We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toe nails!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wroxeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wroxeter Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Toe nails!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at the Wroxeter for one night.
The room was smaller than I would expect for £95
The room had toe nails on the bathroom floor and other peoples hair in the bedding,
some staff were unfriendly and grumpy.
Was offered a partial refund on the night we stayed and told to come and collect it in the morning. Woman on reception told us she didnt know anything about that and told us to email the owner.
Eventually got a reply from the owner telling me I was trying to extort them.
Unbelievable!
The food was nice bit the woman that served our breakfast was very abrupt.
Overall a terrible experience regarding getting the partial refund we were offered.
Would never give them another pound of my money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    190
    128
    52
    53
See reviews for
103
349
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for a wedding recently. Service was poor and 90% of staff were rude and unhelpful
The food served was enjoyable but the time it took to get the food out was terrible, probably due to lack of staff available.
Our room was dirty on arrival, and were promised a discount which never happened. After repeated attempts we gave up.
All in all not an enjoyable experience and would not recommend. AVOID

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank INEEDAHOLIDAY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wroxeter hotels

Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a five year gap we returned here on a Groupon voucher. The hotel is situated in its own well maintained large grounds and is an ideal centre for touring Welsh towns and countryside. Rooms Nos. 7 and 10 were spacious and bright with excellent views of the nearby Roman ruins and Alpacas. The quality and quantity of the breakfasts and dinners was good and served by friendly young staff. I think that perhaps some of the poor reviews are a bit petty but treatment with Dettox Anti-mould solution would quickly clear up the mould problem in No 7's shower cabinet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a short stay holiday based on The Wroxeter Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, polite and cheerful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room was more than adequate featuring a four poster bed and large flat screen television. a seperate, spotlessly clean bathroom was integrated. Food was of a good standard and the Roman Banquet most enjoyable with some superb items on the well thought out menu. My wife and myself have no hestitation in recommending a visit and will certainly make every effort to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here at the end of May 2014 on a Amazon Voucher deal for two nights. The Hotel was good with a good breakfast and evening meal. The staff were helpful and the hotel was clean and the room was a reasonable size and well decorated. We enjoyed our stay here.Recommended for a quiet stay for couples in the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sjs672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We attended a wedding and thought the staff were unprofessional, unhappy and lifeless. This may have been down to lack of staff morale as they seemed understaffed for a wedding/ reception. One of the high chairs they had provided was covered in mould which I found totally unacceptable. All I can say I'm glad it was not my wedding otherwise I would be asking for a refund.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shorty345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
307 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Wroxeter hotel on a groupon deal with Roman banquet and was quite excited to spend a bank holiday weekend in shrewsbury. On arrival to the hotel, the grounds were lovely with views and pretty areas for weddings but surrounded in a upvc reception, and dining areas which lacked character. The hotel is sadly soul less as there's great potential for it to be stunning with medieval ruins a few minutes down the road. Our room was basic, oddly the bathroom had carpet rather than floor tiles and nowhere to put your wash bag. Notwithstanding that the room was very clean and warm - would suggest a room overlooking the fields. The Roman banquet was an experience, I'm glad l am an non-meat eater as my meal was better than what was offered! We had good company, joined by two other couples. Shrewsbury was a 15min drive away and would recommend dining there rather than at the hotel. Breakfast of full English was nice and cooked to order, breakfast times at the weekend is 8-9.30, a very short window, fruit juice, continental and cereal are available, sadly no fruit, pastries or selection of bread or rolls. For a groupon deal it was ok, but personally we wouldn't return. The wroxeter you are missing a trick!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroxeter
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
4.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
6.8 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wroxeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wroxeter Hotel

Property: The Wroxeter Hotel
Address: Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wroxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wroxeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful countryside halfway between Telford and Shrewsbury, The Wroxeter Hotel enjoys easy access from the A5 and M54. With modern and well appointed bedrooms, The Wroxeter is ideal for short breaks and "getaways"; walking and country pursuits holidays; and for business travelers looking for something more than just a room. We are family run and excel in traditional cooking and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wroxeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wroxeter
The Wroxeter Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing