We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Emerald Sea Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
K Resort Ngwe Saung(Ngwe Saung)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lover View Pool Bar & Bungalows(Ngwe Saung)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dream House Guest House & Restaurant(Ngwe Saung)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
79
48
21
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
48
21
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsngwe saung beachfeb to febmosquito netturn down servicesmall poolpool area islovely hotelindoor showercleaned every morninghoneymoon cakeprice qualitysuperior garden roomexcellent staypalm treesthe staff were extremely helpfulgarden viewcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Supposedly a "superior" Room, we were shown to a shabby and tired room at the rear of the resort. The "tropical garden view" room did consist of 2 palm trees flanked by a pile of bricks and a stagnant pool. A tacky karaoke bar entertained us until10pm.
The beachfront bungalows looked Ok but there were insufficient sun beds on the beach and the pool area was paved with rough brickwork interspersed with weeds. The electricity was off from 6am until 1pm and from 3pm to 6pm. It was actually quite depressing.
The one positive were the staff, as always in Burma, they cannot do enough to help you. But this hotel looked and sounded quite idyllic on the website, it didn't live up to this in reality but if like us, you are wondering whether to pay a little more you may get a lot more as we did when we moved to the Palm Beach Resort 2 doors up

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows may be passable, hotel still quite basic compared to others
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley Caroline... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I have stayed at dozens of beach resorts across the border in Thailand and while most of them provide friendly service, the tourist infrastructure is so well developed that you get the impression that the friendly service is simply part of a well-oiled, assembly-line system. Staff may smile but behind that smile they are undoubtedly tourist weary and would probably rather be doing something else than serving you.

Enter The Emerald Sea Resort at Ngwesaung Beach. Quite frankly, the service here blew me away. Here you get the impression that the staff really cares about you and truly wants you to have a good time.They are all quite young and would probably be studying in university in different circumstances. For many of them, you get the impression that this is their first real job and that they are genuinely happy to have such work. Like all of us who have had first jobs, they approach it with the requisite enthusiasm and gusto that you would expect. Rooms are cleaned and prepared TWICE per day. In the morning, they not only greet you but actually ask how you are doing. In the evening, they deliver free homemade Burmese desserts to your room. Throughout the day, everybody waves to you, greets you and smiles no matter how far away from you they are. If you need a bus ticket, somebody will bike the 2km. into town and buy it for you at no extra charge. Restaurant staff are always attentive and will actually unfold the napkin and place it on your lap before you start eating. If you have an early bus to catch, they will prepare, without asking, a breakfast box for you to take with you and most of the staff will wake up and come out in their pajamas to bid you adieu.

Besides the top-notch service, the rest of the resort also exceeded expecations. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Water was piping hot during the electricity hours (6pm to 7am and noon-4pm). The landscaping was beautiful with all of the palm trees. The pool was clean and there is no shortage of comfortable beach chairs. Wifi was slow but functional. There were plenty of Burmese and Western choices for breakfast and the food at the restaurant was amazing (make sure you try the Myanmar Prawn curry, seafood vermicelli soup and vegetable tempura). Yes, its true (as a previous reviewer stated) that the food takes a long time to come out (>30 minutes after ordering) but that is only because its all being prepared fresh just like it would take over 30 minutes for you to prepare a nice meal at home. So sit back, relax and enjoy a long dinner at the end of each day.

To reach the resort from Yangon, make sure you take the early direct bus. Yes it leaves at 630am from a bus station located way on the outskirts of the city (meaning you'd probably have to leave your hotel in Yangon no later than 530). If you don't take this bus, you'd have to take a bus to Pathein (4 hrs, they leave throughout the day) which will drop you off in the outskirts of Pathein, from where you'd have to then take a motorbike taxi to the bus station for Ngwesaung-bound bus (15 min). The Ngwesaung bound bus is a rickety old, 1970s-era minibus that also doubles as a freight transporter for the rural economy. It only has room for about 10 seats and your luggage will have to travel on the roof along with construction materials, boxes of food and anything and everything else you can imagine. The bus cabin itself gets filled with bags of rice and many passengers end up sitting on top of the rice. The whole ride takes 3 hours (making to the total Yangon>Ngwesaung journey take at least 8 hours) and is an interesting way to see the Burmese countryside. Its a neat experience no doubt, but if you are not up for the adventure or are traveling with kids, make sure you grab the air conditioned direct bus in the early morning.

All in all, I would gladly visit Ngwesaung again and stay at the Emerald Sea Resort

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

What we experienced during our stay in Myanmar is that most of the accommodation we stayed in where, in our opinion, overpriced for what was offered. That also applies to the Emerald Sea Resort. We paid $65 for a superior room which we personally found a bit overpriced. Around $15 less and it would have been a fair price for the room. The room itself had a very good size as had the balcony and the bath. There was enough space in cupboards etc. to put our clothes. The resort itself is very nice and the beach is just a really short walk from the superior rooms. The beach itself is very nice and great for relaxing. The breakfast was good and food in the restaurant (we had lunch there twice) as well. Outside of the Resort you will find a few restaurants in walking distance. It is easy to walk to the village, the other option is to take a motorbike taxi or trishaw. Staff was always friendly and helpful if we had some questions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Unfortunately I spent tree night in the Emerald , decadent!!! the actually conditions of the Hotel doesn't justufy the high price of the rooms . Has not been check the condition of the bungalow before so air conditioned , shower and sat television system did not work . Only after long and strong insistence the day after the manager decide to move to another bungalow (this time in condition) . The last night I move to a normal room and I find the extra bed like a camp bed (after request they put one in condition ) and the A/C ,mine and from the beside room, noisy as tractors.
The variety of the breakfast buffet was very limited , eggs , noodles , fied rice , soup , margarina and "jam" the same during all the 3 days. The staff unable to react promptly to a custumer requests .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mauyangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We just come back from Ngwe Saung Beach, and when we asked at Emerald for the prices of the bungalow, we were told 100-110 US-Dollar, even during rainy season.

The food was not too bad, we enjoyed the Burmese wine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank green_Tibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews