We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding at The Wroxeter Hotel - 11th Feb 2012...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wroxeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wroxeter Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at The Wroxeter Hotel - 11th Feb 2012...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

After looking at a number of hotels in and around Shrewsbury, we opted for The Wroxeter as when they said they would listen and tailor our wedding day as we wanted it, they meant it. Other hotels said they would tailor things, but that was provided we did things their way!!

We held a number of meetings with Margot and she really did listen and do her upmost to ensure our wedding day was really *our* wedding day. We had a range of dietary needs, that was no trouble as the hotel sourced specific foods for us.

On our wedding day, the hotel staff were wonderful - so attentive and polite. A number of our guests made a point of mentioning the quality of service to us. The food was fresh and tasted great. All our guests had a great day. A number of our guests stopped over and they praised the quality of the rooms and service they received.

The hotel has wonderful views of The Wrekin, which has made for some great photos.

All in all, we can honestly say that organising our wedding at The Wroxeter was stress-free, enjoyable and great fun. We will certainly be popping back to the hotel for meals and the odd stay.

Heather & Jazz

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over The Wrekin, then get up early-ish and enjoy the beautiful sun-ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaswinder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    190
    128
    52
    53
See reviews for
103
349
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a fantastic stay. The staff were all very helpful and attentive. They could not have done any more for us. The surroundings are beautiful, we had some lovely walks even in the cold weather. The hotel was very clean and our room was well equipped, comfortable and warm.
Breakfast was served exactly as we had requested and was very nice, just what we needed to keep us going on our outdoor exploring. We also ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings. We had the Roman banquet one evening which was a very pleasant experience and the food on the other night was also good. Food and drinks were well priced.
Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend a trip to the Wroxeter Hotel. There is also plenty to do nearby - Attingham park is about 2 minutes away, the vineyard is very close and also the Roman ruins.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hew351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were a little concerned when reading the latest reviews on the Roman Banquet but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The website shows the 16 course menu. Because of the proximity to the ruins of the Roman city, the owners have researched the menu and have adapted some of the items to suit current tastes. The food reminded us of nights in Spanish Tapas bars but with small tasty portions of Roman food. The courses arrive 3 to 4 at a time and each is of a size that means we could just about manage to eat the whole 16 courses! The meal was timed to give enough breaks between courses to enjoy the food and wine. There wasn’t a course we didn’t enjoy, but favourites included the Lambs Kidneys, Figs in honey, Lobster risotto and Goose liver pate. The mix of sweet and savoury items initially seemed strange, but worked well and the honeyed wine goes well with some of the courses. This Banquet is not in the style of Medieval Banquets, it is fine dining.
Not a potato or chip in sight!

The staff were all friendly and helpful.
We had a room in the main building with a Four Poster bed; the bathroom was spacious with bath and separate large modern shower. Plenty of Coffee, Tea and Biscuits The room and hotel were nicely decorated in a style to suit the house.
Overall we found this was good value and a pleasant 2-day break

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kochili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed last weekend and had a wonderful time. The staff were ALL very friendly and attentive. A beautiful view from our room. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Positives:-
Fabulous location. So peaceful. Meal Friday evening lovely . Staff were great. Shrewsbury and lots of other places to visit, Vineyard within walking distance as well as Roman ruins. Breakfast very nice. Wine and bar drinks not badly priced.
Negatives:-
Dont have room numbers 3 or 4 as these rooms have disabled bathrooms and look more suited to an old peoples home than hotel however they were very comfortable and kettles & tv in room
Roman Banquet was awful. Vegetarian option included parma ham!!
Would definately return

Room Tip: Try and get four poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceymx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Good hotel in a lovely surrounding countryside.In the middle of know where but a few miles from civilisation and site seeing if you want it. Easy car trips to Shrewsbury and Ironbridge etc.
We had the last room available and the upstairs twin was comfortable and clean.
Cooked breakfast is worth getting up for.....
I would recommend the Roman Banquet for the novel experience only (on long tables with the other guests) but not exactly gourmet!
Excellent value - Booked with groupon.

Room Tip: Four poster rooms recommended according to the other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAB444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel because of a Groupon offer which included a four poster room if available. I checked online to see if rooms were available for the weekend we wanted to stay and then called and were told that we had a four poster room booked. I was also told a confirmation email would be sent on the day. Several days later I had not received confirmation so I called again and was told that a four poster room had been booked for us and that there was a backlog of emails because of the offer. I never did receive my confirmation and on arrival realised that they had incorrectly spelled my name and my email address. We were given our keys and went up to our room and was extremely disappointed. We were given a standard room, no four poster bed as booked. I went to talk to reception who told me that we couldn't have had a four poster room booked because they were all booked before we made our booking, strange as it was available when I checked online and had it confirmed twice when I booked and called. At this point we felt 'cheated' but didn't fancy the 2 1/2 hour drive back home and weren't sure if Groupon could refund us, so we stayed feeling very disappointed. The standard rooms were clean and full of all the usual mod-cons but be warned, the walls are very thin! We could hear our neighbour's conversations and hear them having a shower!

The next morning the receptionist apologised again for the mix up and offered us a free bottle of wine with our evening dinner and a discounted rate if we were to stay again. Lovely gesture but no four poster room!

At breakfast we ordered 2 full English one with scrambled egg and no tomato and one with a poached egg. When it arrived both dishes had tomatoes and fried eggs. The waitress asked if everything was ok with our breakfast and we explained their mistake. The waitress gave a reply of 'oh' and walked off!

The Roman banquet was different but definitely not worth the full price they were asking for. I think they could have given it a more Roman theme rather than just serving strange dishes.

The service at breakfast on the second morning was much better. Waitresses were friendlier and they got our breakfasts right!

Overall an average experience and left feeling a little 'ripped' off even with the Groupon offer. I think it would have been a better experience if we had lower expectations!

Room Tip: Make sure you get your confirmation email stating which rooms you have booked! Also the walls are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yokohama_Llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroxeter
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
4.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
6.8 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wroxeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wroxeter Hotel

Property: The Wroxeter Hotel
Address: Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wroxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wroxeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful countryside halfway between Telford and Shrewsbury, The Wroxeter Hotel enjoys easy access from the A5 and M54. With modern and well appointed bedrooms, The Wroxeter is ideal for short breaks and "getaways"; walking and country pursuits holidays; and for business travelers looking for something more than just a room. We are family run and excel in traditional cooking and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wroxeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wroxeter
The Wroxeter Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing