We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very enjoyable stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dorrington, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

267Dianne...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Old Dairy conversion was a very open plan cottage on one floor.
Travelling with my elderly mother it suited us as we had 2 bedrooms with our own bathrooms.
The directions to get there were easy to follow.the location of this property was wonderful for visiting most of the attractions in Shropshire
The owner was welcoming and knowledgable and we had a tasty home made cake ,fresh flowers and tea/ coffe and milk on our arrival .the gardens surrounding the property were beautiful and the scent from the flowers were intoxicating.plenty of pubs in the area for meals.
I would recommend this property to people who want to go to the countryside and enjoy a home from home atmosphere in a well equipped property. The cats were adorable!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Liked least: Liked it all
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridget m
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful barn conversion”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just had the most fantastic week in Shropshire - fantastic weather , recent flooding had no impact on the cottage or immediate area.

this is our 7th visit to this cottage which I think says it all about the standard of accommodation. The Old Dairy (and adjoining slightly larger Granary) have been beautifully converted into comfortable and practical accommodation of a high standard with furnishings that suit the dwellings. the log burner is incredibly effective in heating the cottage and lovely to relax by after a day out . the layout of the Old Dairy is very practical if you have young children - you can keep an eye on them in the sitting area from the kitchen. this year another bedroom (with ensuite) was added which is great for older and/or different sex children. We have stayed in many cottages, hotels and B&Bs since having children and this is by far the best in terms of quality.

the owners , who live on the farm, are incredibly friendly and helpful, they always leave fresh flowers and home made cake in the cottage and some basic essentials such as tea bags to get you going. they strike that rare balance which we have never found elsewhere of being helpful and friendly when needed but unobtrusive if you just want to be left to get on with your holiday. they genuinely want guests to enjoy their holiday .

our boys love the play barn with its football goal and balls, snooker table, trampoline, bowling area, cricket nets and bats, badminton/volley ball net with cocks ,racquets and balls, ride on tractors for toddlers.......and if that doesn't do it for you there are very friendly cats and a dog to play with and in the past the boys have enjoyed feeding the cattle.It has suited us from when the children were 4 and 5 and as teenagers now they still love going.

its also a great place to be based - we have walked the hills above Church Stretton as well as walking up the Wrekin and the Lawley,, visited the Ironbridge museums (buy a family passport ticket - great value ), been to the welsh coast, the castle at Ludlow, shopped in Shrewsbury and this year had a great day out at RAF Cosford (free entry).

we couldn't recommend it more highly

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the standard of accommodation and the welcoming owners - home from home now
Liked least: we cannot think of a single thing we would change....
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 10 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Date of stay: November 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Uphall
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ireland
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staffs
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Date of stay: December 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SandyW52
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well equipped cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in April 2011

The cottage is located in between Shrewsbury and Church Stretton in a lovely rural area. We loved the way the roads in Shropshire were so quiet.

The cottage is really well-equipped and had everything we needed. The games barn is just fab, our boys loved it and would have spent all their time there.

Overall a great holiday with great accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The games barn
Liked least: Not really close to any shops
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.