We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures don't do it justice”
Review of Cape View Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape View Clifton
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I had the distinct pleasure of spending three nights at the Cape View in early July. The property is immaculate, quiet, intimate, and far from hotel-like. Quality touches abound including a turndown surprise that we still laugh about. Mitch and his staff were professional, friendly, discrete, and very, very helpful. We wanted to take the "breakfast ladies" home with us. Restaurant recommendations were spot on as were shopping suggestions. The pictures don't do the CV justice, especially the views of Camps Bay, the Twelve Apostles, and incredible sunsets over the Atlantic. Other than the animals in Kruger NP, the CV was the highlight of our trip to SA. You can pay a lot more for a place in Cape Town, but you won't find a more pleasurable one than the Cape View.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Glen and Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Your description of Cape View Clifton is exactly what we are trying to acheive.

Looking forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just spent ten days staying at Cape View in Clifton, Cape Town. We came to watch our son play rugby and our tour company recommended Cape View. Think of any superlative and it will apply to this wonderful, beautiful, place. The views over Clifton beaches, Camp Bay and the Twelve Apostles are stunning. The decor is white and fresh with sumptuous bed linen and cushions but with touches of warm African design that make the atmosphere homely and welcoming. The bed was deliciously comfortable, the towels soft and fluffy and as the weather was chilly at night we even got hot water bottles at turn down. Jess, the owner is young and eager to please. She spent six years training in London and is a talented business woman and interior designer. Mitch, the manager acted as our personal advisor on what to do and where to visit. He also organised a wonderful mystery tour of restaurants each night and booked numerous taxis during our stay. Breakfast was a feast of fresh juices or smoothies, muesli concoctions, deliciously fresh fruit and every possible combination of cooked delights. All the food was cooked to perfection by our lovely breakfast ladies who also made us packed lunches when we needed them. Although Cape View doesn't provide formal lunches or dinners a chef can be arranged if required. However, we only had one night when we didn't eat out and we ordered an excellent takeaway to be delivered. We felt very safe at Cape View as the security staff were on duty day and night. Parking was convenient directly opposite the property. The staff were the friendliest and most consistently helpful that we've ever encountered and the cleanliness of the whole accommodation has to be seen to be believed. We were so sorry to leave a group of people who we feel have become friends and what was one of the best locations we have ever stayed. We were tempted not to write a review and to keep this place to ourselves but that wouldn't be fair to Jess, Mitch and all the fantastic staff. We just hope there will be space for us to come back in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which was huge with a large terrace looking over the ocean. But we were given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OtelInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your glowing review.

So glad to hear that you enjoyed all that Cape View Clifton and Cape Town has to offer. We look forward to having you back some day soon.

Kind regards,

Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We are on the third day of a long and privileged stay at Cape View Clifton. Room 5 is exceptional with views that you would never tire from. Each staff member has a unique personality that when combined serves to exceed our every expectation. We will write again as our stay unfolds. Thank you, Warren, Delleni and Ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Warren,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

It is an absolute pleasure hosting your family. You will soon become honorary members of the Cape View Clifton team.

Chat soon,

Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Thank you to all at Cape View Clifton for a most Wonderful although far too short stay! We loved every moment of our night at the Very beautiful, comfortable and oh so elegant Cape View where your every need is anticipated and met with efficiency and a smile....A place where one feels so relaxed and at ease...like being at Home...This is definitely going to become our new "Home away from home" Thank you all at Cape View for making it so!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Clifford,
It was an absolute pleasure to host yourself and Ronlynne during your stay with us. We look forward to being the Cape Town home for the Benn family.
See you soon,
Mitch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My son and I stayed at Cape View Clifton for 4 nights. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect - close to the beaches, town and the waterfront. The view was absolutly breathtaking. We had a delicious beautifully presented breakfast each morning.Cape View is tastefully and comfortable decorated. We will definitely be back as we loved the entire experience. Well done and many thanks for an awesome stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Diana,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Glad to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Undoubtedly one of the best boutique hotels we have ever visited. The location and views were magnificent, the staff, food and service were exceptional. Beautifully appointed rooms and bathrooms. Highly recommended.
Melanie
Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Melanie,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. Your kind words are very much appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind regards,
Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Capeview Clifton, definitely highly recommended!
Will definitely come back again, views are exceptional and staff is very friendly.
Breakfasts are very good too. This hotel is on our top list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZabethW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Zabeth and family,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
1.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
2.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Clifton

Address: 232 Kloof Road, Clifton, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range: £294 - £787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape View Clifton is a centrally located luxury guesthouse. It boasts uninterrupted panoramic views of Clifton, Camps Bay and the Twelve Apostles. Recently refurbished, each suite is designed to provide privacy and the utmost comfort, optimizing the view and creating an intimate space to be enjoyed by guests. Cape View Clifton offers guests traveling in small groups or with family, two and three bedroom suites. These are created and decorated for a laid back and relaxed stay. All suites have private outdoor balconies overlooking the breathtaking coastline for guests to enjoy, with all the comforts of home in mind. The central pool deck provides a perfect spot for guests to relax, enjoy the Cape summer or a glass of wine and the spectacular sunsets. The tourist attractions of Cape Town are a short drive away and further afield are the renowned Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape View Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape View Clifton South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing