We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Vredefort Dome”
Review of Vredefort Dome

Vredefort Dome
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Parys
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mounatains, River, Bushveld and rugged beauty draw visitors to this unique World Heritage Site. A geological treasure trove, white water rafting, Africa's wildlife, Bushveld, trillions of stars, amazing sunsets, and wonderful people. Only 90 minutes from Johannesburg but a whole different world. There are a wide variety of accommodation venues available including camping and caravan sites. Use of a registered guide is well advised for an informative tour. Heritage Site tours range from 90 minutes to full day.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Vredefort Dome”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Vredefort Dome is a world heritage site. It is supposed to be the site of a large meteor impact 2000 million years ago. It is s beautiful area to visit, but it is an incredibly difficult area to out any information on. A large museum and information centre has been built just outside Vredefort. The museum stands empty and closed as apparently it is not built safely. What a waste of what could be an incredible tourist attraction.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wearnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vredefort Dome”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed Thwane Bush Camp in the Vredefort Dome this weekend. We stayed in one of the camps, all of them are tented which are fully equipped and ensuite shower facilieties. We only took our food and beverages and if you want to make use of the pool (small but a blessing on a hot day) one must take your own swimming towel. There are various hiking trials which one can participate in. At night the sky is so clear with all the trillions of stars and the milkway. The camp we used had no electricity only gas and little parafine lamps but it was awesome. We will definitely go back for a weekend of relaxation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Self Drive around the Dome”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We did a day trip driving through the Vredefort Dome, from Parys, via Venterskroon, over Schoemansdrift, via Vredefort and back to Parys. Great views of the Vaal river along the route and great scenery. It was interesting to learn more about the formation of the Vredefort Dome at the Dome Information Center in Venterskroon, a small building, not very modern, manned by one person. Walking over the bridge at Schoemansdrift was quite fascinating, we saw lots of fish jumping at the weir, and birds waiting for a good catch. The roads are mostly gravel, but assessable by car. There are not many shops along the route, so it may be a good idea to take water/drinks and snacks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Igmar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
688 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Heritage Day camping in the Vredefort Dome”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We visited the Vredefort Dome the past weekend when we celebrated our South African Heritage public holiday. We camped at Suikerbos - a rustic but well equipped camping site near Parys – with chalets too, hiking trails, and some impala roaming the small farm. The camping site is clean and well maintained and we loved the peacefulness, the sounding of birds and the sights of impala, hare, and nature.

The history of the Dome is fascinating and at Suikerbos there are examples of the rock formations from more than 2 000 million years ago, as well as some interesting sites dating from the Anglo-Boer War.

The Dome’s centre circle spans 300 km and the area looks like bushveld with ‘koppies’ (hills) and bushveld acacias. The area is dotted with resort, self-catering units and river facing facilities on the Vaal river.

The video and guided information at Venterskroon was informative.

Well worth a visit – especially on Heritage Day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Within an hour's drive from Johannesburg one of the eight world heritage sites in South Africa”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Driving along the N1 from Johannesburg, one does not realise that within a few kilometres, turning off at Pays, the landscape is changing from flat grasslands to lovely hills and thorn trees.Close to the Vaal river at the town of Parys lies a tourist attraction that is not on the regular route of many local and South African tourists but is immensely interesting from a geological and nature perspective. Whereas Pilanesberg, also close to Johannesburg, is a very old volcanic culderra (the bottom of a volcanic eruption), this is the site where a meteorite hit the earth 2 000 million years ago, in an area spanning 80 km.For anybody interested in the origins of mankind and geology, this is a must-see.With a knowledgeable guide, like the one we had from Dome Adventures,one can easily spend a few very interesting hours here. Thereafter a lunch can be enjoyed at one of the few restaurants on the banks of the Vaal river at Parys, as well as browsing through the vintage shops.Accomodation on various levels is available in the area if you want to make a weekend trip.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sunette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vredefort Dome also viewed

 

Been to Vredefort Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing