We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, disappointing experience.”
Review of The Wroxeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wroxeter Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked a 2 night stay with the Roman Meal. On arrival there was a wedding taking place and as such the room we were given was the worst I have ever stayed in bar none.

The manager was too busy 'in a meeting' to discuss my concerns and we left after just one night.

I could go on about the state of the hotel, but just look at the photos and make your own judgement.

Not the romantic, plush hotel portrayed on their website.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teadrink3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed there for two nights on a deal which included the Roman Banquet. On the first night we checked in very late and the manager on duty was very accommodating and kept us lubricated late into the night (lubricated with alcohol just in case you have a dirty mind)
The Shropshire Gold is very moreish and the bar is clean and the beer tastes good.

Breakfast in bed was brought to you by 9:45am so a little extra sleep and no need to dress properly to traipse to the restaurant. What a wonderful wake-up call it was too ("cock-a-doodle do")

Unfortunately the banquet promised lots, but sixteen courses went by very quickly and was more like tapas. So we were a little disappointed as we espected to be completely stuffed with scrumptious Roman food (whatever that was)

Would I recommend this hotel?
Yes, it's in a great location and is especially good for weddings too.

Thank you for a good experience.

Room Tip: If vegetarian then the Roman Banquet isn't for you. Also they have disabled facilities in som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde_Braley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Got this on a Groupon deal, The staff very helpful. The room was fine, we thought it was a little odd having carpet in the bedroom, shower cubicle needed a makeover. Nontheless, the room was warm and the views beautiful over looking fields with ponies, Llamas and sheep. The surrounding area is fab, we visited the Roman city which is a stones throw away. We had the Roman banquet meal on our first night, we dined on our own, it was ok nothing special, items missing from the menu this helped us to decide to dine out in Shrewsbury which was lovely. Good variety at breakfast and our choice was well cooked we went for the full English. Other reviews mention creaky floorboards, remember its an old building in parts, why so shouldn't it creak??? Overall we enjoyed our stay, but wouldn't bother with the so called Roman banquet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanny_minge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have just returned from a distinctly mediocre stay at the Wroxeter Hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful location and well located for Shrewsbury and its lovely surrounding areas. However many details at the hotel were lacking.

The room was average but the ensuite lacked a bath. This was a dissappointment as we had brought our bath bombs to have a long luxurious soak in the bath. The shower was Ok but drained very slowly as though the drain was partly blocked.

The worst part of the stay was the groaning floorboards as other guests have experienced. As soon as anyone is awake so are you! The creaking and groanong from the other rooms is unbelievably loud. The paper thin walls that transmit every sound and word from your neighbour also conspired against a restful night's sleep.

The medieval banquet commenced with what can only be described as a hot stock cube with slivers of sliced silverside the rest was no more than a selection of "Iceland" style items served on three separate platters. I would not serve this processed food to guests in my home so this was alslo a dissappointment.

As there was no entertainment and the banquet was served in an October chilly conservatory the conversation at the table with complete strangers was a little forced. Please don't dress in Roman attire either as suggested by the hotel - no one else does!

Breakfast was an average hotel breakfast but was badly let down by the orange squash/cordial that was on offer as opposed to fresh orange juice. Orange squash with an expensive hotel breakfast is a first for me.

On the whole, not an awful stay but with all the cheap details along with the sleepness nights I couldn't recommend this hotel. We stayed as part of Amazon Local and would have been very upset if I had paid full price. Maybe full paying customers get the quiet rooms and the fresh orange juice....

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsie_lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is simply lovely. We stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal which included the Roman Banquet. Our room was spacious with a four poster bed, enormous bathroom and best of all a bath. It was very comfortable and had views over the fields and hills. The hotel is in lovely countryside with a church about 10 seconds walk away. It was incredibly quiet, there was no noise at all. The banquet was fun, everyone mingled, ate and drank. The food was average and the wine was watered down , but we were glad it was as we had copious amounts! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

we spent 2 nights at this hotel.the setting is wonderful surrounded by fields .our room was overlooking a field full of llamas and chickens.what more can you want .the staff were very friendly and helpful.the location is good not far from shrewsbury and telford.we also visited attingham park which is very near the hotel.on our way home we visited chirk castle which is wonderful. the room in the hotel was very warm and comfortable.the only drawback was the very noisy guests on our floor as we could hear every every word being said through the walls.Otherwise very enjoyable.

Room Tip: do not book room 7
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I recently bought a two night stay with a Roman banquet on the second night at this hotel, through Groupon. I have to say that the ground floor room was adequate until a couple were given the room above us, and the floor boards were so noisy when they were moving around it did not make for a quiet night or evening when they like us were getting ready for dinner. We and they were at the banquet, which was a bit of a disappointment as the guests only numbered 10 we were all sat around a large circular table, and introduced ourselves, the waiter then came in dressed in the usual black and white, where was the costume, the atmosphere, he then explained he was waiting tables in the dining room also, not really good enough, he did change into costume eventually. The other guests were very nice and we made the most of the situation, but not what we had expected, we are pleased we did not pay the full advertised price, not worth it in our opinion. The staff are friendly and helpful, the proximity to Shrewsbury is a bonus.

Room Tip: Not room 5 on the ground floor if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroxeter
1.5 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
4.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
563 reviews
11.8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
483 reviews
6.3 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wroxeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wroxeter Hotel

Address: Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wroxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Price Range: £125 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wroxeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful countryside halfway between Telford and Shrewsbury, The Wroxeter Hotel enjoys easy access from the A5 and M54. With modern and well appointed bedrooms, The Wroxeter is ideal for short breaks and "getaways"; walking and country pursuits holidays; and for business travelers looking for something more than just a room. We are family run and excel in traditional cooking and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Wroxeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wroxeter
The Wroxeter Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing