We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, beauty, hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carryblaire River Retreat
Ranked #10 of 29 Parys B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility, beauty, hospitality”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Carryblaire is set on an impossibly beautiful bend on the Vaal River. Dave and Tess have created a haven from the hustle and bustle, and have made it possible to truly relax at a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My favourite weekend and even extended long weekend retreat! Whilest the drive cam be slightly rough in a low slung vehicle it is all worth it when you arrive to great hospitality food and views to die for. Wish we weren't so busy so we could go there once a month at least. Nix & Rob

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NixandNoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I have stayed at Dave and Tess' resort twice now, once with my family and once alone whilst in the vicinity on business, its a wonderfull retreat with all the mandatory African adventures within a stones throw.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulufoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Free State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Carryblaire River Retreat is definitely a treat for the soul.
It provides stunning scenery and accommodation for rest and relaxation.
The chef gets 10 out of 10 for cuisine that you want to take your time with.
This experience I would definitely like to share with my close family if possible in future as everyone deserves an opportunity to view nature at its best.

Wish we could have stayed longer and take more stunning photographs !
Thank you for hosting us, will definitely see you again Dave & Tess !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LestVisagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parys hotels
7.0 mi away
Mistique Waters Guest House
10.4 mi away
Rus & Vrede on Vaal
Rus & Vrede on Vaal
#1 of 29 in Parys
59 reviews
7.2 mi away
Art Lovers Guesthouse
Art Lovers Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Parys
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Pont de Val
Pont de Val
#14 of 29 in Parys
4 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mirabel Guesthouse
Mirabel Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Parys
8 reviews
7.5 mi away
In town Guest lodge
In town Guest lodge
#14 of 25 in Parys
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carryblaire River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carryblaire River Retreat

Property: Carryblaire River Retreat
Address: Road S1052 | Vaal Eden, Vaal River, Parys 9585, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Parys
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Parys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from JHB and nestled on the banks of the Vaal River near Parys, Carryblaire River Retreat embodies peace, tranquility and a sense of oneness with nature. With its own natural island and being a registered bird sanctuary, the views offered at Carryblaire are breathtaking and some of the most beautiful in Africa. Drink in the beauty and serenity around you, and let us and nature do the rest... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing