We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wroxeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wroxeter Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for a wedding recently. Service was poor and 90% of staff were rude and unhelpful
The food served was enjoyable but the time it took to get the food out was terrible, probably due to lack of staff available.
Our room was dirty on arrival, and were promised a discount which never happened. After repeated attempts we gave up.
All in all not an enjoyable experience and would not recommend. AVOID

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank INEEDAHOLIDAY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    191
    129
    53
    53
See reviews for
105
352
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a five year gap we returned here on a Groupon voucher. The hotel is situated in its own well maintained large grounds and is an ideal centre for touring Welsh towns and countryside. Rooms Nos. 7 and 10 were spacious and bright with excellent views of the nearby Roman ruins and Alpacas. The quality and quantity of the breakfasts and dinners was good and served by friendly young staff. I think that perhaps some of the poor reviews are a bit petty but treatment with Dettox Anti-mould solution would quickly clear up the mould problem in No 7's shower cabinet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a short stay holiday based on The Wroxeter Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, polite and cheerful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room was more than adequate featuring a four poster bed and large flat screen television. a seperate, spotlessly clean bathroom was integrated. Food was of a good standard and the Roman Banquet most enjoyable with some superb items on the well thought out menu. My wife and myself have no hestitation in recommending a visit and will certainly make every effort to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here at the end of May 2014 on a Amazon Voucher deal for two nights. The Hotel was good with a good breakfast and evening meal. The staff were helpful and the hotel was clean and the room was a reasonable size and well decorated. We enjoyed our stay here.Recommended for a quiet stay for couples in the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sjs672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We attended a wedding and thought the staff were unprofessional, unhappy and lifeless. This may have been down to lack of staff morale as they seemed understaffed for a wedding/ reception. One of the high chairs they had provided was covered in mould which I found totally unacceptable. All I can say I'm glad it was not my wedding otherwise I would be asking for a refund.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shorty345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wroxeter hotels

Level Contributor
312 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Wroxeter hotel on a groupon deal with Roman banquet and was quite excited to spend a bank holiday weekend in shrewsbury. On arrival to the hotel, the grounds were lovely with views and pretty areas for weddings but surrounded in a upvc reception, and dining areas which lacked character. The hotel is sadly soul less as there's great potential for it to be stunning with medieval ruins a few minutes down the road. Our room was basic, oddly the bathroom had carpet rather than floor tiles and nowhere to put your wash bag. Notwithstanding that the room was very clean and warm - would suggest a room overlooking the fields. The Roman banquet was an experience, I'm glad l am an non-meat eater as my meal was better than what was offered! We had good company, joined by two other couples. Shrewsbury was a 15min drive away and would recommend dining there rather than at the hotel. Breakfast of full English was nice and cooked to order, breakfast times at the weekend is 8-9.30, a very short window, fruit juice, continental and cereal are available, sadly no fruit, pastries or selection of bread or rolls. For a groupon deal it was ok, but personally we wouldn't return. The wroxeter you are missing a trick!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We brought a groupon. Most of the staff were grumpy and un helpful. I had contintal breakfast day two and real very disipointing. Coissant was the smallest I have ever seen and no meat replacement. Although I had booked afternoon tea we never got it.
Beds uncomfortable, bathroom light kelp going out. Made travel lodge look like the Ritz.
The groupon said it was £250 worth if I had paid that I would have been gutter .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroxeter
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
5.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#12 of 14 in Shrewsbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wroxeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wroxeter Hotel

Property: The Wroxeter Hotel
Address: Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wroxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wroxeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful countryside halfway between Telford and Shrewsbury, The Wroxeter Hotel enjoys easy access from the A5 and M54. With modern and well appointed bedrooms, The Wroxeter is ideal for short breaks and "getaways"; walking and country pursuits holidays; and for business travelers looking for something more than just a room. We are family run and excel in traditional cooking and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wroxeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wroxeter
The Wroxeter Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing