We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Hotel Schwarzbrunn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Schwarzbrunn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stans
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I booked the hotel as a bit of a distress purchase as my wife took ill whilst on holiday and I needed somewhere to base myself near Schwaz. What a great find. The hotel has been developed over the years by the same family and the staff are a true asset to the hotel. A new Spa was opened in December 2012 and it really is fantastic, the highlight being the infinity pool with lovely views over the mountains.

The food was very good, with a typical continental style buffet for breakfast, soup and some hot dishes for lunch and a very nice dinner service which includes wine if you are staying 3 nights or more on a half board basis. We had been on a ski holiday, 45 minutes away near Mayrhofen in a 5 Star Superior hotel which we had stayed at before but in many ways I preferred this hotel. The staff speak excellent English and the spa was very well suited to non German and Austrian visitors as it had options for both clothed and non clothed areas.

The rooms vary from the more traditional to quite modern and all rooms seem to have a balcony.
I really can't thank the hotel and staff enough for looking after my wife and her parents when she got out of hospital. I hope to return as it is a beautiful area.

Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    100
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
100
137
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The new spa at the Hotel Schwarzbrunn is absolutely wonderful! We have been guests at this hotel for many years and were so excited to try out the new spa facilities during our last stay in December. It really is a super experience for the whole family. Our 2 year old daughter refused to leave the kids play spa area with its fountains and waterfalls! The service, food and guest rooms in the hotel were as superb as always. This is a hotel we are happy to visit again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLPlentl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellnesshotel-Tirol, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Schwarzbrunn, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
Dear guests

i would like to take this opportunity to say thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Schwarzbrunn for your winter holiday. Your business is highly appreciatet and i am delighted to read, that you have enjoyed yourself.
Thank you for your time to write a very detailed report about the Hotel Schwarzbrunn on Tripadvisor.

It would be a pleasure to meet you again at the Hotel Schwarzbrunn.
With kind regards from Tyrol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I took my wife and my daughter to the Schwarzbrunn for a long weekend out in the Alps for a bit of skiing and wellness. This place is ideal for such a trip! The hotel is very charming, staff is family friendly, helpful and everybody speaks good English. The room was spacious, very clean and calm and we also had a great view onto the valley. The hotel has its own ski lift just outside in the garden which was ideal for our daughter and for us. The Spa and fitness areas are completely new and they also served complimentary drinks and fruit in the sauna area which is great. My wife loved the treatments and my daughter the kids room in the Spa. Breakfast and food was delicious and the restaurant has an excellent wine selection. The hotel also arranged a nanny for a few hours in the evening. Overall, compared to Uk the hotel is absolutely worth each penny. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: stay longer than a weekend if you can. it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Actually, I did not expect to stay in this hotel. Accidentaly, I had to accompany my grandfather to Schwaz hospital and I did not have where to say overnight. A doctor in the hospital arranged a room at 2 am for me. There is no night reception operating but there is a guy in the restaurant, who helped to get a room, dental kit and iPhone charger. I was also given a free drink when I arrived to the hotel. Most likely, I looked exhausted. In the end, it was a short, but quality sleep. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, lots of local food. I was impressed about "in-built" mountain water spring in the breakfast room. Reception stuff was very helpful. And finally the hotel taxi driver took me back to the hospital next day - free of charge. Thank you to all hotel staff to make my very short stay comfortable and relaxing.. After everything we have been going through in hospital. I am glad to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radunkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

the schwarzbrunn is a nearly perfect place to stay, no matter if it is for business or for holiday. the rooms are big and clean. the location is good, also for innsbruck. the restaraunt is modern, quality good-perfect and after all price-performance will satisfy you. only thing is that lots of busses are stopping there and it gets crowded if you´ve bad luck. on the other side this underlines the good service which is provided there. give it a try when you´re around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceVita36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozáni, Kozani, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Only one world for this Hotel in BEAUTIFUL STANS......AMAZING!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellnesshotel-Tirol, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Schwarzbrunn, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays at the Alpine Wellnesshotel Schwarzbrunn.

Your feedback is the best confirmation for our efforts and encourages the entire team to provide our guests with the best service during their holidays.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Tyrol and look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely.

Family Gschwentner and the team of the Alpine Wellnesshotel Schwarzbrunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Food was super, lots of choices, you won't go hungry. We had room on the 3. Floor and was really good,quiet. No WiFi included, pay extra per day and even then it is not available in your room , that was bad. There is an oldschool telephone jack internet modem in the rooms in case anybody still has a mobile device that could use that, I was like, "Hello?!"
What makes it attrative for families with small children, is that there is a lift right outside the hotel and it seems they offer the ski school for the little kids. We went night skiing there once it was fun for a small run. The wellness area is big,but the pool is small and often crowded, so we avoided that. The jacuzzi fits about 10 people, which is a bit small for a such a big hotel. My biggest complaint was the standing water in the wellness area, sometimes it was awful. There is a nice wine cellar and the owner gave us a wine tatsting evening, he seems very engaged in daily operations of the hotel. We drove about 20 min by car for skiing, i heard there is also aski bus possible. Checked out a relax hot oil massage, was super. A nice hotel to spend 4 nights in January, al in all. They told us that after this season,they will renovate the whole wellness area, get a bigger pool, and wifi inthe rooms...so if you go, wait until they re open.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlyons69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellnesshotel-Tirol, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Schwarzbrunn, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive comment about the Alpine Wellnesshotel Schwarzbrunn and your recent stay with us.

Our team is always happy to get positive feedback for their commitment.

Regarding your comment about the ski bus possibilities, we would like to inform you that there is a free daily shuttle service from the hotel to the ski resorts of the Ziller Valley and Kellerjoch.

As you noticed, the wellness area will be extended to an area of 3000 m² and will be re-open in December 2012 with a mountain lake, rock pool, children’s pond, glacier water, fog grotto, cold pool, infusion room, Finnish sauna, beauty source, sun and moon relaxation rooms, fountain square and a vitamin bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alpine Wellnesshotel Schwarzbrunn.

Best regards.

Family Gschwentner and the team of the Alpine Wellnesshotel Schwarzbrunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stans
4.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
17.3 mi away
Bon Alpina
Bon Alpina
#21 of 73 in Innsbruck
299 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
#1 of 8 in Hintertux
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
139 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
0.0 mi away
Hotel Der Brandstetterhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwarzbrunn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwarzbrunn

Property: Hotel Schwarzbrunn
Address: Vogelsang 208, Stans 6135, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Stans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schwarzbrunn 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the depths of the earth it emerges, just above Stans: the Schwarzbrunn spring. Dark, wet soil and Tyrolean limestone surround the source from which the pure spring water gushes. It is this feature which gives our hotel its name. The Hotel Schwarzbrunn is placed in Stans near the historical Silver City of Schwaz, between the alpine park Karwendel and the Tuxer Alps of the Zillertal. Regions like the Zillertal, Achensee or Innsbruck are easily and shortly accessible. 121 tastefully furnished, comfortable rooms in an elegant rustic style are your home away from home for the extent of your stay at the Hotel Schwarzbrunn. Select from 13 categories - there's something perfect for every taste and occasion!The Schwarzbrunn Spa with 3000 m²Water, the basis of all life, has been made the subject of the Schwarzbrunn Spa, and with it a source of rest and relaxation has been realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schwarzbrunn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen - Wellnesshotel Schwarzbrunn Hotel Stans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing