We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem !!”
Review of Montafoner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montafoner Hof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tschagguns
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a little known hotel , 4 Stars ,family owned and run. The hotel has a typical Vorarlberg style with a wonderful ambience. The members of the family are constantly around to welcome you and Make you feel at home.Service and hospitality are second to none. The kitchen is impressive and the guests are invited to tour the kitchen on a special evening and meet and talk to an array of super chefs. Needless to say, at various stations you are asked to taste a partucular dish with a glass or two of Champagne. The Spa and the heated pool( part indoor and part outdoor) are good but not overindulge.
There are different types of rooms for different tastes and requirements.The full board includes a magnificent breakfast,an afternoon tea/cake and a 5 course dinner.The hotel offers a variety of packages which range from mountain walks, cycling,golfing, visiting the area to just staying put in the hotel reading and eating.

Room Tip: This really depends on your preference and how much you are prepared to pay. But by and large, the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamieMoraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

we spent Christmas Eve at this lovely well-run hotel, had booked package "Bergweihnacht". Lovely atmosphere. Hotel is family run and members of the family are always present. Staff extremly friendly and well trained. Food very nice and Christmas Eve Dinner was divine and the decoration of the dining room, in fact in the whole hotel, was absolutely lovely and very tasteful and traditional. Rooms all in wood with nice view, facing South-East thus very sunny. Bath and toilet are separate which is a plus, only snag, ventilation in toilet does not work. We had hoped for a white Christmas but the weather turned out to be springlike. Maybe we'll get snow a next time because we would definitely return. As a matter of fact most guests are regulars and some, we heard, come back year after year. One family was there for the 15th time!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelMeilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

If you are a smoker and like big dogs, the this may be a hotel for you.

We were stunned to walk into the hotel lobby area and find ourselves surrounded by smokers and big dogs. To be fair, we had not specifically asked about the smoking- and dog-policy at the time of booking, but were unpleasantly surprised nevertheless. It is impossible to avoid the smoking area as one has to go through the lobby to get from the room to the ski-room and through the bar area to get to the restaurant. When checking out we did mention this to the reception staff (who were very friendly and helpful but short handed I had the feeling) and were told that the smoking policy is being reviewed. So one has to wait and see what comes out of that.

Staying three nights, we had three dinners. Four times it happened that we ordered a wine from the wine list and either that wine was out, or they came back with a different year. We mentioned this to the waiter at the time who said he was going to pass the information on to the sommelier. We did not hear back from anyone on this at the time. My husband found a hair in his soup. This was also mentioned at the time, and again, we did not hear back from anyone on this at the time. This is not a standard that fits a 16 Gault Milliau points restaurant, we don't think. When checking out we did mention the wine situation. The hotel owner/hostess said that it was all due to the vendor/supply chain. She said she had ordered wines in the summer, they should have arrived by November but that they still had not, and that the wines should come in the next few days, etc etc. And that she is a sommelier herself and this is not a standard the hotel normally provides.

In the restaurant we had a couple of experiences that made us look at each other thinking 'what is going on here'. My daughter asked for some ketchup to go with her kids menu, and the cook gave her some and said 'don't tell anyone you got it from me'. What?! We asked for salt and pepper once and the hostess/hotel owner put it on our table with a little bang, practically IN my soup. One of the waitresses, who we had seen working at the bar earlier, came to clear our children's plate and as she did so, she was mumbling away to herself, while we were eating! Bizar, really.

And other guests, who we got to talk to on our last evening, mentioned they had to pay Eur10 for ordering a filet of pork to replace the main course on the set menu! You would think a hotel this standard charging these prices would happily oblige without the extra fee. And Eur10?! Why not Eur25? Or Eur12?! Bizar, really.
Overall, we had the feeling the staff was not very happy. There was a bit a negative atmosphere hanging around the hotel, which gave us the feeling we were just 'fillers'. Focus is very much on the 'repeat guests' and that is obvious for everyone to see. The hostess did not once come to our table to have a chat, whereas she spend plenty of time at tables around us with guests who clearly have been coming to Montafonerhof for years.

Our room was very good, the beds extremely comfortable. The hotel provides a small bus that ferries guests to and from the two ski-resorts Golm and Hochjoch and that was a very reliable and quick service. The two drivers running the bus are extremely friendly and helpful.

All in all, the hotel did not meet our expectations. Maybe our expectations are high but then again, for this price one can expect a certain standard. We have stayed in many other 4 star hotels that are a lot better. We will go back to the area as the skiing is quite good but we will look to stay in a different hotel.

Room Tip: the hotel has rooms, that are apartments really, that cater for larger families. our room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank irishwife1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I just spent 3 nights at this lovely family run Hotel and it has been a very nice stay. The Hotel is ranked 4 star and these stars are well deserved. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. This is not a luxury Hotel but you have everything you need. The public areas of the Hotel are warm and cosy and the lounge with a fireplace is a very intimate and welcoming place to spend a few hours while enjoying a drink with friends and family.
The food was lovely and Christmas dinner was very nice and the decorations and atmosphere were perfect. It is a family run Hotel and as guests one is made to feel like a part of the family.
There is a swimming pool and Spa area but be aware that the sauna's and spa area is not segregated and men and women use the area together...
The only negative point I can make about the stay is that the cosy lobby lounge allows smoking indoors. For smokers this is great but for non-smokers this is very annoying especially when you are with children. The smell of smoke at times was over-whelming and we left the lounge for this reason on one particular day.
I would highly recommend this Hotel for its location a it is a beautiful part of Austria both in summer and winter. The Hotel is close to ski lifts and there are also walking trails and sledge runs near by. There are shops within walking distance. This hotel will give you a real austrian experience and you will feel very welcome and content.

Room Tip: Room 106 is above the kitchen and therefore a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetsetZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Montafoner Hof during low season. At the check in we got upgraded to a two bedroom apartment which came with a lovely view. The staff was extremely helpfull with whatever suestions we had.
After check out we realized that we forgot something in the room so I asked the reception if they could ship it to us and they did, even without charging for it.
Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This wonderful hotel epitomises the great hospitality of the Austrian people
The greeting and assistance throughout our stay from the Tschohl family could not have been better during our 10 day stay in July - a family tyrolean music evening, a tour and taster evening of the immaculate kitchen and events each day that you can participate in - a mountain walk followed by a hearty meal and singalong in their lovely mountain cabin being a particular favourite
Sumptuous 6 course dinners served by efficient & friendly ( and English speaking staff) were most welcome after a day out and about in the stunning surroundings of mountains and valleys - not to mention the abundance of homemade cakes at 3-4.30p.m.
The rooms are of good quality and meet all needs - not the most lavish but certainly extremely comfortable and well maintained
A superb indoor/outdoor pool + table tennis kept the children entertained when the weather was not so good
All in all a great time and would love return and we thank the Tschohl family for making our stay so special ( especially for lending us Brits some proper walking shoes!!)

Room Tip: For families of 4 or more room 108 had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and an open plan sitting room/kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkerFamily149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Ecksuiten verfügen über 2 Balkone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pfisterwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tschagguns
0.8 mi away
Loewen Hotel Montafon
Loewen Hotel Montafon
#1 of 5 in Schruns
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aktiv & Spa Hotel Alpenrose
8.6 mi away
Sporthotel Silvretta Montafon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zimba
Hotel Zimba
#2 of 5 in Schruns
126 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpenhotel Montafon
Alpenhotel Montafon
#3 of 5 in Schruns
98 reviews
5.4 mi away
BergSPA & Hotel Zamangspitze
BergSPA & Hotel Zamangspitze
#1 of 4 in Sankt Gallenkirch
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montafoner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montafoner Hof

Address: Kreuzgasse 9 | 6774 Tschagguns, Tschagguns 6774, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Tschagguns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tschagguns
Price Range: £190 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montafoner Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hotel in Montafon - Look forward to your winter holiday in Tschagguns, Montafon. Enjoy the mountains of the Montafon. Experience in the Hotel Montafoner Hof your ski holiday from various sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Montafoner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing