We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B.& B. Del Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B.& B. Del Giglio
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Where do I start with such an outstanding B&B?! My partner and I stayed here two nights ago for just one night - we didn't want to leave! The location is fabulous, with amazing views from one side and the other side steps straight out into a beautiful Tuscan street with lovely restaurants, a few shops and a wonderful atmosphere. The property is outstanding in every way. I thought I was house proud but this is immaculate! The hosts are absolutely charming and so helpful and warm and welcoming. The breakfast was fit for a king - it was fantastic. I cannot praise this place enough and cannot wait to go back again next year. Thank you so much for making the last night of our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bletch_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at this delightful B&B for six nights and felt like we were visiting with friends. The setting was absolutely gorgeous, the rooms were so wonderful - bed & bath, living room, kitchen, and wine cellar! The breakfast was beyond anything we could have imagined. But best of all Laura, Roberto and Beatrice were so interesting and interested. They did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. We only hope we have a chance to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights; it was a wonderful B&B. The hosts, Beatrice, Laura and Roberto are gracious, delightful and helpful. The breakfasts were deliciously prepared by Laura, and Beatrice was so helpful with suggestions for touring the area. She recommended ceramics from Montelupo. The garden of this B&B is a gem with a panoramic view of a Chianti valley. A kitchen was available for our convenience, which we used several nights for wine, cheese, salami and bread in the garden. Roberto's art is a special treat.

San Denato is a charming, small village - no tourist shops, but the quiet solemnity of the Chianti hills. This was truly a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms and I don't think you will go wrong with either. Travel when you can enjoy the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXHillCountry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in this very nice house. Very cosy. The hosts are very helpful. We can recommand this without any hesitation.
We could use a nice garden as well. The breakfast delicious and served when we wanted it.
There are several restaurants in this little village.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gittest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Our last night of an amazing 10 day break in Tuscany was spent here, completely by chance. If it had been our first night of the holiday we would have been disappointed thereafter. Roberto and Laura make you feel like friends not guests. Our little 6 month daughter Adriana was given a gorgeous cot and everything about our stay was perfect. Authentic, warm and friendly, excellent location, just the best memories and what a view from the back garden. Our next holiday in Italy will be planned around staying here. My number one stay on the planet. Anthony, Antonia and Adriana.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. The restored house is magnificent and the rooms are beautiful with wonderful views. It was wonderful to have the use of the whole house including the kitchen and the garden was a beautiful place to relax. So much privacy but also enjoyable to talk with Laura and Roberto who were magnificent, charming hosts. Also, a wonderful location for exploring Tuscany, Chianti and the surrounding area. We would love to come back. Thank you, Laura and Roberto....Bravo for the wonderful job you have done in creating this little slice of paradise.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Me and my Partner stayed here for 4 nights and we were extremely happy! Laura the owner is an absolutely amazing Lady, very friendly and Smiley and so helpful. The breakfast, the eye for Detail, the cleanliness, the manicured garden, the HUGE modern bathroom and the whole feel of the place....awesome!! So cool to actually live/stay in the wall of a medieval town, we loved the winecellar and the old well and also their Little dog Lola and the 3 turtles, not to Forget the very nice views!!
Would recommend to anyone visiting Chianti/Florenz/Siena...we loved it!

Room Tip: Room over the archway to winecellar - more character and bathroom bigger/nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullterrier4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato in Poggio
2.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Malaspina
Palazzo Malaspina
#1 of 4 in San Donato in Poggio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Terrazze del Chianti Bed & Breakfast
Le Terrazze del Chianti Bed & Br...
#2 of 4 in San Donato in Poggio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Molinuzzo
Agriturismo Molinuzzo
#3 of 6 in San Donato in Poggio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.& B. Del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.& B. Del Giglio

Property: B.& B. Del Giglio
Address: Via del Giglio 78, 50028 San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to B&B Del Giglio, a scenic and romantic Bed and Breakfast located in the medieval village of San Donato in Poggio, a town in the heart of Chianti, Florence's province, in the fabulous Tuscany. The B. &. B. Del Giglio is a typical ancient Tuscan apartment, very particular and picturesque thanks to the room's foreshortenings and irregular plans. It is situated on the main street of the historical town, inside the ancient walls of the medieval castle of San Donato in Poggio. The apartment has two double bedrooms each with private washroom, smartly furnished with antique Tuscan furniture, TV-set, Air conditioning and Wi-Fi connection. Both bedrooms offer an enchanting view of the beautiful Chianti hills. Moreover, the guests have at their disposal: a big and elegant living-room with a fireplace, a well furnished little kitchen, a wine cellar, an ancient courtyard with a rainwater well and a panoramic garden. Many popular towns in Chianti and Tuscany's cities are conveniently reachable from B&B Del Giglio; it is the perfect place for an unforgettable holiday to discover Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B.& B. Del Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B.& B. Del Giglio Italy/San Donato In Poggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing