We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very pleasant place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Emerald Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very very pleasant place!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

feels like living in the garden of eden. this hotel has it all i've been missing for so long. beautiful sea, silk sand beach, best breakfast i had in Myanmar on this trip. very helpful stuff. just 15 min. cycling to the village. bicycle rent, cheaper restaurant and souvenir shop right over the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latrell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    44
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
75
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Nice place to really chill after weeks on the road. Location is perfect with pristine breach and not so much to do beyond finishing your piles of books, walking to the island at low tide and watch life on the beach at dusk. Swimming pool wasn t the best. If you are expecting big chain resort service go somewhere else for everybody s sake. This is about taking time. Food is good, breakfast average but they will cook something else on demand with no extra charge. Above all service is charming.
Tip: 5h private taxi ride one way to Yagoon is 160 dollars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Supposedly a "superior" Room, we were shown to a shabby and tired room at the rear of the resort. The "tropical garden view" room did consist of 2 palm trees flanked by a pile of bricks and a stagnant pool. A tacky karaoke bar entertained us until10pm.
The beachfront bungalows looked Ok but there were insufficient sun beds on the beach and the pool area was paved with rough brickwork interspersed with weeds. The electricity was off from 6am until 1pm and from 3pm to 6pm. It was actually quite depressing.
The one positive were the staff, as always in Burma, they cannot do enough to help you. But this hotel looked and sounded quite idyllic on the website, it didn't live up to this in reality but if like us, you are wondering whether to pay a little more you may get a lot more as we did when we moved to the Palm Beach Resort 2 doors up

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows may be passable, hotel still quite basic compared to others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Caroline... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I have stayed at dozens of beach resorts across the border in Thailand and while most of them provide friendly service, the tourist infrastructure is so well developed that you get the impression that the friendly service is simply part of a well-oiled, assembly-line system. Staff may smile but behind that smile they are undoubtedly tourist weary and would probably rather be doing something else than serving you.

Enter The Emerald Sea Resort at Ngwesaung Beach. Quite frankly, the service here blew me away. Here you get the impression that the staff really cares about you and truly wants you to have a good time.They are all quite young and would probably be studying in university in different circumstances. For many of them, you get the impression that this is their first real job and that they are genuinely happy to have such work. Like all of us who have had first jobs, they approach it with the requisite enthusiasm and gusto that you would expect. Rooms are cleaned and prepared TWICE per day. In the morning, they not only greet you but actually ask how you are doing. In the evening, they deliver free homemade Burmese desserts to your room. Throughout the day, everybody waves to you, greets you and smiles no matter how far away from you they are. If you need a bus ticket, somebody will bike the 2km. into town and buy it for you at no extra charge. Restaurant staff are always attentive and will actually unfold the napkin and place it on your lap before you start eating. If you have an early bus to catch, they will prepare, without asking, a breakfast box for you to take with you and most of the staff will wake up and come out in their pajamas to bid you adieu.

Besides the top-notch service, the rest of the resort also exceeded expecations. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Water was piping hot during the electricity hours (6pm to 7am and noon-4pm). The landscaping was beautiful with all of the palm trees. The pool was clean and there is no shortage of comfortable beach chairs. Wifi was slow but functional. There were plenty of Burmese and Western choices for breakfast and the food at the restaurant was amazing (make sure you try the Myanmar Prawn curry, seafood vermicelli soup and vegetable tempura). Yes, its true (as a previous reviewer stated) that the food takes a long time to come out (>30 minutes after ordering) but that is only because its all being prepared fresh just like it would take over 30 minutes for you to prepare a nice meal at home. So sit back, relax and enjoy a long dinner at the end of each day.

To reach the resort from Yangon, make sure you take the early direct bus. Yes it leaves at 630am from a bus station located way on the outskirts of the city (meaning you'd probably have to leave your hotel in Yangon no later than 530). If you don't take this bus, you'd have to take a bus to Pathein (4 hrs, they leave throughout the day) which will drop you off in the outskirts of Pathein, from where you'd have to then take a motorbike taxi to the bus station for Ngwesaung-bound bus (15 min). The Ngwesaung bound bus is a rickety old, 1970s-era minibus that also doubles as a freight transporter for the rural economy. It only has room for about 10 seats and your luggage will have to travel on the roof along with construction materials, boxes of food and anything and everything else you can imagine. The bus cabin itself gets filled with bags of rice and many passengers end up sitting on top of the rice. The whole ride takes 3 hours (making to the total Yangon>Ngwesaung journey take at least 8 hours) and is an interesting way to see the Burmese countryside. Its a neat experience no doubt, but if you are not up for the adventure or are traveling with kids, make sure you grab the air conditioned direct bus in the early morning.

All in all, I would gladly visit Ngwesaung again and stay at the Emerald Sea Resort

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

What we experienced during our stay in Myanmar is that most of the accommodation we stayed in where, in our opinion, overpriced for what was offered. That also applies to the Emerald Sea Resort. We paid $65 for a superior room which we personally found a bit overpriced. Around $15 less and it would have been a fair price for the room. The room itself had a very good size as had the balcony and the bath. There was enough space in cupboards etc. to put our clothes. The resort itself is very nice and the beach is just a really short walk from the superior rooms. The beach itself is very nice and great for relaxing. The breakfast was good and food in the restaurant (we had lunch there twice) as well. Outside of the Resort you will find a few restaurants in walking distance. It is easy to walk to the village, the other option is to take a motorbike taxi or trishaw. Staff was always friendly and helpful if we had some questions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Unfortunately I spent tree night in the Emerald , decadent!!! the actually conditions of the Hotel doesn't justufy the high price of the rooms . Has not been check the condition of the bungalow before so air conditioned , shower and sat television system did not work . Only after long and strong insistence the day after the manager decide to move to another bungalow (this time in condition) . The last night I move to a normal room and I find the extra bed like a camp bed (after request they put one in condition ) and the A/C ,mine and from the beside room, noisy as tractors.
The variety of the breakfast buffet was very limited , eggs , noodles , fied rice , soup , margarina and "jam" the same during all the 3 days. The staff unable to react promptly to a custumer requests .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mauyangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We just come back from Ngwe Saung Beach, and when we asked at Emerald for the prices of the bungalow, we were told 100-110 US-Dollar, even during rainy season.

The food was not too bad, we enjoyed the Burmese wine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_Tibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
0.8 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#7 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
2.3 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#4 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Sea Resort

Property: The Emerald Sea Resort
Address: #19, Ngwe Saung- Sin Ma Road | Ngwe Saung Beach, Ngwe Saung 11062, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among five acres of palm grove and tropical gardens, in Ngwe Saung Beach of the Union of Myanmar. Our resort blends in with its surrounding as if it had evolved naturally, absorbing the landscape and Myanmar's rich culture. It reflects local tradition through its architecture and use of local materials.Our Resort is facing the Bay of Bangal, making it one of the best places to watch the sunset in Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Emerald Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing