We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hidden gem of Parys”
Review of O's restaurant

O's restaurant
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Parys
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden gem of Parys”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Found the restaurant listed on Tripadvisor and was not sorry we headed there. Food was really good and huge portions. The gardens are amazing. That's why I initially headed there and we weren't disappointed. Rain unfortunately interrupted our seating outside but we were reseated inside immediately. Heading to Parys again this weekend to try out their guest house, Egweni, and will definitely pop in to O's again.

Helpful?
Thank Janette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    81
    36
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sasolburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza the South African way!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Italians really will have to up their standards to keep up with O's Parys!
Beutiful view of the Vaal river from the cocktail bar. The garden is well kept and the tables are arranged underneath big old trees.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joys2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kineton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a special night out”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The restaurant has got a fantastic setting right by the river. We went there as a family but it would be very suitable for a romantic dinner. The food was very good, only niggle maybe for me personally is the big portions but it is certainly good value for money. The waiter was excellent, attentive without being intrusive. Will definitely go here again if we visit the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My sister celebrated her 21st birthday here. The set-up was beautiful (although there was a bit of outside influence involved with the flowers and decor). It was a chilly evening but the setting was cosy and intimate and the service was efficient and unobtrusive. The menu offers a nice variety - I had their snails for starters and they took me to culinary heaven - OH.MY.SOUL!!! I chose the steak for my main course and it was perfectly prepared! I think they are overly generous with the side dishes - no normal person could eat that much - but preparation and presentation are fantastic! Prices are also not unreasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirtualTouristKhomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First impressions last”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I use to love O's Restaurant and have referred a lot of people there in the past. We had a table book for 9 people at 12h00. On our arrival the host ( a lady with red hair, don't know her name) didn't bother to greed as welcome...the first words out of her mouth was....Do you have a reservation....not hallo and welcome to o's or anything.
I have been in the hospitality industry myself for almost 20 years and if that is how you meet and greed your guest....
The food wasn't bad and the water was very friendly. We sat on a table outside in the sun and when we asked for an umbrella we were told sorry, there isn't any extra umbrella's. Now if you want people to sit outside in the sun you must make a plan...what will you do with your client if it starts raining... there was some old people in our group that is over 80 and they had to sit in the sun because there isn't umbrellas.
Must say..funny how someone that is your first point of contact with your clients can ruin a nice lunch!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wouterv1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O's restaurant also viewed

 

Been to O's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing