We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've been back three times!!”
Review of La Serena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castiglione della Valle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Serena
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Absolutely excellent place to stay if you want to see Umbria. Wonderful food, high standards, lovely pool,comfortable spacious en suite double rooms, The warmest welcome from lovely English Italian speaking couple whose main aim is to make sure your holiday is memorable from morning till night, offering a delicious hearty breakfast down to helping out with trips/directions etc. Dinner can also be arranged for a very reasonable price. Also one evening was a superb Barbie!!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobby63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for La Serena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

What a holiday! Excellent accommodation and cuisine. Superb views. Steph and Derek couild not be more helpful or hospitable. Nothing to criticise! Derek's cooking iand knowledge of food is a real experience. Steph's knowledge of the region, with regard to geography, culture etc was an enormous help. Superb swimmimg pool. always with enough sun loungers! Swimming towels provided, but necessary for claimimg a lounger! Large bedroom with two armchairs, ceiling fan, and bath/shower. In all, a wonderful experience which we will repeat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveatturweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

A very welcoming hotel, clean, nothing was too much trouble . A very peaceful location, yet close to wonderful cities and villages. Food fantastic.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kangasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

From the moment my daughter and I meet Steph and Derek, we knew we were going to be "taken care of" in the best of ways. La Serena is lovely -- its location (the Italian countryside is amazing), its furnishings, its comfortable beds, its big bathrooms, its library with wifi, its solar panels, and most importantly, its hosts! Steph and Derek are just the nicest couple and they are very knowledgeable about the Umbrian region of Italy. Their ability to speak English and Italian was very helpful to us. My daughter and I really enjoyed taking the escorted tours with them to the Medieval villages and Perugia. Steph booked our train tickets for a one day trip to Florence and she provided transportation to and from the train station. And then there is Derek and his kitchen -- he cooked a yummy breakfast every morning and his dinners were absolutely delicious. Our favorites were the lasagne and the roasted potatoes. Steph and Derek truly share their home with you and for that -- my daughter and I will be forever grateful. Without a doubt, Steph and Derek's La Serena is the best B&B ever!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101610Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

A warm welcome awaits you at La Serena. Nothing is too much trouble for the kind and generous hosts Steph and Derek.
The bedrooms are beautiful with nice attention to detail, from the tea and coffee making facility (rare in Italy) to the bathroom soaps and shampoo's.
The guest house is set in a peaceful location in the Umbrian countryside that affords beautiful views. Steph and Derek's hints and tips were invaluable helping to make the most of visits to the hilltop towns and villages - where to park, easiest routes, where to lunch....
I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at La Serena, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mango33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My wife and I spent a week at La Serena, we expected Umbria to be very hot and very busy. It wasn't. The temperatures were great and the towns and villages were never crowded. Late July is a good time to go!

Stephanie and Derek are great hosts, they treat you as part of the family. No sooner had we arrived than Stephanie was taking us to the local bar for lunch, knowing we had been travelling from early morning. We had several meals at the house, Derek loves to cook, and it shows. The meals, looking out over the Umbrian landsacpe were excellent.

We hired a car (highly recommended) and travelled around to the cities, Perugia, Assisi and many of the smaller walled towns. We were given expert advice on where the best place were to park and the sights we should not miss, local knowledge is a great help.

When we returned from our travels there was the refreshing pool to have a swim in and refreshments available, then sit and read on the balcony and enjoy the views.

We will go back and enjoy their hospitality again.

Peter Jordan

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterjK24UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We chose La Sarena for our daughter's wedding blessing because it had excellent reviews, a small chapel within walking distance, good food etc. Nothing could have prepared us for the wonderful few days that Steph and Derek prepared for us. From the wonderful welcome, to the extremely comfortable rooms and fabulous food (still talking about the steak!), it surpassed all our expectations. Brother Tom came from Asissi to officiate a perfect service, champagne by the pool and after a fabulous meal - fireworks! We will always be grateful and will never forget our very special time at La Serena. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiergarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena

Address: Vocabolo Capannella 3, 06072 Castiglione della Valle, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione della Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglione della Valle
Price Range: £75 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Serena provides a peaceful luxury "home-away-from-home" - with wonderful food too (our guests tell us so!). All rooms/suites are en-suite with lots of little extras to make your stay very comfortable. Outside we have a very large swimming pool, access to lots of paths and tracks, plus bicycles and other activities. Located centrally, you can explore old towns and villages, lakes, mountains, and both the Mediterranean and Adriatic coasts! Come soon.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Serena Umbria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing