We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Netley Hall Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Netley Hall Estate
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked a deal for 2 nights during the flooding. First night was very rainy-luckily had an early meal in Dorrington and managed to get through flooded roads back to base and then trapped.
But our cottage had a jacuzzi,which was brilliant fun.
A drawback in the deal is the cottage had no complementary tea bags.We had not realised this,luckily we had wine!
2nd day ,the floods had receded so walked into Dorrington. Bought some steak from the local butcher, plus teabags,milk etc from local store,sorted for the night, BUT no frying pan in cottage!
Still had wine,though,so still had a great time.
Would go again but with supplies.

Room Tip: get the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We purchased a KGB deal for £89.00 for a 2 night stay in Peachtree Cottage. You do get a little concerned about what you might be going to when you read some of the reviews, but we have to say, the cottage was extremely pleasant and from what we could see of the other cottages, they looked equally as nice, so we really would urge anyone to just go and make up your own mind. The young lady in the Reception office was welcoming and asked us where we had travelled from and she also showed us to the cottage. We thought it was a really nice touch that a box of chocolate seashells (one of my favourites, how did they know) and a bottle of sparkling wine were provided on arrival. The cottage was extremely spacious and was very well equipped and as you can control the heating yourself, you certainly won’t be cold. The only two things that could have done with a little updating was the television, which unfortunately, because it was an old style television, some of the picture was missing due to the narrowness of the screen. However, we only watched it for about an hour before we went to bed, so it really wasn’t a major issue. Also, the two settees in the living room could have done with replacing as they were lacking a bit of padding. Again, this wasn’t a major problem, but it might be for anyone who wanted to sit on them for any length of time. The cottage was also equipped with a dvd and cd player. We went into Shrewsbury and took the boat trip down the river, which was most enjoyable and we also took a drive over Long Mynd, which is highly recommended, it is absolutely beautiful. If you go over Long Mynd and down the other side there is a lovely little pub by a stream. We ate out in the evening and can recommend the Horseshoes Pub in Dorrington and we also went to the Persian Restaurant which is just over the road from the pub.

We would happily return to Netley Hall Estate, as it is in a great position for exploring the beautiful county of Shropshire and great if you just want some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Watty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The place itself is lovely: a nice rural estate about 5 miles south of Shrewsbury: we live in a similar situation in Cheshire but wanted a nice change of scene as a getaway. The accommodation is well appointed, clean, modern, warm. In most respects, ideal and certainly comfortable. I can see why Ms Whingy might complain about no washing up liquid, pan scourer etc but, at the end of the day, you're not more than 1.5 miles from a convenience store, so you can get your own. TV was OK, we didn't actually meet any of the staff/management team as we arrived late on Friday and were away by 10am Sunday but interaction on the phone was great. The village of Dorrington isn't much more than a small collection of properties on a busy road and the closest local pub, Dorrington's Horseshoe is a disappointment, a plastic towny sort of place trying to be a country inn/bistro ... but if you go in the opposite direction to the village of Picklescott, the Bottle & Glass Inn is a much more genuine, country pub, open fire, decent beer, bit of craic with the locals - we didn't eat there but what came out looked great. So, would we go back to Netley Hall cottages, yes absolutely, if there was a reason but Dorrington itself wouldn't be it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCunliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked via a discount deal for 2 nights in one of the cottages. I had read the previous reviews so went with an open mind. I found nothing major to complain about.
On a country estate accessed via a long drive and about a mile from the little village of Dorrington - a 30 minute dawdle at most, or a little shorter if you take the footpath across the fields from halfway down the drive.The path takes you straight into the beer garden of the lovely Horseshoes pub.
The location is very quiet and peaceful in the lovely grounds of Netley Hall with pleasant walks, fishing lakes and a tennis court. Whilst slightly removed from the village, the locals, the pubs and restaurants are really friendly, well worth the stroll. The estate provides a good base for exploring and there is plenty of travel information both in the cottage and at reception.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our cottage and invited to bring any issues to their attention.
The cottages are purpose built, very pretty and spacious set around a shared garden area which is landscaped and well maintained. Our cottage (Mulberry), as other reviewers have mentioned had no windows in the bedrooms as some of the cottages are built into the perimeter wall of the original walled garden. Not to everyone's taste perhaps but the lack of windows didn't worry us. The bedrooms are of a very good size and each has it's own ensuite. For warmer weather, there is an 'air vac' in the bedroom, which refreshes the air and is no more noisy than an aircon unit that you'd find in an overseas room. One of the bedrooms had a shower unit incorporating a turkish steam bath - lovely.
Everything was very clean. The only constructive comment, which I've passed on to reception before we left, is that the cushions on the settees require re-filling, so they weren't overly comfortable if sitting for long periods.
We brought to their attention that there was no grill pan or frying pan on arrival and replacements were provided within 5 minutes. I'd agree that the kitchen was fairly sparsely equipped but adequate for our needs. A longer stay might require some additional items. You do need to take your own washing liquid, dishcloth/scourer but oven gloves, tea towels and dishwasher tablets are provided, as are bedlinens and towels.
We weren't able to access wifi, but weren't overly concerned. However reception did advise that some work to upgrade was underway. They assured us there is no charge and they will update the guides in the cottages. At the end of the day, this estate is in a fairly remote rural location and you can't really expect anything else.
We requested a late check out and this was accommodated without question as there were no other guests arriving in our cottage.
Overall, we were very happy with the standard of accommodation and the warm welcome we received and enjoyed a relaxing 2 day break.

Room Tip: If you want windows in your bedroom, state this when booking. Any comments / complaints are prompt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Pay attention to all the negative reviews they are 100% correct. No equipment ie one scratched unuseable pan it the whole house, no dishcloth, no washing up liquid, no frying pan, not enough cutlery or plates/cups,no wifi (even though they claim to have it they admit when pushed that it doesn't work because the antenna points towards the owners property and not towards the holiday cottages), extremely old tv, the worst customer service I have ever experienced from the manager! Couldn't pay me to stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank florence473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetleyHall, Manager at Netley Hall Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

It is difficult to comment on this individuals comments as there is no way of identifying the complainant.

The cottages are fully equipped and when additional utensils are needed the office is happy to supply them.

Wi-Fi is intermittent... a problem for any rural location, the owners house is not serviced by the same internet connection and no charge is made for the Wi-Fi to guests.

The comments made appear to be factually incorrect and the manager has never spoken to anyone in regard to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend get away to Netley Hall, we stayed in Honeysuckle Cottage. Experienced some of the things previous reviewers have put, wifi advertised but unable to obtain ( they also make a charge for this.) As we arrived after the estate office had closed we had been given the gate code, only to find our sat nav took us to the wrong entrance, but had not been told to use the entrance off Church Street. While the cottage was clean and warm, a distinct lack of equipment was noticeable. However in Dorrington we had a fabulous Persian meal at the Dorrington Old Hall. Also can rec the Horseshoe pub.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetleyHall, Manager at Netley Hall Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Wi-Fi is intermmitant ... a problem for many rural locations however no charge is made for it and we understand that internet speeds in the village are scheduled to be upgraded and improved soon.
We have revised our information sheet in the light of the comments regarding finding the correct entrance and apologise for any inconvienience caused.
Additional kitchen utensils can be readily supplied by the estate office unfortunately whilst we do try to check every cottage at the end of a stay it is not always possible and certain items do have a habit of going missing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here in one of the self catering cottages for the weekend end of January to check out accomodation and surrounding area as we have booked 6 of the cottages in April for a family function. We went through KBGdeals which cost us £99 for the weekend. All I can say is Brilliant value for money. The accomodation is top notch although could probably do with more kitchen utensils/ plates, but the cottage was lovely and warm, well presented and large. The staff were lovely and helpful. We have bought another voucher since plus going back in April. Certainly recommend this place

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Netley Hall Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netley Hall Estate

Address: Church Road, Dorrington SY5 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Dorrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dorrington
Price Range: £76 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Netley Hall Estate we have a large Marquee style Banquet Hall available for Weddings and events! with its own licensed bar. We also have 12 self-catering Holiday Cottages available for short and long stays. The Estate boasts luxurious grounds with 160 acres of beautiful Shropshire scenery! Perfect for your blissful country retreat. We have 6 fishing lakes within the estate with a large variety of fish for you to catch. There is also an Equestrian facility and a Paint balling Facility on the Estate. For more information please contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Netley Hall Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netley Hall Estate Hotel Dorrington
Netley Hall Estate Dorrington, Shropshire - Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing