We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to while away a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay of Bengal Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had been warned about the long and bumpy road journey from Yangon to get to this beach resort but the road was not to bd at all and the journey took 5 hrs including a stop. This may seem a long time but you get a good overview of life in the delta region.
The hotel is a little out ot 'town', taking about 20 minutes to walk or 5 minutes on a bicycle rickshaw. The accommodation is good but we had a couple of niggles. Firstly the dining room is lovely, open to sea breezes and with a spectacular sea view but the food in the buffet was never hot. secondly there is very limited shade in the heat of the day. The loungers on the beach and pool side are not easily moved and the umbrellas are fixed so the only recourse is to retreat to your room.
Options for eating out in the town are good, we had some spectacular seafood and the lunches at the hotels fisherman's bar are good too. (best chips I've had in years). there are limited options for trips out but most folk come here to chill out having done their sightseeing.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs sea view room if you can't afford the seafront bungalows.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasidevally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Bay of Bengal Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

You can step onto the lovely Ngwe Saung beach easily from this hotel. It 's set at the very northern end of the beach and is about 2km from the village of Ngwe Saung. It really is a hotel for beach lovers and pool loungers, as the village is only accessed via a very bumpy road and with motorbike taxis or trishaws. The trishaw driver I used was a great bloke and his bike has a plastic bunch of lily of the valley type flowers to distinguish him . His name is Gaung Ne. There are two buses a day to Yangon and the bus journey is a wonderful way of seeing the delta region around Yangon. The rooms in the hotel are excellent, with great showers, comfortable beds and large balconies. The pool needs some tender loving care to reach its full potential as the water looked pretty murky for most of my five night stay, there was the odd missing tile, and the jacuzzi seemed to be permanently closed and in need of lots of retiling. The breakfasts and food in the restaurant were OK but not brilliant. There's a beach shack worth visiting about 10 minutes down the coast. Sunsets are to die for and the location is a great getaway location now used by rich young Yangonites as well as foreign tourists.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank MargaretJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

There is very little to say that hasn't already been said about this incredible beach resort. By western standards, it's really a 4 star hotel, not the advertised 5. We spent 5 nights here at the end of our jaunts. This was our second time in Myanmar so we decided to try this beach and resort. We had done Ngapali. Our beach villa was more like a house right ON the beach ( room 109). It is worth the upgrade to be in the villa. My husband who doesn't like sand was able to view the ocean from the veranda in one of several lounge chairs in the shade. Or, take a nap on the outdoor bed. So, he was a happy person. When you open the drapes in the bedroom, all you see is sand and ocean! Heaven on earth!! As in all of Myanmar, the staff were delightful and incredibly helpful. There are a few cleaning/maintenance issues that the hotel should address to lift its image even further ( inside of refrigerator falls apart upon opening, the floor to ceiling windows should be cleaned every time a new client occupies the room, the faucets aren't secured, pool was cloudy etc. But, this does not detract from the overall delight of being here. This is, after all, Myanmar. The only statement that I would like to make, not against the hotel, but rather to inform people who are going to stay in this entire area of Ngwe Saung: the exchange rate stinks. It is poor at all the hotels/shops and restaurants. Guess the gov't didn't see fit to make the exchange rates even across Myanmar. Just be advised to change money before you leave Yangon. And don't forget to factor in meals, and massages ;)
We did venture into town one night and had a good meal. But, truth be told, the hotel prices for food were very reasonable considering that you are a captive audience. So, we dined in the restaurant. Breakfast was more than ample so the hotel might have cleaned up their "breakfast act" after some of the reviewers posted about it. We found the restaurant better than Fisherman's Bar. The spa was clean, and the ladies were delightful. A special hello to Tin Tin Ma, my happy masseuse.
If you can handle the 5 -5 1/2 hour ride from Yangon, then do it - it was worth the trip!

Room Tip: Get the beach front villa!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

After literally bouncing around Myanmar for 2 weeks we sent 5 nights at this great resort. What a way to recover. The room that we had prepaid for was great but I had my eye on the bungalows on the beach. It was another $40 a night but well worth the extra. Our bungalow was like a suite with a TV room and a large bedroom. The bathroom was actually two rooms with the shower and bath in another room which was partially open to the sky. The bath was huge but the water required to fill it would have bathed 20 locals so we stayed with the great rain shower. We had a large veranda overlooking the sea. Great sunsets.
The restaurant was perhaps the only weak spot. Great service but the food was not memorable. Perhaps we were getting tired of Burmese food. We loved the staff.
The ocean was very warm even though it was their winter 81f. Very sandy and safe. we enjoyed watching the local fishermen in the morning.
An issue that bothered us a bit was that across the street from the hotel was another world. Reality for the locals. If you don't like to see reality stay home.
We had mosquito nets but didn't see very many of the critters.
The only real negative was the long drive (5 hours) to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach bungalow.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Currently staying in Royal. Bengal Villa room 110. This hotel is not easy to get to a good five hour drive from Yamgon, the last hour over very steep mountain road. So likely you will arrive exhausted. A warm welcome awaits you , Harry and Sheila, there hotel given names are both very good and friendly. Room 110 beach front villa the room as
Booked , ( upgrades are rare in Burma ) is large spacious with huge outside wet room. Massive sunken bath Made of granite very wonderful. AC very good room is always cool , massive terrace outside tables chair, teak loungers. Tea and coffe and many products. Obviously this is Burma so some minor issues doors don't close, taps stick, some minor cleaning issues. Beds are stripped and changed daily, evening room service and turn down is good comlentary water. Room in summary large, clean very comfortable. The view, well lie in bed and look at the blue ocean absolutely amazing, Spa modern and all the usual Thai massage 25 us for 1 hour. Tennis court . The pool is beautiful lots of beds good towels, only one fault the pool does not sparkle, it's clean but looks a little cloudy, they were cleaning it to resolve this minor issue. Beach 6 miles of white sand ample beds bar service palm trees fabulous. Restaurant breakfast is now great apparently much improved now has everything you might want. Dinner is very good, eating in the hotel is a goos idea. Ng Sweng, well it's Burma that's why your here , one street filled with everything from barber, tool hire butcher bar massage tire fitter, it's a mile of dusty shops with not much to sell run by people who live in poverty but still managed to be the happiest and most charming on earth. In summary the Bay of Bengal is as close to paradise as you will find excellent. Ps, it's very quiet you only hear the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowdropLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I am currently staying at the Bay of Bengal and am enjoying just relaxing after 12 days of travel around Myanmar. At the moment there are few guests so you feel as if the palace is yours.
The villas are large and well fitted out although it does take me a while each night to find all the light switches. As energy saving the air-conditioning is cut off from 9.00 to 12.00 and again from 16.00 to 18.00. This was not a problem as the rooms stayed relatively cool and i tended to head out and about at those times.
As a solo traveller this was the first accommodation where I was invited to join others and enjoyed a birthday party with some interesting guests one night and a bottle of wine with a small multi-national group on another. The hotel restaurant catered well for vegetarians.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the outlook beautiful.
Whilst it is a 6 to 7 hour drive from Yangon by knowing this in advance you are prepared with food drinks etc and scenery was interesting and varied. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant in a rice field about half way and they were able to provide a most enjoyable vegetarian meal.

Room Tip: I was in room 209 in the second row on ground level with excellent beach views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We booked the beach add on to end our touring holiday af Burma. There is a 7 hour (1 hour stop for lunch) road trip on some really bumpy roads. We were checked in quickly and efficiently. We had room 302 on the second floor which was supposed to be a sea view room however you had to climb up the rail to actully see the sea. The hotel reception area is large and open. You can get a pastry or cake from the reception.

The dining areas/bar/terrace are open and and have great views of the sea and the sunsets. There is also a small library.

The room was very large and comfortable. The bathroom is huge with a rain forest shower. Plenty of toiletries. We didn't have hot water and when we phoned reception we were advised that we needed to switch the water on. It took about 30 minutes to heat up.

The pool area is lovely. Very refreshing and warmish. Plenty of seats and towels. Breakfast is not as extensive as the other hotels that we stayed at but is is sufficient.

You can watch the fishermen bring their catch in in the morning. Quite an array of fish. You can walk to the village, it akes about 20 minutes to stroll along there.

Staff were lovely, very helpful and always smiling.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
1.5 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
176 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#8 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise
Ocean Paradise
#12 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
11 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Bengal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Bengal Resort

Address: No 1 Qtr | Zee Maw village Track, Pathein, Ngwe Saung 11062, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ngwe Saung
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ngwe Saung
#4 Spa Hotel in Ngwe Saung
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ngwe Saung
Price Range: £87 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay of Bengal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on long silver beach, crystal clear water, designer pool, two restaurants and bars, spa, tennis, clinic, shop, 5-star resort facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bay of Bengal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Bengal Hotel Ngwe Saung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing