We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat infested.. no joke!”
Review of Shwe Hin Tha Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngwe Saung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shwe Hin Tha Hotel
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rat infested.. no joke!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

So we set out to enjoy a lovely time at the beach, and did so the first day we arrived, until we got back to our little hut where a pretty damn big rat was waiting for us....

Video is hard to see, but here it is anyway: http://youtu.be/1YuMJwviZPI

So I went to the front desk, tried to change huts, they said there was no more room and brought 2 traps. We tried to sleep with great difficulty, and I kept seeing the rat peaking from the ceiling (check the picture). At night you will hear them munch on the bamboo. But wait, it gets better..

So the next morning we wake up to see that the traps were still set but the cheese (or fish or whatever it was) was gone, of course.. these are experienced rats. We weren't the only ones with rats, this other guy who has been coming to this same hotel for over 9 years tells me in a totally casual way: "Oh yeah, I have rats in my hut too, they all do and always have!! (speaking about the bamboo huts) It's because they like to eat the bamboo you see." Unbelievable, really.. That night, when we got back, I saw another rat, it was half the size, which made me wonder how many rats our hut was actually nesting.. Luckily for us it was our last night in this hotel!

Thought I'd also mention that the restaurant isn't really worth it, more expensive obviously then the local restaurants, and the food isn't great. They don't seem to mind stray dogs coming to bug their customers. Oh and if you order any kind of juice (watermelon, pineapple, orange), ask them to strain the pips/pith before serving it to you, not too sure why they can never get that right.

On the plus side, the view is fantastic, like all the hotels there because there is still so much space and all the hotels are literally built on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvain411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    42
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
46
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked to stay here for a few days after an organised small group tour of Myanmar and before setting off for similar tours in India. Although it initially proved quite difficult to arrange both the hotel and the transport we finally found an agency in Yangon, Baton Tours, who actually responded promptly to our emails and who made all the arrangements for us.
We stayed in the cheaper wooden huts and had a wonderful view to the nearby beach. The huts, whilst basic, met all of our needs and the hotel restaurant served a reasonable included breakfast and a good range of meals for lunch or dinner. The attached bathroom was basic but met our needs although we did miss hot water in the shower (this is available in the more expensive brick bungalows). The staff were all nice and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.
The beach is wonderful, the sea warm and the area remains, for the moment at least, largely unspoilt and uncrowded. They are building some more upmarket resort hotels and the character of the area will no doubt change quite quickly as long as tourists continue to be encouraged in Myanmar. If you like the idea of visiting this area before it changes too much don't leave it too long!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myanmar is not the most tourist friendly country in the world. The government keeps a tight rein on the comings and goings of all travelers.
For those adventurous travelers that are willing to go off the beaten tourist track and put up with the governments seeming paranoid scrutiny, Myanmar is a great place to go. Beside all the elaborate 1000 year old temples/pagodas in the Bagan region the fairly undiscovered beach communities on the Bay of Bengal on the west coast are a find for the inquisitive traveler.
Ngwe Saung is a quiet village nestled on the expansive sandy shores of the bay. There are around 20 hotel and guesthouses spread out over a 5 kilometer area. It’s a relaxing, very serene place to stay.
I spent two nights at Shwe Hin Tha Hotel. The bungalows are OK, somewhat worn out and in need of more minor upkeep and repairs. As is the rule in Ngwe Saung there is no electricity service during the daytime; only from 6PM to 6AM so the fans don’t function midday. Can get hot.
The reason to visit the bay is the beaches; kilometer after kilometer of virtually unpopulated wide sandy beaches. I recommend renting a motorcycle and tour the surrounding area via the beach route. An exhilarating experience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel-Benken, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

They didn't have a free room left, so the staff gave us their room... Was very friendly and the room was nice, thanks a lot!!!! Fair price and clean, thumbs up, it's not usual in Myanmar!!! We would defenitly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycustomers0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Shwe Hin Tha is our "regular" place in Ngwe Saung. With prices as low as 25$ (for a fan bamboo bugalow), you can wake up to a direct view of the (usually) empty beach, seen through the green lawn and coconut trees. The bungalows are basic - you can go a bit nicer to get an airconditioned concrete bungalow (50$).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was a great way for us to end our long three week journey through Myanmar. So far in my journeys this is hands down my favorite beach of all time. Fine sand, high sandbar (you could walk for meters and the water would still be below your waist), and very little people. I encountered one or two ladies selling food, otherwise no locals touting souvenirs.

This is not a luxurious place, it's VERY basic. For the entire resort there is no electricity from 6am to 6pm. We stayed in the standard bamboo beach bungalow. There's a porch with a bench and ours faced the beach directly. The bungalow had a fan and double bed with a mosquito net. No screens on the window. Our cost was $25 USD a night. They have other room options available that are more traditional rooms with hot water, TV, and air conditioning but we absolutely loved our bungalow. In the end of October, we really didn't need air conditioning since we got a good sea breeze. We figured we could stay in a place with a TV and real walls (vs bamboo) anywhere else.

Our bathroom was very basic. They provide two sets of towels. The bathroom appeared to be an afterthought to the bungalow. It's a concrete room built up against the backside of the bungalow. Ours didn't even come up against the back of the bungalow, so there was about an inch crack between the wall. We would get a few mosquitos in the bathroom and ants along the window.

It's a water closet where there is no separate shower area, so everything will be wet. The bungalow does not include hot water, but the showers were never too cold and quite refreshing after a long day in the hot sun. Our floor never fully dried in the five days we were there. They do provide shower flip flops but we used our own as their seemed a little worn and icky.

At night they will spray the room with bug spray and provide mosquito coils to help curb the mosquitos at night.

The restaurant on site is very good and we ate there for the majority of our meals. Breakfast was included in the room price. They offered eggs your way, pancakes (like thick crepes), and fried rice/noodles. Bonus: They will serve mohinga for breakfast, it's not on the breakfast menu, but you can request it. However, you need to tell the staff the day before, so they have time to prepare the dish the next morning. We highly recommend the mohinga.

The restaurant is reasonable priced, convenient, and delicious with a friendly staff. We didn't mind it eating there all the time. We loved their salads, try the tomato, avocado, and squid salad. They do tend to use a lot of oil in their cooking (like most of Myanmar), so any of their fried rice or noodle dishes with be a little on the oiler side. It's not super gourmet cooking, but if you want that and a cushy room, then stay at a resort.

Overall, the bungalow is a fantastic value if your expectations are set accordingly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie and Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

reasonably priced spacious rooms right at the beach front, with very polite and helpful staff and really nice part of the beach.

Unlike some of the other places along the beach, this place keeps their grounds maintained to a reasonably good standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
1.9 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.1 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Soe KoKo Beach House & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#4 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shwe Hin Tha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shwe Hin Tha Hotel

Property: Shwe Hin Tha Hotel
Address: Ngwe Saung, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ngwe Saung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing