We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run hotel”
Review of Lion's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lion's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Falerna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

friendly hotel across road from beach with on site parking
. I was having problem with internet and they called a technician to come and solve the problem right away.
We had a room overlooking the ocean . Breakfast was typically italian with a little too many sweets. All types of coffees was freshly made for clients.. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you mrs Elizabeth, it was a pleasure for me to read your positive comment of our hotel.
When he wants to, we will be happy to have her still our guest and always available to make the stay of our guests relaxing and comfortable.
Thank you and see you soon!
Mario Barletta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Looking for a basic place for an overnight stay before checking into our rental villa, we were won over by earlier positive reviews. Not only were we not disappointed, we were welcomed and allowed to relax. We arrived late, after a six-hour drive from Rome and were touched that the owner was perfectly happy to accommodate our teenagers' need for a swim before we were served a very late and delicious meal. We were never rushed.

In the morning, again we were not hurried, despite being a bit late checking out. We then discovered that five sun-loungers were waiting for us on the beach. The staff provided send us armed with croissants for the kids who were not interested in wasting beach-time on breakfast. We had coffee on the terrace. The owner and his staff were lovely without being intrusive so we had a great time. Definitely recommend it. A great place to start the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uidhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you Mr. Uidhir, I'm really sorry for not having noticed before that my answer to your wonderful review had not been published. All I can do is thank you and hope to see you soon at our hotel.
Best Regards
Mario Barletta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights over a 4 week period and each visit we were very happy with the staff and rooms. The hotel has on site parking, beautiful views of the water, beach access with lounges etc., and a pool. The price of the rooms is excellent. Our beds comfortable and any request met with a smile. I know Italians have coffee and a sweet for breakfast but international visitors need more....some fresh bread, cheese an egg even would have made our stays perfect!

Room Tip: We had 6 different rooms, all good with lovely balcony looking at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013
Google Translation

Gentilissima lolly61, Thank you very much......,
per la splendida descrizione di quanto di buono offre il ns hotel.
Sarebbe bastata una sua semplice richiesta e non avremmo avuto difficoltà a servirle quanto da lei desiderato. Sicuramente la prossima volta che sarà nostra graditissima ospite, troverà sul buffet anche le uova.
Grazie ancora e arrivederci a presto !!!
Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I took five minutes of my time to write this review; usually I don't do that, but for this place I had to do an exception. I'm back in NY for two days now, and I already miss Falerna and this beautiful hotel. My wife and my two kids (6 and 9) felt blessed during our ten days vacation. The hotel is very clean, the staff is nice and friendly, the views are breath taking. Realy nothing else to ask!
Mario made us feel like home, and even better! We definitely be back next year!
Thanks for everything,

Robert and his family

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hello Mr. Robert W.
I'm happy that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. Thanks for the nice words of appreciation and greetings to all his wonderful family.
Mario Barletta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

After only 15 minutes of having sent an email to check availability we were sent a full email of the hotels availability, services and respective prices!

Needless to say, we were impressed by this and along with the prices we were quoted we couldn't say no! We were greeted at the main reception by the very friendly Mario Bartelotto (general manager we guessed) and he gave us the entire rundown on Falerna and Falerna Marina. This city, although we visited in the sleepier months of the year did not disappoint. we had spectacular views of the ocean, the town was charming and the people were friendly, we also were given a free car spot! There isn't actually much 'to do' here, but if you want to witness authentic italian culture and food and just relax, this is perfect!

Mario even helped us find a historian who gave us copies of our great grandparents birth, marriage, death and communion certificates, along with travel documents from when our grandparents emigrated to AUS.

Overall we had a great experience with this hotel and its staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you very much mr Roberdt D of its contribution. It will be a pleasure for me to see you at the next your trip to Italy at the Hotel Lion's.
Good Trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Recently visited Falerna from Australia and we were very impressed with this family run hotel with a newly installed swimming pool. Very clean & opposite a crystal clear beach which you could view from the front verandah with very comfortable outdoor furniture. The owners, Mario & Louisa were always extremly friendly & accommodating with our requests. Highly recommend to anyone visiting this seaside area of Calabria. Nadia & Tony Cavalieri

Room Tip: Side room had larger balcony, still with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear, thanks for wanting to express your opinion about your stay at our hotel.
Are your considerations help us to continuously improve.
All You are always in our thoughts, for me and my wife a big thank you and a big hug.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Lion's Hotel in Falerna Marina, Italy. The hotel overlooks the Mediterranean with it's own private beach. The brand new pristine pool was very nice, and the welcoming front veranda was great for taking in beautiful sunsets. Delicious "authentic Italian" fare, a quaint coffee bar and very clean rooms made our stay enjoyable. The staff was very gracious, as were the proprietors Mario and Louisa. We'd gladly return on our next trip to Calabria.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Hi Mr. G.P. thank you very much for your nice comment.
When he decides to return to Calabria, consider also the hotel Lion's "his house."
A greeting to his wife and his daughter.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falerna
0.2 mi away
Eurolido Hotel
Eurolido Hotel
#1 of 5 in Falerna
475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence La Giungla
Residence La Giungla
#2 of 5 in Falerna
73 reviews
8.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Tonnara
Grand Hotel La Tonnara
#3 of 8 in Amantea
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Trevi Village
Trevi Village
#1 of 8 in Amantea
699 reviews
2.2 mi away
Temesa Village
Temesa Village
#1 of 2 in Marina di Nocera Terinese
376 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Ashley
Hotel Ashley
#2 of 10 in Lamezia Terme
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Hotel

Address: SS 18 no 60/A loc Torre Lupo | Falerna Marina, 88040 Falerna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Catanzaro > Falerna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Falerna
Price Range: £48 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lion's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing