the zoo in La Palmyre.

We went with the Irish company Kelair and accommodation was great and loads of room around the mobile home, which again was much better than last year. The kids really enjoyed it and in the end I was sorry to be leaving and would certainly consider returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We booked with friends staying in 2 separate mobile homes.

first impressions were "wow". It was around 10pm and we couldn't wait until the next morning to explore the site.

On waking up the next morning we were not disappointed. Immaculate grounds, fantastic grocery shop that is really well stocked with local and international produce. There is a beautiful little gift shop that is very reasonably priced and was fantastic for getting those last minute gifts.

The pool complex was fantastic, though don't try and take any additional inflatables or toys into the pool.

There is also plenty to do in the local area and lots of nice restaurants.

My children want to back again next year, in fact my husband and I would go happily go too.

We went just before high season and the park was nicely busy. I wouldn't want to go in the middle of high season as I would imagine it would be quite crowded.

Brilliant!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weemee1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This camping site has a fantastic pool complex. It has a well stocked and relatively large on-site supermarket with its own bakery. There is an Intermarche supermarket very close by. The evening entertainment was awful. We have stayed at other camp-sites where the entertainment was good. To give you an idea of what we saw at Sequoia Parc - one evening involved three grown men miming the playing of guitars while not wearing trousers! Another evening we witnessed the 'actors' pretending to break wind to various electronic noises. Another occasion there was an attempt to stage a version of what we guess might have been 'West Side Story' however this looked like grown men on stage pretending to fight with each other. On the other hand one evening involved the children of the camp staging 'Alice in Wonderland' and it was very very good. A lot of mosquitoes - camp site area is near a lot of marshland. There is a play-park for children and it appears well maintained however is too small for the number of children using it in the evenings. Good sports facilities with tennis courts, football field, basketball court and volleyball court. Equestrian centre on the park site is very good. One word of warning is that the camping site pitches are sometimes bordered on one side with electric fencing to corral horses or donkeys - this may not be safe for young children. We booked directly with teh campsite and this was handled perfectly well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crumlincyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We have stayed on many sites in France. This one was the best yet. The pool complex is stunning. Especially the lazy river,my 7 year old loved it. Loved the restaraunt area. Food was good too. Many people we spoke to said they had returned here a few times. Only down side was the entertainment wasnt up to much. Maybe better in high season.We will definetaly be returning here again too!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Make no mistake this is one of the best campsites in the area. Booked with French Freedom Holidays who are very much no frills but good for the pocket, helpful and the girls know their sites & destinations.
Pool is fantastic though the pool attendents are a bit to eagar to shut at 8pm!
Entertainment is tack but thats why its entertainment. Sadly the only let down is the service but as its not an all inclusive jobbie you don't have to dine there. Would have gone back this year but we left it to late....they were full.
All surrounding areas are great just watch Luna Land it can be a bit on the rough side.
Best beach in the area La Grand Plage Oleron, but get there early as it gets really packed and parking isn't good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderers1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Great parc, swimming pools huge but very cold!
We travelled with Canvas and cannot fault their static and vans and friendly staff.
The site is inland and although brochure described the beach and nearby attractions to be only a short distance away, it often took 40 mins to travel less than 12 miles! The traffic was always busy regardless of the direction you set off in.
The nearest beach at Marennes is not good but the one on Ille de olleron is brilliant, the kids really enjoyed the waves.
Our holiday was good and the site was nice, the weather much better than previously experienced in the vendee. After getting to know the region we are planning on going back next year but this time plan to stay more on the coast near the town of La Palmyre, Siblu have 3 sites there all of which looked very nice and there is definately much nicer, with walks, cycle tracks a pretty harbour and also lots for the kids to do.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myladyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Just-Luzac
18.1 mi away
Camping Les Grosses Pierres
Camping Les Grosses Pierres
#4 of 18 in Saint-Georges-d'Oleron
652 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
#1 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
493 reviews
7.9 mi away
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
#3 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plage
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plag...
#4 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
389 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siblu Villages - La Pignade
Siblu Villages - La Pignade
#1 of 5 in Ronce-les-Bains
336 reviews
14 mi away
Camping Signol
Camping Signol
#1 of 1 in Boyardville
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sequoia Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sequoia Parc

Address: la Josephtrie, 17320 Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Marennes > Saint-Just-Luzac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Just-Luzac
Price Range: £40 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sequoia Parc 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The campsite Sequoia Parc is a 5 stars family campsite of 45 ha of nature and greenery in the heart of the Charente-Maritime region. In the village of Saint-Just-Luzac, it is also at only 7km from Marennes Plages and near to famous cities like La Rochelle, Saintes, Rochefort or Royan, which you will visit with pleasure. You will appreciate the climate of the region, particularly because the Charente-Maritime is the most sunny part of France, after Côte d'Azur. This year, the campsite will turn its 20 years ! You could try several activities in family in the campsite. You could, for example, appreciate our swimming pool area of 2 000 m², with 4 pools of which 3 heated, slides, river and jacuzzi. You could also do sports thanks to our tennis courts, our petanque field and multisports field (soccer, basketball, volleyball). Children will appreciate our mini-farm but also our children club which welcome for free, and during all the season kids from 4 to 12 years old. Do you want to take a stroll in family? Take the Velodyssee by bike. You will go along the Atlantic coast. Bikes can be hired at the Information Point of the campsite. You can also take a stroll by horse or poney thanks to our equestrian center. In July and August, our organizers keep surprises! Animations, competition, concerts, shows... You will have fun at campsite Séquoia Parc! If you are hungry, our restaurant, Le Carrousel, welcomes you every evening, to make you discover our regional flavor. You could also taste our snack, which proposes take-away, particularly pizzas baked in a wood-fired oven. Finally, our mini-market is at your disposal and proposes you several products for your daily purchases. All our pitches and accommodations are delimited by trees and hedges to guarantee you maximum of privacy. Our accommodations can accommodate from 4 to 7 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Camping Sequoia Parc Hotel Marennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing