We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay of Bengal Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

It's kind of hard to describe this resort. The rooms are big with way too much brown painted wood and hard stone surfaces for my liking. The pool is excellent and the landscaping and interior design of common areas is good. It's at the northern end of the beach, which is a bit of a hangout for the locals (in a good way - you'll see locals riding motorbikes along the beach, and having rides on oxcarts) so it is lively for the sleepy village of Ngwe Saung.

The room is serviced twice daily. The deck is huge but the view from the 'sea view' room is only what you can see between other buildings (presumably if you want complete sea view then you'd need to order a beach front room). The two restaurants are good.

Overall, a nice place that needs less dark colour in the interior and more soft furnishings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for a few days just after Christmas 2011. It was our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff got wind of our anniversary and decorated our room with hearts and flower petals, gave us a delicious cake. A lovely surprise. Great hotel with brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Firstly let me say I have not stayed here ,but in the interest of inspecting(old employment being hard to stop)I had an intensive tour or this delightful hotel.Yes it is pricey ,but if you only have 2 weeks holiday or on honeymoon this does'nt disappoint. The rooms are well designed, the sea view ones great but the garden rooms equally stylish. Zaw Min the front of office manager was delightful, helpful and enthusiastic. Gardens well tended ,staff on hand to serve you with all your requests.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are blissful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inspector_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

we stayed here after travelling around Myamar.We had a five hour drive from yangon but worth it.The rooms were large and clean with a great balcony. The breakfast was very good buffet style ,we ate in the resaurant every evening and never had a bad meal the staff are very attentive [sometimes too much} The pool was a good size and the beach was clean and very quiet the sea was so warm.We had cocktails at the fishermans bar which were very good.We hired bikes from the hotel to cycle into the village for souvenirs and all the locals were very friendly.This is the place to come and chill out read a book and drink cocktails while watching the sunset very quiet and relaxing.Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff amazing service

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leeds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

the resort is beautiful and clean. sun-roofted shower and bathtub - amazingly awesome. toiletries are spa quality - very generous.. staffs super friendly, its safe to travel alone becoz these people are really looking after you e.g their life guards really look after the guests.. if there's too many guests at the beach, they will ensure that there will be adequate life guards around, your safety is their priority.

the only thing slacking is that there is not much activities. you can rent bike and tour the area tho.. and the air-con will be shut down from 9 am to 12pm.. and 4-6pm.. but really hot and you have to go out of the room but with no activity?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Playnobabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

My husband and I went there with some of our friends. Great service, friendly and professional staffs. Great time was had by all of us. We will be back for sure.
BOB is the best!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldtravelerKKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I had a hard time planning my trip there and after much research, settled down at BOB resort. It's luxurious rooms and modern layout had attracted me the instant i compared it with other hotels over there. I booked 2 nights in a Royal Bengal Villa. Their excellent service isn't like any other hotel with 2 incidents for me to mention.
Firstly, i was planning to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday on a particular night. I wanted it to be a surprise and approached their Front desk Manager, Mr Zaw Min Oo to discuss the matter. I requested for a birthday cake, for them to decorate our room and arrange for dinner by the beach. Yet he actually offered to have a group of his staff to surprise us when we went back to our room with people to sing a birthday song for him on a guitar and some musical instruments and decorate it at no cost at all. Of course it was all very satisfactory. Everything was in order and i definitely had the most romantic touching night i had.
The other thing, i had left a ring absent mindedly in our room. They rang us up back at our Travel Agency in Yangon at Bravo Travels to inform us of it. We were leaving that day itself and couldnt get it back in time. I asked for a solution and their manager, informed me that they do send their staff over to singapore regularly and true enough. I got it within 3 weeks.
Bay of Bengal Resort really enabled me to have the best hotel experience so far and is definitely the one you must stay when you visit Ngwe Saung. Did not enjoy the diving though.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahfreakinlaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
1.5 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
182 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#8 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise
Ocean Paradise
#12 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
12 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Bengal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Bengal Resort

Address: No 1 Qtr | Zee Maw village Track, Pathein, Ngwe Saung 11062, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ngwe Saung
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ngwe Saung
#4 Spa Hotel in Ngwe Saung
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ngwe Saung
Price Range: £88 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay of Bengal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on long silver beach, crystal clear water, designer pool, two restaurants and bars, spa, tennis, clinic, shop, 5-star resort facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bay of Bengal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Bengal Hotel Ngwe Saung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing