We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jochberg
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the hotel on a 3 for 2 deal, also made use of the online upgrade option and got a jr suite for a bargain. The hotel itself is a nice mix of modern alpine design in the common areas and a more traditional style in the rooms yet with a top modern bathroom.
The tranquility within and around the hotel was super pleasant, the service immaculate - as to be expected from this hotel brand.. despite the fact that during summer season only one restaurant is open we had excellent breakfasts and dinners in the hotel, great modern Austrian food (probably the best Wiener Schnitzel I ever had) and an extensive wine list.
Pool area and spa are great, too, we also made use of the inhouse sports shop and rented mountain bikes on site.
Free mineral water and fresh fruit and even a small cake were a nice welcome and treat.

There are only a few downsides I need to mention here to also give the hotel the chance to improve (room 323):
(-) The toilet seems to have a feature that its tiled floor heats up over night, but there's no switch to prevent that as it's not really required during Summer and the heat went up to levels that might have been ideal to fry eggs on..
(-) in general, the room was a bit too warm, too, we balanced it by leaving the balcony door open over night as the ac control didn't seem to react on any command.
(-) The hotel staff at reception encouraged us to use their garage to leave our car in, even offered valet service but failed to mention that this was at 15€ charge per day..
(-) The free internet is a very nice treat, but reception in the suite itself was very poor, however great in the common areas.

As you can see, minor issues only which will not stop us from returning, latest in winter, as it is a really great resort. Our thanks go particularly to the staff in the restaurant, they really excelled.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Quilmess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski T, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Quilmess76

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time in the Kitzbuehel Alps and that our hotel and its interior were to your taste.
Especially your kind mentioning of our staff, especially of our restaurant team is very rewarding. We are also happy that we could convince you from our spa area and the sports shop.
We would also like to thank you for mentioning a few downsides. It is a good opportunity for us to improve our performance and your feedback will give us the chance to realize your expectations. We forwarded your comments to the relevant departments.

Dear Quilmess76, thank you again for your positive review. We are happy to welcome you back in the winter time.

Until then we remain with best regards
Your Team at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    81
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
119
160
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here with family a few days. Nice place, good food, beautiful spa-area, everything went well. Outdoor pool was nice and also indoor pool, pool-area was superb, the skiing area was quite near and easy to go with a car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjeannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski T, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Marjeannika

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we could convince you from our 3.600 sqm Kempinski The Spa which has just been awarded with the Spa Diamond Award 2014. Since last winter, we have the possibility to ski-in / ski-out, so for your next visit, you won’t even need your car to get to the skiing area.
Dear Marjeannika, thank you again for your positive review. We will be grateful to welcome you back to the Kitzbuehel Alps.

Until then we remain with best regards
The Team at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous, while preserving an Austrian/Tiroler style. The athmosphere could not be better and is both stylish and authentic. The terrace and spa are perfect, especially when you have lunch on the sun deck overlooking the outside pool. There were some Russians, but not too disturbing (they at least asked if they could sit next to my table). What is a bit strange is that some people come over to the restaurant terrace to have lunch in their spa robe. Not very chique - the hotel should set a rule for this (although I liked the bikinis around ;)

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski T, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear “Vincent T”,

First of all thank you very much for commenting on our hotel.

We are always glad to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We are really happy that you liked the atmosphere in the hotel as well as the terrace and spa.

I will definitely forward your comment concerning the people in spa robes to the respective department.

Kind regards from Jochberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We recently booked up to stay here for our honeymoon after being so impressed with the Kempinski in Vienna, and I must say that it was to the same high standard

You really won't find a better hotel chain, the rooms are amazing , food perfect and the staff look after you like royalty.

The outdoor pool and spa is pure relaxing luxury and the rooms are unlike any other hotel i have stayed in.

They really looked after us as it was our honeymoon but they do that anyway as we experienced in Vienna

Truly a brilliant hotel and experience, so sad to leave but we will be back again soon

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyw1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski T, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear “Dannyw1981”,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon and for writing such a positive review.

We are very happy that we could convince you from our rooms, the spa, and our staff. I will be happy to forward these comments to the respective departments.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Jochberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Husband and I chose the Kempinski in Jochberg for our honeymoon. We had previously stayed in the Kempinski in Vienna and loved it so much the hotel we would stay in was a no-brainer!
I must say we were not disappointed! This place was amazing. The hotel had been informed that we had just been married and very nicely upgraded us to a suite which was huge and very, very comfortable. In the room we had champagne, chocolates and flowers in the sitting room and rose petals had been sprinkled on the bed and around the bath.

The food for breakfast was brilliant; they have a variety of everything from breads to honey and butter. Eggs made to order and other dishes on an A La Carte menu. Nothing seems too much trouble. The staff at breakfast (unfortunately I didn't get their names) and in the Cigar Lounge were very helpful and often gave us tips on where best to go and walks we might enjoy.

Unfortunately I cannot comment on the skiing because the spa was just too tempting for me. My husband however, did do a morning on the slopes and thoroughly enjoyed himself. I had a spa treatment which was just divine.

If any, the only fault is its distance from the main town. But the hotel drove us to a lovely restaurant in their porch, which made my husband’s holiday. And we caught a cab the next night. Places I would recommend for food are Steakhouse Zum Postinger and a small Italian place at the bottom of the cable car which doesn’t seem to feature on Trip Advisor.
xx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelanne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski T, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear “hazelanne87”,

First of all congratulations to your wedding! We are very happy that you chose our hotel for your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your time here.

Thank you very much for your positive comments; we will definitely forward them to the respective departments.

We are glad that you enjoyed our honeymoon arrangement for you as well as the breakfast, the staff, and the spa area including treatments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from the Alps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at Kempinski for 4 nights. The location of hotel is excellent, and the hotel itself is superb. I cannot recommend it enough. From the arrival on, guests feel really welcome. Everyone is really friendly and helpful. I don´t get the comments about "rude East European staff" - all the mostly Slovak staff were amazing and courteous.
Hotel facilities are outstanding. The pool area is great - swimming outside in warm water under the starry sky, breathing in the fresh Alpine air is such a treat. The design of the spa is very clever and cosy with lots of varied places for relaxation. Space is very tastefully appointed - check out the grand Catellani & Smith lights in the pool area! The spa belongs to the Leading Spas of the World and they sure deserved it.
The hotel is well equipped for skiers (and it is not their fault that the snow situation is so bad this season): you can literally walk in your ski boots to the (free) lift which then takes you to the gondola lift nearby. The slope by the hotel is also cool for small kids who need a bit of practice. Facilities for skiers include heated ski boot hangers, slots for ski (each room has their own) and lots of space to change from the ski gear.
We especially loved the little touches like a welcome pack for our child (including a cute rubber duck toy on skis!), a glass of champagne for breakfast, a personalized turndown service in the evening, or a really stylish bag provided in your room for towels etc. when you are headed for the spa (it is made by Reisenthel).
Breakfast was great with lots of nice local delicacies - local ham, butter, honey. 5 different fresh fruit juices, eggs made your way on order, fresh fruit... the choice is almost too much!
All my family has genuinely enjoyed the stay and I highly recommend this hotel. It is everything one expect is to be.
The only downside is having to leave at the end!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellena_el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski T, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear “Ellena_el”,

First of all thank you very much for your extensive positive feedback which we really appreciate.

It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we could convince you from our Kempinski The Spa, our breakfast, and our skiing facilities.

We are always glad when our guests appreciate the little treats we give to them, such as the welcoming package for kids. Your family should always feel welcomed.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel!

Greetings from Jochberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Ski trips with young kids are generally a NIGHTMARE...
...But this hotel, conveniently located at the bottom of the bunny-slopes (20 mins drive from Kitzbhuel town), is a dream for any parent who loves skiing but dreads the thought of getting the children up and down to the slopes. The ski school and ski hire shop (not cheap but so easy) are located in the vast lobby and the instructors pick the children up from the boot room so you don't even have to go outside to drop them off each morning (time to go back to bed for a snooze!)

The delicious breakfast buffet finishes at an incredibly civilised midday and the excellent supper buffet begins at 6:30pm. The spa is excellent with huge pools and no restrictions for children, with rest, fire-meditation, infra-red treatment capsules and yoga rooms upstairs. The kids club is nice and there are pleasant staff on duty.

For the whole week we stayed in the hotel and only strayed onto the ski slopes and to the very pretty mountain restaurants which served a delicious array of excellent local Austrian food at reasonable prices. We had two teenagers and two 3 and 5 year olds with us, so everyone could ski (or not!) at their own pace doing as much (or as little) as they pleased.

The hotel is staffed by year-round professional staff rather than seasonaires which makes a difference and service is excellent, the GM friendly and breakfast and supper buffets (which normally we avoid like the plague) really good. Modern contemporary decor completes the calm feel with huge airy communal areas.

The only negative was their much promoted fancy in-house Asian restaurant. We were with friends so were a table of 12 so were only permitted to choose '3 courses or 5 courses' (thank goodness we only choose 3). The starter took an hour to come, there was no choice and was quite literally inedible (revolting pre-prepared beef tartar, uncooked prawns and poor seared tuna sashimi). The main course (we were offered a choice of duck, chicken or pork) was also inedible and my dish, presented in a sea of creamed curry had a single piece of rubbery chicken forlornly lurking at the bottom. The dessert no choice offered and was a nasty pre-prepared sort of cream in a bowl. The manager was apologetic and offered 50% off the bill, but it is surprising when the rest of the hotel was so excellent that this should be so in incredibly poor. Really - take my advice and stick to the main buffet which is excellent and you can take on a half board option.

All in all a superb ski trip.
Thank you Kempinski for putting the ski into our family ski trip and taking the pain out of a kids skiing trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieKatieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski T, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear “KatieKatieF”,

First of all, thank you very much for your extensive feedback! We really appreciate that you took your time to review our hotel and write this feedback.

We were very glad to hear that you and your 4 children enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a nice time during your skiing holiday!

We are happy that you liked our facilities, such as our Kempinski The Spa, our breakfast and evening buffets, and our ski school and ski hire shop. The fact that we could impress you with our excellent service is also a very important point for us, as a hotel lives of its service quality.
We would also like to thank you for your constructive criticism concerning the Sra Bua restaurant. We are very sorry that we could not convince you from this restaurant. Your comments will definitely be forwarded to the Sra Bua team.

Thanks to your comments, we can figure out potential weak points and improve them.

We would be very happy to welcome you again in our beautiful hotel and also convince you from the Sra Bua!

Greetings from Jochberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jochberg
4.2 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tirolia
Grand Tirolia
#7 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Kitzbuhel
4.7 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol

Property: Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
Address: Kitzbueheler Strasse 48, Jochberg 6373, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Jochberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jochberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern architecture meets Tyrolean naturalness - situated in the middle of the breathtaking panorama of Kitzbuhel Alps. Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol offers 156 luxurious rooms - 118 Superior and Deluxe Double Rooms and 38 Suites. The highlight is the Penthouse Suite - the biggest suite in Austria with 520 sqm. Culinary delights can be found in one of the two restaurants Steinberg and Sra Bua, the Rubin Bar, Pastry, and the Mountain Health Bar. Our Kempinski The Spa, offers 3,600 sqm for relaxation and was awarded with the Diamond Spa Award 2014. The six conference rooms are flooded with daylight and offer space for up to 420 people with a total of 546 sqm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol Jochberg, Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing