We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Emerald Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Overall one of the better hotels in terms of appearance and service. The rooms are spacious and spotless each with it's own private balcony, the garden, pool and beach area is well taken care of and the staff is very helpfull and friendly.
The breakfast is average, you'd expect more for 100$/night although the restaurant offers delicious dinners.
Another down-side was the WiFi, since just person a time could be logged in per room. Furthermore for 100$ I'd expect a safe deposit box in the room.
It was explained to us on arrival that the emerald is an eco resort which means there is no electricity between 9-12 and 3-7pm however in winter it gets dark at 6pm. This seems to be a general rule. Hotels seem to be powered by generators.
This hotel provided a map where as others dont, this was helpful as we rented a motorbike for 10,000 kyats per day opposite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed here in January 2014, in the deluxe room (Special Sea View). The hotel is in a beautiful location and the room was spacious, well furnished and everything was in good order. As with all hotels in Myanmar at the moment, it was overpriced for the region for what it was, but as a stand-alone bungalow of that quality in a hotel of that quality it is probably unique in Ngwe Saung, and certainly amongst the best there. The other Deluxe rooms were attached to a neighbouring one but in the same beachside location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter_Pan875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in a superior garden view room for 4 nights. The room was very clean and functional. Breakfast was pretty nice and the menu very varied with good food at decent prices.

The staff were extremely helpful and just could not do enough for you. They went over and beyond the call of duty, helping us print boarding passes, calling to confirm our bus transfer etc.

The location is fabulous, well worth the 5-7hr travel journey - even at high season it felt secluded and not overly commercialised.

Room Tip: The bungalows by the beach looked lovely - worth booking if you can afford. But the rooms in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeBearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ngwe saung beach is beautiful and unspoiled . The resort offers an abundance of friendly
And helpful staff. The food is good, and the common dining areas I pleasant.

The bungalow rooms are spacious, clean, well appointed, and offer a great view and sound of the sea. While the Mosquitos did not seem numerous or bother me, I loved sleeping in my canopied net over my comfortable bed. The grounds are peaceful and well cared for and add to the tranquility of the resort.

I enjoyed the best massage near the beach with the sea breeze, an occasional squall falling on the open air thatch roofed hut and the sound of song birds. My masseuse was very young, beautiful, and very skilled. The combination was as good as it gets. Heavenly.

Personally, I would avoid the multi room buildings.

Room Tip: Rent a separate bungalow with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I booked this hotel on line with agodo and paid ahead.
The online photos looked great, this is not what its like at all, it is not worth the money,dirty, run down, the pool is green slime, the breakfast a joke.
The guests at the hotel all seemed upset with the hotel.
Spoke to the assistant manager, he was very nice and did his best........
My advice is to look arround there are one or two hotels arround that are well worth staying at but this is NOT one of them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Hurry there to feel like Robinson on the "endless" beach, meet friendly staff in the hotel, experience beautiful surrundings in - until now - a very genuin area of Burma.
The rather long busride from Yangon is worth it.
Emerald is working hard to give you best value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I booked ourselves in for 3 nights and left after 2 nights, despite having paid up-front and having no chance of a refund. It was really that bad.

The electricity is off from 6am to 6pm, with only a 2 hour respite at lunch. (Other hotels in Ngwe Saung keep it on for much longer.) This means waking up in a puddle of sweat every morning by 7am. The breakfast was utterly inedible. The room was tatty. There was no way to close the window properly, which meant listening to the rattle of the old aircon all night. There was no hot water, despite it being advertised. And the pool was brown - it looked as though it was flooded with sewerage.

The positives. There were nice loungers on the beach. The staff seemed friendly. The bungalows looked a little better than what we had (a "superior" room, in some horrid block back near the road - the "garden view" was over a small stagnant pond, a building site, and a truly enormous satellite dish.)

Don't stay here. Spend a little more and find somewhere nicer - there are loads of places along the beach. Oh, and don't be idiots like us and "pay up front"!

Room Tip: Don't book "superior garden view" room. Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheltenhamaverage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
0.8 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
178 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#9 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise
Ocean Paradise
#12 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
11 reviews
1.0 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
2.3 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#4 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Sea Resort

Address: #19, Ngwe Saung- Sin Ma Road | Ngwe Saung Beach, Ngwe Saung 11062, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among five acres of palm grove and tropical gardens, in Ngwe Saung Beach of the Union of Myanmar. Our resort blends in with its surrounding as if it had evolved naturally, absorbing the landscape and Myanmar's rich culture. It reflects local tradition through its architecture and use of local materials.Our Resort is facing the Bay of Bangal, making it one of the best places to watch the sunset in Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Emerald Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing