We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mountain paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
The morning mist envelopes the surrounding hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
The morning mist envelopes the surrounding hills
Main lobby with entrance to guest rooms (upper & lower levels)
Guest room dining with the fabulous mountain views
Guset rooms are exceptionally spacious (34sqm) and equipped for comfort and convenience
Queen bed and sofas make the guest rooms cosy and comfortable
Spacious sleeping/sitting area of the lower room
Wider view of lower room with bathroom & dining area (far left)
Dining area and outside terrace of lower room
Bathroom designed to accommodate guests with limited mobility
Flowers in bloom surround the lower level guest room back (ramp) entrance
External view of the upper and lower guest rooms
Access ramp access to lower room for guests with limited mobility
View from Upper Guest Room balcony
Private balcony with panoramic view of the surrounding hills & the Mahaweli river below
A view of garden in front of guest rooms, seen from the 'master' section of the house
Guests will enjoy the terraced garden with colourful flora
Ambuluwawa hill rises majestically on the North West horizon
Sample of abundant exotic bird life we are surrounded by
Misty hills - morning view from the guest rooms
View of a fabulous sunset
Typical breakfast (comes with the room) - mix of local and continental fare of your choice
View of Mahaweli River from the house
Beautiful access road to Mahaweli Frills (road leading to Kothmale Reservoir)
Entrance to 'Mahaweli Frills' subdivision (house is 500 meters up the winding road)
Signboard at entrance to 'Mahaweli Frills' subdivision
Asia's best Peradeniya Botanical Gardens is just 21 km away
Ramboda Falls can be a part of half-day excursion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Peradeniya, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shaan K
Male
1 review
“Mountain paradise”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed 4 nights in January 2015 in this hotel and it was really a fantastic stay. The view is stunning, the owners(husband&wife both) very kind & helpful, the room super comfortable, overall a very satisfied & safe stay.
It is a few kilometers from Gampola which is not too far from Kandy city, in nature, in the top of a hill, which gives it this great and peaceful view, away from the town's noisy / busy life. its all about memories and the peaceful feelings that you can have...Country side... personalize services ... unbelievably delicious food... Supported by the nature.. simply amazing !!!

Highly recommended for international travelers & i would definitely visit there again, specially to taste Kumari's cooking :)

Warm regards to Chinthaka & Kumari, you made our stay truly memorable !


With love,
Rebecca & Shaan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, location, room, food
Liked least: Nothing to mention
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Hello Rebecca & Shaan,

Thanks for your kind words and we are delighted that you had a good time at our home. We enjoyed your company too (hope you tried cooking some Sri Lankan dishes that you learned to prepare :-)).

Looking forward for your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dileepa M
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hospitality”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Had great 2 days of time visiting some lovely places around kothmale, with the guidance of the hosts..
They gave me the top room which had more facilities than i expect.. super cleanliness.. privacy at best.. specially the great food and caring of the landlady made the 2 days very memorable..

Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
Thanks Dileepa for your kind comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being out of the 'beaten path' of the regular tourists to Kandy, our pleasure is hosting guests such as you, who enjoy the nature and just 'taking it easy'. Hope to see you again soon and wish you both a great New Year!
Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIrelan...
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality and wonderful views”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My wife and I spent four days at this property and our hosts were exceptionally kind. They could not have done more for us.
The breakfasts were wonderful and if we needed food in the evening they were happy to provide. One evening they even drove us into Gampola to pick up a delicious takeaway.
The location is outside Gampola amid beautiful scenery. We did not have a driver but were able to get around to Kandy, Nuwara Eliya and Gampola by a mixture of tuk tuk, bus and train.
If you are looking to be somewhere away from the crowds and to unwind, this is the perfect spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Thanks Andrew for your kind comments. We equally enjoyed hosting you both and we're glad that you made the most of your stay here. Hoping to see you again. Wish you happy travel!!
Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijayalux...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Sri Lankan hospitality at its best surrounded by nature's abundance”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It was a the most calming experience and the hosts the most welcoming, ensuring comfort while allowing for privacy.

The property is surrounded by nature - be it the hills which are in view from any angle; the lovely home garden of fruit vegetables and flowers frequented by birds and butterflies it is a nature lovers dream holiday home. A place for writers to find expression when the noise of city life has taken its toll.

The hosts understand completely the concept of privacy and the expectations of the bed and breakfast traveler. A much traveled couple well versed in English Kumari and Chinthaka said the Holiday Home was the fulfillment their dream of hosting international visitors to Sri Lanka.
A great cook Kumari took pride in serving home grown vegetables cooked to traditional recipes handed down by her mother and grandmother. While Chinthaka an avid reader with an abiding interest in all things Sri Lankan had all the information to fill in the gaps in my knowledge of the location and beyond.

Breakfast was special but as I chose to stay in and enjoy the ambiance of the surroundings the hosts kindly and generously shared their delicious lunch of many curried vegetables and rice which was a real treat.

I found Sri Lankan hospitality at its best at Chinthaka and Kumari's wonderful Holiday Home. It definitely is the place to go for peace and quiet and to be one with nature while e
njoying all the creature comforts of the 21st century.

Thank you for a wonderful stay !

Luxmi

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you Luxmi for your kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed the short stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam201474...
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a holiday in Sri Lanka and one of the highlights was our four nights stay at the above property in Gampola, not far from Kandy. It is a beautiful modern house tastefully designed by Kumari and Chinthaka, located up the side of a hill providing spectacular views across the valley. It was a joy to sit early morning and as evening approached on the balcony and watch the changing skyline and listen to the chorus of birds. It is a superb place to chill out and appreciate the flora and fauna of the region or as we did, use the location to travel to Kothmale Dam, the tea plantations of Nuwara Eliya and Talawakelle and the historic Embekke Devalaya and Lankathilake Viharaya, all easily accessible on day trips. The attention to detail could not be faulted and we found the hosts to be very attentive and only too willing to advise us on any queries we had about getting around. It is a bonus that Kumari loves cooking and the breakfast and dinner we had there were delicious. We were made to feel quite at home and after our stay we moved on reluctantly. The caretaker Nishantha was very polite and equally helpful so all in all, we had a great stay at Fifty Eight Eighty and have no hesitation in recommending it to fellow travellers looking for a bit of adventure.

Anudhi & Frank
Twickenham
UK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
Dear Anudhi & Frank,

Thank you so much for the kind words of appreciation. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We equally enjoyed your company and the conversations on many varied subjects during your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kumari & Chinthaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunil a
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice and quiet”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The scenery from the property was fine and the only sounds you can hear is the river and the frogs and insects at night and it was quite a change from the busy life in the cities. Also Kothmale Dam was close-by and a good day's outing. The place was well kept and the hosts were very much concerned about our comfort which is something that should be mentioned here. It would be ideal for nature lovers and we also had a chance to go for a morning walk up hill which gave a panoramic view of the area, seen in the photos attached.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and nice photos. It was a pleasure having you at our place and hope to see you again soon. Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gita G
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“...it was sheer luxury and joy ...”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

A fortnight has passed and I am still dreaming of the wonderfully restful time my sister and I had at the ‘Fifty Eight Eighty’ B & B a couple of weeks ago. Set on an elevation it was out of this world, a fine place not only to rest and quiet getaway but to explore the bush, and the natural environment with opportunities for trekking, cycling and experiencing something very different. Not far away were places of interest history and art lovers and visits to Embekke Devale and the Lankathilaka temple of the 14th century were very special indeed. Unfortunately time did not permit us to check out the hideouts of Prince Gamini who had spent some years in the area before he went on to become one of the country’s great kings.

It is a very clean homely environment allowing privacy and space to do our own thing. We had a well fitted large studio type room with panoramic views, and there are only a couple of these allowing quality and excellent personalised service. Breakfast choices included international and local fare and other meals can be ordered if required. The treat being that most if not all fruit and vegetables are home grown. It is quite apparent that the owners take pride in what they do and are willing to go that extra mile to make sure their guest have a unique and happy experience. All in all it was sheer luxury and joy and we will definitely take the chance to return before long.
Gigi, NZ

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellent service and peaceful environment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2013
Thanks for you kind comments about our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay. Wish to see you again some time in the future. Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing