We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming spot to escape from the world”
other traveller has booked this property
The cottage has been furnished with quirky flair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage has been furnished with quirky flair
The cottage has been decorated with love and lots of flair. Bedrooms are quirky and cozy, with good linen and hotel quality beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The cottage has been furnished with quirky flair
The cottage has been decorated with love and lots of flair.
Bedrooms are quirky and cozy, with good linen and hotel quality beds
“Stoepsit” is a sport on the platteland. And Kondensmelk’s stoep is a winner!
A real “platteland” garden with a farm dam, fruit trees and sweetpeas in spring
Eeverybody loves our “Damcuzzi” in summer.
Our “damcuzzi” is one of a kind. A small farm dam with inbuilt seating. Perfect for cooling off
Gorgeous little country kitchen, complete with gas stove and brick floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Parys, Free State

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HelenDumi...
Sasolburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Charming spot to escape from the world”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I often visit Parys and staying in Kondensmelk is the best reason for returning. Kondensmelk is a charming, unpretentious cottage. It is within easy walking distance of the Vaal river and town too, should you wish for a longer walk. The cottage has all the basics needed for a pleasant time out from ordinary life. The bedrooms are comfortably furnished and appointed. The stoep, kitchen and lounge invite you to relax. There is adequate security to ensure that your vehicle and valuables are safe. Ideal for a group of friends or family. And always a tin of condensed milk to sweeten you up. I love going there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review, Helen. Kondensmelk is happy to be your home away from home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koosbotha...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Kondensmelk”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a stunning place where you are not cluttered in a room but have the freedom to do your own thing.The house is clean and neat.The bedding is of a high standard and the little "plaasdam" in the back yard was a relief from the heat in Parys.I have eventually find what I was looking for.A home away from my home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Koos, you and Kondensmelk were made for each other! You’re both as sweet as can be. It was a pleasure having you and Marthie stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Dirty and sagging bed proved to be one night too long”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location is good & close to town, but that is as good as it gets... Sadly Kondensmelk self-catering cottage is a place I cannot recommend. After a nice outing in the town & a round of golf at the Parys golf course, the least you expect is bed so uncomfortable, sagging, and to be honest an excuse for a double bed. One night without any sleep in a dirty cottage staring at spider webs & thick dust was unacceptable. I can do with an undersize shower and a dirty swimming pool, but please ensure that the 2 basic requirements are on par - clean place & a decent bed required.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
My goodness, Craig! I’m very sorry and shocked to hear that you had such a terrible experience at Kondensmelk! Please explain to us which bed it was that was so “dirty” and “sagging”, so that we can replace the mattress as soon as possible. Kondensmelk doesn’t have a swimming pool, but a small farm dam. Spiders weave webs overnight, as I’m sure you know. And as for the “undersized shower”...you are the first guest in 10 years of letting the property who’s complained about the size of the shower. It is certainly not big, but for guests who need more elbow room, there is always the option of taking a bath? Thank you, anyway, for your honest review. We actually had 4 female guests staying on the dates you supplied here, so I’m not sure when you stayed at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayvdm
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had such a wonderful time at Kondensmelk with our bulldog Bella. We had a relaxing time, we did not even bother to go out and explore Parys as we planned. Now we have a excuse to visit again. The quirky furniture created such a nice atmosphere. We will definately use the damcuzzi next time. Thank you for making us feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
It was a pleasure having you guys (and Bella of course). Very happy to hear you’re coming back for another visit, Amelia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyes20...
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“More than just home from home”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in March 2016

From the warm welcome and the personalised letter to the attention to little details that make a stay in the Platteland unique and memorable. The beds were inviting the garden enchanting and the atmosphere a change we all needed. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Thank you Jenny for the kind review...would like to welcome you back in our little corner of the Free State.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndle h
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
“We can't wait to return to Kondensmelk's charm!”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Nestled in the heart of Parys, Kondensmelk was the perfect spot for us to kick back, relax and enjoy the local treasures of the town. We enjoyed time huddling beside the fireplace and when the weather warmed up, the wrap-around terrace made for the perfect place to read and enjoy a cup of coffee – with condensed milk of course! The house brought together the charm of an old 1900’s space combined with modern design elements and classic, tasteful décor. We loved all the wonderful surprises, books, and amenities and will definitely be returning to Kondensmelk when we’re in Parys again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance and quality of amenities
Liked least: we loved everything - can't fault it at all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for this lovely review, Lyndle and Sandra! We’d love to have you back in summer : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vansinsa
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Parys!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family had the most enjoyable stay at Kondensmelk and will book it again in the summer to enjoy the farm dam!

We received a very welcome reception from Zelda and immediately felt at home. She left dog biscuits for our bulldog and a small gift for me (it was my birthday). The house is beautifully decorated with antiques and vintage charm, real 'boeresjiek'. The rooms are very neat and clean with beautiful attention to detail. All the comforts that a person might need are catered for, even a tin of 'kondensmelk' for morning coffees. Although the house is close to all the Parys antique shops and restaurants on the main road, the area is so quiet. We enjoyed to braai on the stoep and our dog happily ran around the yard.
We enjoyed our stay tremendously and hope to come back soon!

Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: most enjoyable stay
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words, Zeldi! We’d love to have you back soon...this time, for longer ; )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing