We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay of Bengal Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Lux(Ngwe Saung)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
66
40
12
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
40
12
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay of bengalfisherman's barngwe saung beachsea viewlocal fishermengreen grassoverlooking the beachhotel roompalm treesrainy seasonseafoodnice beachsilver beachcheap pricebobresortvillage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had our family holiday with my 80 years old Dad and 16 months old nephew, suitable for both of them and they were so happy. We had 1 Royal Bengal villa no 116 and 1 Deluxe garden view room no 413 for 5 adults and one child, both rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. Resort is definitely better than the photos on the website, greener.
If you have a third person staying on the day bed of Royal Bengal Villa, you might want to ask for mosquito net and the air-con is not so cold. My 16 months old nephew couldn’t sleep and had to move to our garden view room in the middle of the night (lucky there is an extra bed)
Foreigners are being charged 30 USD more than locals for accommodation. You can use either USD or Myanmar Kyat (conversion rate 1,000 Kyat = 1 USD as of April 2014).
We had most of our meals from the restaurant (love their fried noodle) and room service is very fast. Expensive compared to the food you can order from outside/ local but it is reasonable for international standard. They serve 7 point out of 10 breakfast.
24 hr electricity and only a few hours cut off air con is a plus point compare to other resorts.
They have buggies bring you around in the resort and even provided a wheel chair, so convenient for my handicapped Dad.
Love the glass roof at the bathroom. Never used so called bath tub in the villa.
Life Jackets and tubes are provided FOC. There is lifeguard from hotel watching us whenever we go down to the water, so we felt safe. Warning: one fine noon, we went down into the sea for a dip and found a lot of blue, coin sized jelly alike things on the beach but we didn’t realize till I got itchiness/ pain on my shoulder and found that thing. Soon realized from a lifeguard that it is Blue button jelly fish (in Myanmar: Yay khu). No harm but it irritate your skin for the whole day and I still have some marks on my body after two weeks. (Cure: rub with lime, you will feel a bit more comfortable). Would be better if lifeguard had warned us in advance.

Room Tip: Booking locally will have betting pricing than online. A little tips will make both of you happier.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinMin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel has an identity problem.
It is not sure whether to concentrate on its many local guests from Yangon or to try and encourage more higher value international guests. The big tour operators invariably choose Ngapali to end their guests tour of Myanmar. Maybe it is because Ngwe Saung is not up to standard or maybe it is the 5 hour drive that puts people off.
Bay of Bengal Resort boasts that it is a 5* resort but in fact I would suggest it is just about a 4*.
We once again had a Royal Bengal Beachfront Suite, very spacious and ideally situated. It had had a recent lick of paint to make it smart and it was very clean, however....
The resort is not really geared up for long stay (more than 5 days) international travellers.
We had 3 coat hangers (but ordered another 10 from housekeeping) there is very little space to store clothes that don't hang up so you are living out of your suitcase.
The vast majority of guests were from Myanmar, either long weekend or on a company incentive/sales trip.
The pool was disappointingly cloudy all the time. This is not because it is not cleaned properly it is because most local guests insist of being dressed in tee shirts and other outer clothing when swimming and the filters get clogged with particles of fabric.
One particular morning, following a party the previous night, the pool had a lot of litter including green coconut shells when having finished the milk, the shell was discarded in the pool. some guests were also seen to clean sand off their feet in the pool after returning from the beach.
It is just a question of knowing what is acceptable in a resort.
The beach is not dirty, but it is not raked and cleaned as it is next door at the Aureum Palace.
There are a number of local ponies that are based near BoB but sadly their droppings are not cleaned up by the owners of the ponies.
I live near Weston Super Mare Somerset UK where we have donkeys on the beach for the children to ride. The owners are obliged to clean up after the donkeys. The same should happen in Ngwe Saung. If the horses are brought onto a private hotel beach then the pony owners should be made clean up after them.
The location of the hotel is ideal, the beach goes on for many miles and it is a 20 minute stroll to the town where there are shops and restaurants (although we ate in the hotel).
The Fisherman's Bar is good for lunch and the main restaurant is good for dinner. The breakfast is OK, better than our last visit.
The gardens around reception and public areas are well kept but there is still too much dead grass and many dead plants near the rooms. The garden staff insist on watering bare patches of ground in the hope that something may grow if they do it enough.
I hope that Bay of Bengal continues to improve.
There is little sign of any of the management team and I firmly believe that if the owners want to move this hotel into the 5* league then they must employ a European General Manager to raise the standards.

Room Tip: Choose a B of B Beachfront Villa
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thaibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Hospitality and well decorated landscapes made a perfect resort. Rooms could accommodate as a home with extra places to take a nap. But if you travel on a public transport, you will hardly find a place to eat outside. Location is separated and you could not hope to see a long shore.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soe Htut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A very good hotel on Ngwe Saung beach. The rooms, specially the beachfront rooms, are spacious with huge terraces to relax on. The bathroom is spacious also with a rainshower and a big bathtub. January is the best time to visit. White sandy beach, with motorbikes for sightseeing on the sand.... And to further afield to see some fisherman's villages. Warm and clear water. Not too many crowds when we visited. And the swimming pool aslo is good.

Breakfast has a good spread of Burmese and some English staples. There are restaurants nearby, on the strip of road but most of them are geared towards seafood and local cuisine.

Room Tip: beach front rooms are the best
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0rkshire_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nice contemporary design of hotel. Spacious villas, with some flaws, the most evident being the lack of stowage for your belongings: 3 miniscule drawers and 5 coat hangers. That's it!
A clear sign that the hotel is mostly geared towards short stays and not for longer beach holidays.
Service at the BOB is friendly and willing, but lacks the professionalism and experience of other comparable resorts in Myanmar.
Reading the "Services Directory" in the room, I had to realise that I was staying in the first hotel with claim to class that informs you already on page one of the directory on charges applied in case of loss or damage to items in the room. The list contains 30 items, amongst them "Mattress Protector" (USD 50.--) and "Tea Cup" (USD 3.--).

Touted by Lonely Planet (Myanmar, Dec 2011 edition, page 83) to be "quite possibly the poshest beach resort in Myanmar", it clearly isn't.

Nge Saung beach in front of the hotel would be comparable to Ngapali Beach, further up the coast, if it wasn't for the constant parade of mopeds and scooters and their noise and exhaust fumes on the beach. Peace and quiet? - Unfortunately not!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews