We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being Honest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Emerald Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Certificate of Excellence
Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Being Honest”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel doesn't give you as they have said, even rooms. Food is terrible. Employees are both helpful and unhelpful, reception employees are terrible but house keeping staff are very nice. The pool is a bit small and dirty. Bathroom is ok. They don't have balconies or patios like the others do.

Room Tip: For garden views, the upper ones are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexYgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    44
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
75
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Getting to Ngwe Saung without your own vehicle is a real pain. Public transport is on uncomfortable, dilapidated buses and there are no flights. There is a shuttle that can take you there, but the it only runs overnight from Yangon, however it is a day trip on the return. This dissuades many people from what is a most peaceful part of Myanmar.

A welcome drink was provided on check-in and the reception staff were extremely good - very friendly and helpful. Also found that the staff in the restaurant to be of equally high quality. The resort is set in spacious gardens, with several room types, but I would strongly recommend obtaining one of the rooms fronting the beach. If you cannot obtain the only "Special Sea View Bungalow", then request Room 115 of the "Delux Sea View Bungalow" - note that this resort spells Deluxe without the final "e" - it is located on the far left of the property facing the beach and is the most private of this room type. Each building houses two of these Delux(e) bungalows, but we heard no noise from our neighbour. The Special Bungalow occupies a whole building.

This resort does not have many amenities (only a modest pool and massage room) so you need to make your own entertainment, but that suited me fine. Room 115 was wonderful, a large room with wooden floors (which I unfortunately scratched when moving a heavy pot plant), comfortable bed, writing desk, lots of hanging space and the usual items such as a television with DVD player and free movies to watch - but note that these DVDs are non-genuine so the quality can vary. There is also an air-conditioning unit which worked very well. The bungalow also had a tap located directly outside the door so it enabled a person to wash their feet of sand before entering the room.

The bathroom is less spectacular with two showers - one in a separate alcove and one in the bathroom proper. Water pressure and temperature here were not good, which is probably okay for only several days, but after six nights I was longing for a strong, hot shower. Basic toiletries were also provided.

One thing to be aware of which has yet to be mentioned in any review of this resort is that electricity is not continuous. Rooms receive power between 1800-0600, and for two hours in the afternoon (around 1300-1500). However, I did note that the evening power availability was almost always longer (usually 1730-0630). Had there been 24 hour electricity, this resort was more likely to receive an excellent rating from me.

Breakfast is better than average, but there is little variety, so you will be eating almost the same items every morning. Dinner is available either in the restaurant or as in-room dining - service was prompt with both options. All meals were above average, but the price was also more than one would usually pay in the country. Across the road are three restaurants, and one night for a change we had dinner in one of them - and without a doubt this was the worst meal we ate in Myanmar.

The major draw of staying here is its absolute beachfront location - within 15 seconds of leaving the room I could be either in a hammock, sun-bed or on the beach. The beach does not have the finest sand but it is very long without hoards of other people. Despite being there at the peak Christmas-New Year period, the beach was largely deserted. For added fun, one can hire large inner tubes for use in the surf. The tide difference here is quite dramatic, so it may be adjacent to the sunbeds at high tide, but much further away on low tide.

There are other touches at the hotel too, every night incense filled the room with its delightful aroma, we were given a calender of Ngwe Saung as a Christmas gift, and one night we were provided with free dessert. Credit must go to the room service staff, for whoever had the task of putting the mosquito net over the bed every night deserves an award. I have never seen a net so well affixed - not only was it clean, but it was adjusted in such a way as to provide bed occupants with a maximum of space inside.

For the price, this is an extremely good choice in Ngwe Saung, as one would normally pay significantly more for the quality of the rooms and the location. I noticed several people walking along the beach stopping at the resort to ask more details of it from staff, so it must be superior to most other alternatives on Ngwe Saung. If you can handle being without constant electricity, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Pay more for an ocean front room, either the "Special Sea View Bungalow", or "Delux S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great location on the beach front with miles of open beach to walk. We had a deluxe garden villa which was great and the staff were always helpful and efficient. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and could not fault it. My only slight negative is the massage service they offer.. If you are after a massage don't go there..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Novijka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This boutique hotel offers the most deluxe quiet place to refresh the nerves.
Especially the only villa overlooking the beach

Okay you will pay a lot, but this is the best place in town

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Rooms are fabulous and the service was great! The staff were very welcoming. They were very sweet and always very helpful. The only downside would be that there is not much happening around the hotel in the evenings as it's pretty under-developed in Burma but alternatively it's really quiet, peaceful and relaxing which is a plus! Would definitely stay here again. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Emerald Sea.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rob2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
0.8 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#8 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
2.3 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#4 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Sea Resort

Property: The Emerald Sea Resort
Address: #19, Ngwe Saung- Sin Ma Road | Ngwe Saung Beach, Ngwe Saung 11062, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among five acres of palm grove and tropical gardens, in Ngwe Saung Beach of the Union of Myanmar. Our resort blends in with its surrounding as if it had evolved naturally, absorbing the landscape and Myanmar's rich culture. It reflects local tradition through its architecture and use of local materials.Our Resort is facing the Bay of Bangal, making it one of the best places to watch the sunset in Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Emerald Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing