We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lads Holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strass im Zillertal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cafe Zillertal
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lads Holiday”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Myself and a group of friends have just returned from another Ski trip to Mayrhofen in the Zillertal Austria , and our stay at the excellent Hotel Strass . Was again a great experience for all our ski party . The hotel is situated in the heart of the village ,right next to the Penken cable car lift. Which is great comfort in the mornings after a night of Apres Ski and having fun . It's a minute's stroll to the ski lift (Couldn't be any closer) The facilities in the hotel are second to none and the staff are all very helpful too .So if your looking to book a holiday with friends and like to ski hard during the day and enjoy Apres Ski in the evenings ? Then the Strass hotel is for you . Have fun ..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
3
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have just come to the end of our 6 day visit to Hotel Cafe Zillertal in Strass.
The hotel is Family run and is warm , friendly . and comfortable.
The bedrooms are a normal double size and I slept like a log
The food is good and I have no negative comments to make
The free .Wi-Fi is fast.

The location is excellent and I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

One thing is certain, this Hotel is NOT a poor school hostel which one reviewer seems to think

Michael Mc Cullagh

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michae125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is called a hotel- but is actually a poor school hostel!! Food is extremely poor and one nights' evening meal (for families and adults) was turkey dinosaurs and chips and the vegetarian option was a bowl of mixed veg in a cheese sauce with frozen uncooked oven chips!!!! The 24hr vending machine was never refilled!!!! There are NO tea & coffee facilities in the hotel let alone the room!!! Bar prices are astronomical so we were forced to rehydrate on tap water from our bathroom sink most days!! definitely not what you need after a long days skiing!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surreyred69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strass im Zillertal hotels

blackburn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

a coach tour to this hotel for a combined walking/skiing holiday
the hotel was warm and friendly, rooms comfy and very clean
food very good
tips
if you want more pillows ask for them we id and got them
if you need a special diet ask and you will get
some of the the staff have limited english but I have very limited german
altogether a very pleasant experience would stay there again
please note there isn't a swimming pool but there is a very acceptable sauna

Room Tip: all rooms are good and quiet please note there is not a swimming pool but a very acceptable sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiclesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I went with Leger and although I have stayed in lots of hotels recently this was the first not up to the usual standard. The rooms were very pleasant and clean but the food was not very good the puddings being almost inedible and there was not very much of it some of us were quite hungry. The standard of service was very slow too would definitely not go there again. The Christmas dinner was nothing to write home about either. This is the first time I have left a bad review for any hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helaine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I have just returned from this hotel having had a 5 night stay with leger holidays. I loved it! The setting is beautiful. The style is apparently typically austrian(first time to austria) & the furnishings are beautiful to look at.I had a side room so on the large terrace i was able to look to the mountains front & back. For once a single supplement was good value. I was allocated a double room,which was nice instead of a pokey single room, which was huge,large ''austrian'' style bed,good shower/bathroom with constant hot water (no problems with it running out because everyones showering at the same time morning & evening as i've had before in other places). Ok there are not millions of staff running around as it is run by the family so at times you actually didn't see anyone but this was not a problem to me. The hotel resturant is VERY well used by lots of local people which is always a good sign as the food is excellent,plenty of it & always piping hot. There is not a lot to do in Strass,but its a joy to walk arond the village & admire the pretty houses & church.There is a train station & a bus service so you can get to other places quite easily from what i could gather but for me the best bit was being able to walk for miles looking at the amazing scenery and enjoy the peace & quiet,even though it is on a main road i still found it quiet maybe its noisier in peak season,i dont know. All in all i would highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone & hope to return myself one day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sorrentolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Suffolk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

This was the third Christmas for which we have stayed in this hotel, courtesy of Leger Holidays (tour 14XAG). There must be something about it which attracted us so many times!

We had room 423, in the front of the hotel overlooking the main road to Rattenberg and having good views across the fields, the village and up the Ziller Valley. On clear days it was possible to see the narrow gauge train making its way to Mayrhofen. We had requested a front facing room from both Leger and Strass Hotel. Neither let us down. The room was clean and tidy, as we expected from our previous two stays and from typical Austrian friendship. Towels were changed daily.

The hotel is still family run, with Josef overseeing everything and everyone. His sons run the place. Service was good and friendly, food was hot, well cooked, well presented and nourishing. On Christmas Day four members of the Strass Band played for us in the bar. On Boxing Day Josef played in a duo in the celler bar, with dancing included. He is the leader of the Strass Band and a very good wind instrument player.

The relaxing nature of this hotel, the friendly ambience and the helpfulness of the staff make up for its position. There is nothing to do in Strass at this time of year. Whenever we walked past during the day, the only (as far as we found) shop was closed. The railway station is always open and there are frequent trains between Jenbach and Mayrhofen. It is perhaps 10 minutes walk from the hotel. There are other hotels in Strass but none as large, from the outside, as Strass Hotel.

That is perhaps the reason why we stayed there three times. We like the place, its peacefulness and how relaxed we can be.

  • Liked — The pleasant friendly and helpful nature of the staff and its quiet location.
  • Disliked — It may seem a little isolated but there is a good bus service.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepsipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strass im Zillertal
0.3 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Post
Gasthof Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Strass im Zillertal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Kohlerhof
Hotel Kohlerhof
#3 of 11 in Fugen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jenbacherhof
Jenbacherhof
#1 of 1 in Jenbach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ZUM SENNER Zillertal Adults only
15.7 mi away
Gasthof Zillertal
Gasthof Zillertal
#9 of 64 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Appartement Kichelerhof
Appartement Kichelerhof
#2 of 3 in Strass im Zillertal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Zillertal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Zillertal

Property: Hotel Cafe Zillertal
Address: Hof 69, Strass im Zillertal 6261, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Strass im Zillertal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strass im Zillertal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cafe Zillertal 3.5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing