We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautify stay in the country”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chillac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ruthhlewi...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautify stay in the country”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a really beautiful old Cognac chateau which has been stylishly renovated. We were ~12 friends staying here in May celebrating a birthday. The weather was fantastic and we spent our time enjoying the pool and the scenery and eating delicious local food and drinking local wine! The rooms are all huge (four poster beds and freestanding victorian bath tubs in some rooms!) The linen, pillow & beds are all high quality. Most rooms have their own bathroom. We would have aperatifs on the terrace in front of the house in the evenings, then dine inside on the huge wooden farmhouse table. There is a study and lounge for reading/chilling in also. Basically plenty of space, well equipped kitchen. I think there is also a yoga barn, but we didn't get around to using that! One hour from Bordeaux airport to so very practical, you feel like you are in the country side but don't have driven for several hours to get there :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDJ0nes
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Get it booked!”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our long weekend at Maison de la Vaure was the perfect break. We hadn’t really appreciated how easy it would be to spend all our time at the house. The plan was to use it as a base from which to explore Bordeaux and Nouvelle Aquitaine but the property seems to embrace you as you head up the sunflower lined driveway. We were lucky to have the run of the place for a day or two- La Maison is more its own hamlet than a house, comprising three habitable properties and so much to explore. The frankly grand main house has been exquisitely restored and re-imagined. Its ancient dining room a memorable high point with the moon and stars a fitting backdrop through the picture windows. We stayed in the second house, which was luxuriously appointed yet retained all its bucolic charm. I typically find swimming pools a disappointment but La Maison’s was another big positive. It is a proper size, overlooks the rolling countryside, salt (I think) not chlorine - and has a massive stone barn just behind it for those needing cool refuge from the glorious (for some) French sunshine- or a game of badminton or table tennis. A short yet perfectly pleasurable drive from Bordeaux through the vineyards and countryside, we will certainly look to go again. Thanks to Ian and Phil too. Unstuffy, wonderfully attentive yet unobtrusive hosts really make a difference. Loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartWL
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic week in Bordeaux”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had the most perfect week here at the end of May/beginning of June. The beautiful house has everything you could wish for. We just wish we could have stayed longer. There was a large group of us but the property is so spacious that everyone had their own space and it never felt over-crowded. Days were spent chilling by the pool, exploring Cognac/St Emilion and playing games in the grounds. Evenings were spent outside by the BBQ or in the fabulous dining room before retiring to the Cognac Room for "one last drink" before heading to bed. Every last detail has been thought of and we left with some great memories. We will be back...!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Dear Stuart
Many Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely time at Maison De La Vaure and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon. Best Wishes, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D
1 review
“Great French house”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a wonderful long weekend at Maison De La Vaure! Quick drive from Bordeaux Airport and you're in wonderful countryside, surrounded by sunflowers and green fields.

Best thing about the place is design - so much thought has gone into each room and nothing beats a freestanding bath in your bedroom! The pool / yoga barn also brilliant - inspiring you to do a little more than just drink Rose all day.

Thanks to the owners Ian and Phil for a great stay!

X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Dear Nick
We're so pleased you had a lovely stay at Maison De La Vaure, and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime. Best Wishes, Ian & Phil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing