We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wine Tasting Experience You Don't Want To Miss!”
Review of Casa Emma

Casa Emma
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.81*
and up
Half-Day Chianti Tour to 3 Wineries with Wine Tastings and Meal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wine Tasting Experience You Don't Want To Miss!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

While staying at Palazzo Malaspina in San Donato, we had our host set us up an appointment to visit Casa Emma for a wine tasting/meal. What a treat! The wine tour was very informative, and I left their cellars with a whole new appreication for the process of producing a great Chianti wine. We tasted five different types of wine, served with the 5 course meal, and each was better than the last. No rushing, every new wine served came with explainations of the difference from the previous wine, then we were left to savor the food and drink. The staff went out of their way to welcome us, and answer all of our questions. Definitely worth the trip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol-Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    27
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great winery.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our hotel concierge recommended this place and even gave them a call for us. Reservations are recommended, as they fill up fast. We stopped by in the afternoon for a tasting and tour of the winery. We learned a lot about Chianti wines and the tasting was excellent. They also have a great balsamic. We shipped a case of wine and some balsamic back home. The outside seating was excellent with a great view of the vineyards. It was a better experience than visiting a larger more commerical winery. The service was outstanding as well as the wine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cristol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Love this wine and it is quite a value!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a great winery. The wines were very good and very affordable. $13 euro for a basic classic Cianti that actually tasted good. Great outdoor seating and the pourers were very pleasant. I bought a case and had it shipped home. Make sure to call ahead for an appointment. They are good but they do fill up because of it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank krp87b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our third year visiting Casa Emma. The service, the food, the wine have always been superb. It is the one experience we look forward to without hesitation. Arriving at Casa Emma, the stunning views, the warm welcome we receive each time, the outstanding service and of course Franca's superb cooking make this a special experience for us and we travel a long long way to enjoy it. Carlotta, the sommelier, is very knowledgeable and has a wonderful manner. This year there was a new menu with a number of wonderful selections. While one can choose a single dish, I would encourage you to consider the full lunch with the wine matches - it will provide you with the full experience but you may wish to forego dinner that evening.
If you are in search of a memorable lunch, great location, delightful wines and good service, Casa Emma will deliver. You may want to make a reservation though. Thank you Carlotta and Casa Emma!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheKiwiWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winery Tour at Casa Emma”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was a great winery near San Donato in Poggio. The folks at Casa Emma provided my wife and I with a wonderful tour in the cellar and we had a great wine tasting! We learned a lot about Chianti and Chianti Classico.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilipTravels1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Emma also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Casa Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing