We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement necessary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpin Life Resort Lurzerhof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Untertauern
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Improvement necessary”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Staying there for a week it started with a rather poor welcome from the Owner who obviously did not seem happy that the most expensive room (Suite) out of 5 rooms we booked was not up to our standards and we requested to stay at a cheaper and nicer room.
We felt that overall rooms are rather dated and boring.
Housekeeping was amazing and we loved the cheerful cleaning lady who never failed to help us with all our requests, whilst the service overall was very mixed. Especially the gentleman and the lady in the Spa were very rude, arrogant and unprofessional.
Breakfast is excellent whereas the rest of the Food & Beverage needs quite a lot of improvement. It is simply too basic and of very average common standard.
The Wet areas are beautiful and a welcome relaxation after a long day of sightseeing, even though the opening hours are unacceptable. Opens too late, closes too early!
The departure was again unpleasant, as we were charged Euro 5 for a lost room keycard, even though I was convinced it was in the pocket of the hotel bathrobe which they removed for washing! Very petty considering we stayed at the hotel for an entire week with 5 rooms,9 people and plenty of food & beverage consumption in restaurant and bar!
Overall a bit disappointing and I doubt we would be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This Hotel is one of the best hotels where me and my husband ever have been.
The wellness area is perfect. The dishes are very-very dishes. The staff is very freindly. In the hotel area ther are some tourist routes, wich you can do it easy if you aren't so fit :-). The bad is one of the most importan thing in a hotel for us - but here was great too.
The outside pool was a great experience, even if the snoww was falling. I recommend this hotel for families or for couples, who want to spent a great wellness-weekend in Austria in a beautiful village)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borisz719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed few days in January 2011 in this hotel.
Hotel has a very good and large wellness area and also outside swimming pool. What I personally liked in wellness were the little details like tea, home made syrups and dried frutis served in wellness area for free, and for example beach baskets for carrying the towels to spa area which were in the room. Also possibility to use as many towels as you need in saunas. Bathrobes in the rooms were for granted.
Hotel served smal snack in the lunchtime, and the dinner was simply excellent - 4 course menu served by waiters, plus salad bar, and the food was very tasty - sometimes maybe too much eating for one dinner :-).
Hotel lies in a small village Untertauern, few kilometres from the Obertauern ski area. There was a shuttle skibus stop in front of the hotel.
Overall, we liked this hotel very much and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We have stayed at the hotel during our skiing trip. The best thing about hotel is spa, which is really great and beautifully done. The rest rather poor- the service is crap, rooms outdated and food ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The Lurzerhof ia a traditional Austrian Hotel. Unless you are Austrian or German or speak German its a difficult place to stay. All the staff are local which is to the hotels credit, however international travelers will experience some difficulties as the only language spoken is German.
That said the hotel is very very nice. Set amongst mountains and only a short bus or car ride to great skiing at Obertauern. Untertauern is a very small hamlet en route to the slopes.
The rooms are very traditional. Lots of pine and tiles, but cosy none the less. Our room was quiet and had views to the church at the centre.
If you eat at the hotel you will be very well fed, with the kitchen serving traditional Austrian fayre but with a local and contemporary twist. The problem is there is just so much food and the menu is wholy in Austrian, leaving one to guess or ask 'fish, meat or veg' which is about the extent of the personal translations. There is no bar. and that contributes to the traditional feel of the hotel, but it means that the hotel has no centre.
The hotel prides itself on its new spa facilities, which it has to be said are very good for a hotel of its size. However unless you like total nudity then the majority of the spa will be 'off limits' as you cant use the fantastic saunas and relaxation areas. You can use the very well heated outdor pool which is wonderful or the less warm indoor pool. These areas are full of young families, so tolerance is often required.
Overall ... its a nice play to stay but international it isnt and tolerance is a must. The hotel lacks a centre and just seems to lack 'fun'!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Untertauern
16.0 mi away
Travel Charme Bergresort Werfenweng
14.5 mi away
Gut Berg Naturhotel
Gut Berg Naturhotel
#8 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
45 reviews
21.5 mi away
Das.goldberg
Das.goldberg
#1 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
#5 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
160 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grundlers Hotel Restaurant Spa
2.7 mi away
Forellenhof-Gasthof Hammerwirt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Life Resort Lurzerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Life Resort Lurzerhof

Property: Alpin Life Resort Lurzerhof
Address: Dorfstrasse 23, Untertauern 5561, Austria (Formerly Wellnesshotel Lurrzerhof)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Untertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Untertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpin Life Resort Lurzerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpin Life Resort Lurzerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing