We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort at lonely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

nice resort, very quite location, huge long amazing beach! nice design ! staff very friendly. they do cocktails of the day - always delicious and best choice.. "normal standard cocktails" not really recommended ;) resort is quite expensive.. but very good service & quite good food.. you can also eat in local restaurants or there are some other resorts..

only bad point: it's not possible to pay with credit card at the hotel.. so make sure you take enough cash with you ! No ATM, credit card possibilities at whole Ngwe Saung!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maeva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Great stay at treasure resort. Staff are amazing. We loved our beach bungalow. So laid back and quiet. Great local restaurants nearby ran by lovely families. Wonderful atmosphere.
Only downside- we were a bit annoyed by those who use the hotel as a short cut to the beach/village, and who try to abuse the free wifi access when they are not even guests or customers of the hotel restaurant/bar. That became quite irritating, especially when they were rude to the staff!?!?!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loserville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights after our Myanmar trip. I'll keep this short:

- very nice resort right by the beach and next to the village
- good restaurant with lots of choices
- very good breakfast buffet
- spacious bungalow but seemed a bit dated and not worth $185 per night
- plumbing and hot water issues
- not much more to do there than hang by the beach so 5 nights were a bit too long for us
- staff is incredibly friendly, especially the waiters who speak excellent English (in contrast to the receptionists)

The resort is owned by Tay Za (cf. Lonely Planet 2011 edition p. 26) one of the richest people in Myanmar who is closely linked to the Military. Him and his family are sanctioned by the EU, USA, Canada, Australia and Switzerland. We didn't know this in advance so couldn't change our booking. So if possible, try to book hotels/resorts which won't enrich the Military.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stitch_756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We were diverted to this excellent resort from Ngapali because of the ethnic troubles in Rakhine. The only downside is there is no air link to Ngwe Saung so a 6½ hour coach trip was required each way across the Irrawaddy delta (interesting in itself). This makes the resort very isolated. Ngwe Saung village is a short walk away offering restaurants and tourist shops on a small scale which reflect the laid back nature of the place.

However when you arrive you realise the journey was worthwhile. The remoteness is much of the appeal, the beautiful beach being local, quiet and unspoiled. It has only very recently been open to foreign tourists. Beware the mopeds however as the beach is used as a highway by the locals.

The resort is a fairly typical beachside affair, centred around a really nice and well maintained pool and a bridge crossing a canal to the sand. The waterway serves to separate the property from the beach which is a plus. The accommodation is a mixture of beach facing thatched bungalows and two floored buildings set further back, each with it's own verandah/balcony. There is an open plan reception area benefiting from the sea breezes and an open, poolside restaurant serving a limited, but adequate, menu and drinks list. The staff are attentive and helpful, but keep your requests simple as the their English is currently pretty basic though I'm sure will improve with time.

In conclusion we found our stay at Treasure Resort thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing. Sitting on the verandah in the evening with a beer listening to the night sounds and watching the waves break on the shore was a memorable and wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmfromHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

It was over 5 hours away by car from Yangon. On arrival, we were immediately impressed by the decor and the nice location of the hotel next to the beach. The staff were always attentive, helpful and did their best to ensure our stay was a pleasant experience. Room sizes were good and ours was equipped with twin beds and mosquito net. The separate shower and toilet was convenient. The general decor of the rooms was mainly of timber and other natural material giving it a traditional and contemporary feel. They provide good choice of breakfast and we also enjoyed dinner at the hotel although vegetarian options were limited and one of our party found himself eating the same thing everyday.
The beach was absolutely clean and lovely. The size of the pool was also good for fun and frolicking although it was a bit cool in December compared with the ocean.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows are probably the best to stay in as you can hear the ocean when you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nwe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Glad I have found this resort - which lives up to its name.
I am quite surprised that not a lot write about MTR. It should be greatly commended.
Location itself was perfect with regards to privacy and small adventures.
Morning jog on its strip was second to none.
The people - like everyone in Burma - one of the friendliest people in Asia.
I can easily myself coming over and over again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinMorten1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you are capable to enjoy life you will search for and find your small paradise- everywhere. Here, this is extremely easy. This is, no doubt, one of God's best mood creations on Earth (dot). Being here can only benefit your body and mind and polite Burmese will be Cherry on the top. This place can not alienate no one, not even if you include that road (!) Being here will cost you seveal hundreds of whatever a day but it's worth every single cent be in Hotel or out in the village, whatever. Resort is great as a whole, our bungalow was amazing, beach is just endless, people are so warm, hospitable and full of readiness., this place is true Paradise. It was very difficult task to pack our things after a week at this place. We must come back .

Room Tip: By the sea!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelbert_achen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
0.1 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
0 mi away
Ocean Paradise
Ocean Paradise
#12 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#9 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
42 reviews
1 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#5 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung

Address: | Pathein Township, Ngwe Saung 111888, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range: £69 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing