We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunny Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lux(Ngwe Saung)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
24
17
19
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
17
19
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful beachbuffet breakfast was goodsister hotelfamily roombeach sideswimming pool isgarden viewngwe saung beachsearesortchemicalssunsetrelaxationdeluxefoods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Sunny Paradise Resort at Ngwe Saung; it's the fourth time in 3 years. A perfect family getaway for a busy family living in bustling downtown Yangon.
The staffs are friendly, the food is average ( i mean the complimentary breakfast) we cooked some dishes beforehand and then drive straight to the beach 250 km from downtown Yangon. Took average 6 hrs drive. the road is somewhat better than last year's despite the terrible traffic jam at Bayint Naung Bridge due to new traffic overpass construction project.
The view and the waves this season was terrific. We went there this month as soon as the hotels and resorts are opening for the season but coming December will be crowded with SEA Games at Ngwe Saung.
No question for the beach and the Bay of Bengal, the Resort and the staying and the coconut palm trees and coconut juice, apart from local hawkers BBQ seafood, horse rides, bike rides and sand.
On the way back to Yangon, have lunch at Pathein, a city 2 hrs drive from Ngwe Saung at Mya Nandar near Myoma Market. Kha Kha Gyi Myanmar Restaurant also recommended but this time we ate at Mya Nandar for quieter surrounding.
We love Sunny Paradise Resort. hope to visit there again.

Room Tip: for local or foreigner budget travellers > Dream Paradise Resort
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank San Min P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

There were great views overlooking the sandy beach.We had the whole beach to ourselves for the first day, but the drawback was the breakfast was 'meagre', due to the few guests . Yet on the second day, a 'cosmetic local' group arrived and then the breakfast looks much better with many delicious dishes up to par with other hotels in Yangon.
The drawback was the pool was flooded with the young guys from the group, who did not understand that you need to take a shower, not jump straight from the ocean into the pool! The pool attendant was very laid back, not proactive and that spoiled the whole outlook and the pool was full of sand by the time the group finished. Need more better staff training.
internet was sad and slow!
Otherwise it was a good experience.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank y0rkshire_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel is located on a long beach about 5 hours from Yangon. The long bumpy trip is well worthwhile. The hotel is spacious, very clean and the staff friendly. The restaurant, bar and pool all overlook the beach> Only the expensive guest rooms have a beach view. All the other rooms overlook tropical gardens. The beach and hotel are very popular with local families on the weekend.
Food and Drink: Prices were expensive for Myanmar. Buffet breakfast was good.Dinner: Excellent fresh seafood .Using drink list beer, cocktails wine etc.
Hotel Activities: Relaxing by the pool ,swimming in the ocean and walking on the beach .
Activities nearby: Walking 10 -15 minutes to town to shop ( snacks, alcohol or basic items) or sample excellent ( and inexpensive) local cuisine, eating freshly cook seafood at a beach side 'restaurant',or a motor bike tour to the fishing village.
A motor bike with driver can be arranged on the beach. Ask to be taken to the fishing village. It will cost about $10 AUD per person for a 3 hour tour part of which includes riding along the beach.
At the hotel the electricity/hot water is turned off for part of the day and there is very limited WiFi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Through our travel agent GMT - Gracious Myanmar Travel - we managed to book a super value deal in the high season one week prior to arrival. The apartments are brand new and I can highly recommend them.

For 80USD$ pr. night we got a modern equipped but tasteful Asian apartment suite (called Ocean Suite). Two bathrooms, one with shower, around 40m2 of private space and beautiful view and ocean light. The one room apartment is divided with a monster flatscreen that shows about 5-8 European American and Burma satellite tv. Forget about internet in the area. The best options I found was renting a computer in the business center for about 5USD$ for one hour. The neighbour hotel has a faster connection (a la ISDN type speed).

This hotel has non-governmental ties and is owned by Sunny Paradise Resort. We ate breakfast in the resort each day. The resort is pricier and older but in neat condition. I would say inpersonal too. However we liked our apartment suite!

The beach stretch outside our hotel was uncrowded and delightful (note we went in the high season because our first destination choice was fully booked). It about 5 km of prestine fine grain white sand with palm trees along the beach. The water was 24 degrees celcious should I guess and the air 30-36. Fantastic feeling.

We liked speaking to locals and trying out different things every day of our stay in Ngwe Saung. So we have a pretty good idea of what we liked and disliked. I plan to write reviews of the local restaurants and hotelbars also. so search for them if you need my opinion.

Ngwesaung Beach is a 6-7 hours drive from Yangon (depending of the time of day). The cost was 280 USD$ for return trip with a private a/c taxi driver, whom we used in Yangon. We stayed at the East Hotel close to Sule Paya.

Room Tip: Our room were on the top floor. In fact it was room # 2013. The light is better and the view to on this floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Achiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had a staff retreat in the hotel in the section Ocean Paradise, it was good, we were 100 people, the rooms were ok, a bit dark and numb, the extra bed was actually only a matress but it was not a problem for our team. There was no internet but it was not a problem, there is quite a walk from the Ocean paradise to the swimming pool which is in Sunny Paradise but good. The Spa was great "thai massage" recommended! We pre-booked the menu, and the food was amazing. I would recommend it to people who would want to have similar activities as they had enough of the same type of a room to accommodate everyone (so there was no argument of who gets the garden view and who gets the sea view!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonitajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews