We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Compagnia del Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a glorious place to stay. It is a brand new (modern, clean, fresh) build near a quiet medieval town, untouched by tourism. You can get whatever you need in town (a couple of small grocery shops, nice restaurants and pizza, ATM, etc.) but it's local and quiet. Just walking through town early in the morning was beautiful. If you want to stay here and explore other towns, you'll need a car. The flat we stayed in had two terraces overlooking the countryside and hills...heavenly. This is also a very reasonable place to stay if you are interested in walking/hiking, as there are some nice jumping-off points nearby. To top it all off, the owners are smart and friendly - ask Giada for advice museums & art history! They love the place with their whole hearts, and they want you to love it, too. Trust me, if you are lucky enough to stay there, you will.

Room Tip: Top floor for sunny terraces, lower floors for more secluded terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCompagnia, Owner at La Compagnia del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Lorraine! What an amazing review! Thank you, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your contribution, your words reward all our efforts!
My warmest greetings to you and Andrew!
Giada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We do remember this trip to Italy as our best and this feeling is significantly associated with La Compagnia del Chianti. We spent a week in early spring here and it was amazing week in incredible quiet and peacefull place. Apartments were spacious, new, lightful, and it was obvious that owners put their hearts and souls into this house. Every morning we saw the sunrise from our windows while drinking coffee and every evening we were glad to come back to our apartments after a day spent in a beautiful surroundings. A special thanks to Giada who was very kind, friendly and attentive. It was a pleasure to talk with her.
We will certainly return here and we advice to everybody: do not hesitate! If you look for quiet and romantic place, La Compagnia is what you need!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Александра Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCompagnia, Owner at La Compagnia del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Dear Alexandra and Ilya,
Sorry for my late reply… I really would like to THANK YOU for this lovely review and your kindness! Your precious words make me love my job and give me the energy to improve this place. I wish you all the best and hope to see you again in Chianti or Saint Petersburg! Thank you again for your nice present :)
Giada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived with our three young children to that amazing house in Toscana.
Giada was so adorable.
We felt like a part of this kind family and could feel that they thought about everything in the room, to make it so comfortable.
Perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalitBermanMiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCompagnia, Owner at La Compagnia del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you Galit for your nice words! I hope you and your family are doing well!
We are looking forward to welcome you again!
My best wishes,
Giada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Now well and truly back in New Zealand I have thought about our stay at La Compagnia del Chianti in the Summer of 2013 many times. It was one of the highlights of our trip through Italy. San Donato in Poggio is a stunningly beautiful medieval village in the Tuscan countryside of Chianti. It is also well-placed to visit other beautiful towns and villages and of course Firenze.
We loved our apartment 'Machiavelli' which was spacious, beautiful and had a stunning view over nearby vineyards and the countryside.
Giada is a wonderful host with great knowledge of the region, its' history, vineyards, festivals, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCompagnia, Owner at La Compagnia del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Dear Margaret,
Time has passed… but I remember very well you and your daughter Alice. I hope you are doing well!
Many thanks for your nice comment and your encouragement!
Hope to welcome you again in Chianti.
Best wishes,

Giada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We drove to a petrol station on a Sunday and only self-serve pumps were available. Not knowing that we wouldn't get a refund, we deposited 50euros which was way over the amount needed for our tank. A local tourist was very kind to help as there weren't any instructions in English. Anyway, the transaction was unintentionally cancelled. We got a refund ticket but that meant we had to drive back to get the money. Giarda, our host, helped by calling the petrol station the following day so that we would not risk making a wasted trip there.

We wish we didn't have to leave the beautiful apartment. Having a quiet breakfast at the balcony, breathing the fresh air and taking in the gorgeous views... now that's bliss! Life is wonderful....especially in magical Tuscany.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC71111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCompagnia, Owner at La Compagnia del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you guys for your review! I’m very happy to know that you finally solve that problem with the petrol station. It was a pleasure to have you here at La Compagnia… My first guests from Singapore!! I’ll never forget! I wish you all the best! Giada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We picked this place on a hunch (and because the pool would still be open in October)! It turned out to be wonderful! It was the perfect place for our Tuscan getaway... but somewhat hard to find so make sure you get there before dark!

The hostess was amazing and super helpful - anything we needed she was there to help us with - from recommending wineries to showing us the best ways to get to places. The apartments are brand new with full kitchens and all the amenities of home. This isn't a B&B - it's a self-catering holiday apartment - but it was perfect for us! It was right in the town of San Donato but still secluded so that you totally felt at peace - with stunning views of the countryside.

I would definitely come back again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank isabele1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCompagnia, Owner at La Compagnia del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thanks for this useful review and for your nice words! We really appreciate your thought and we will make it effective to make your next stay even better.
Best regards,
Giada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in September and used the hotel as a base for exploring Siena, Chianti, and San Gimignano, before returning to Florence. It's centrally located enough to easily explore all of these areas.

The hotel itself is brand new and very clean. Giada is adorable - she let us check in early the day we arrived and opened the office extra early so that we could check out early on our day of departure as well. The pool and landscaping are very well done and very calming, and the surrounding area provides amazing views.

The hotel's location in San Donato is also perfect - when you're at the hotel, you can easily feel like you're out in a villa in the middle of the countryside. However, the village of San Donato is an easy five minute walk if you want to walk into town for dinner.

I would definitely stay here again, and this would also be a perfect hotel for groups or families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klh922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCompagnia, Proprietario at La Compagnia del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Michael and Kari, thank you for staying at La Compagnia del Chianti and for your kind words! It has been a pleasure to host you at our property and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes, Giada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato in Poggio
2.5 mi away
Podere San Filippo Vacation Homes
Podere San Filippo Vacation Home...
#4 of 34 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Malaspina
Palazzo Malaspina
#1 of 5 in San Donato in Poggio
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Terrazze del Chianti Bed & Breakfast
Le Terrazze del Chianti Bed & Br...
#2 of 5 in San Donato in Poggio
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Agriturismo Molinuzzo
Agriturismo Molinuzzo
#2 of 6 in San Donato in Poggio
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Locanda di Pietracupa
B&B Locanda di Pietracupa
#5 of 5 in San Donato in Poggio
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
B.& B. Del Giglio
B.& B. Del Giglio
#3 of 5 in San Donato in Poggio
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Compagnia del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Compagnia del Chianti

Address: Via Brunetto Latini, 28, 50028 San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range: £61 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Compagnia del Chianti" is composed of 5 spacious, newly-built and tastefully furnished apartments with swimming pool. It is located in San Donato in Poggio, a town in Chianti Classico area, 21km from Florence and 25km from Siena. "La Compagnia del Chianti" of San Donato in Poggio is the perfect place to spend your vacation in total relaxation, taking advantage of gastronomic tours as well as excursions to some of the most beautiful and culturally vibrant cities in Tuscany; immerse yourself in the splendid countryside, and in the rustic way of life which are the hallmarks of the ancient Chianti hill-towns. Each apartment has private outdoor areas and access to the shared pool, as well as large open lawns equipped for communal use by guests. The apartments are built in traditional Tuscan style with wooden beams, terracotta flooring and stone walls.Facilities Available to Guests of "La Compagnia del Chianti":- Swimming Pool and Solarium- Large communal garden, equipped with tables and parasols, chairs, sun-loungers and hammocks- Outdoor shower- Barbecue- Wood-fired stove with chimney- Private parking with use of garageServices included in the price of each apartment:- Table and Bed Linen, Bath towels (changed weekly)- Water, Light, Gas- Dishwasher- Electric Cooker- Refrigerator and Freezer- Kettle- Satellite Tv- WiFi- Air Conditioning- Heating- Automatic boiler- Hair dryer- Anti-allergenic mattresses- Baby cot (on request)- Outdoor tables and chairs- Weekly cleaning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Compagnia del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Compagnia Del Chianti Italy/San Donato In Poggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing