We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very special place”
Review of Cape View Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape View Clifton
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Only let down by the Cape weather, Cape View Clifton is a gorgeous spot in a perfect position. Very stylish and welcoming - a great place to spend the weekend. Service was understated and relaxed and the breakfasts delicious. Loved the honesty bar and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Bridget,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad that you were able to use Cape View Clifton as a hideaway from the harsh Cape weather we have had recently. Looking forward to your return visit.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in the suites and the views are fantastic. Excellent service , breakfasts are delicious and the personal touch is always present. From end to end a perfect place and excellent customer service. We highly recommend it. We have been in a few places in Cape Town, and Cape View Clifton is on top of our list of favourite places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Alex,
So please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you back at Cape View Clifton sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Cape View and really hope to return soon. Mitch and Mandy looked after us brilliantly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was by far the best of any 5* hotel we've ever stayed in! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the view over the beach is stunning. A perfect hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas & Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Thomas and Rosie,
Thank you for this glowing review. The breakfast team is thrilled with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Amazing place to stay. Awesome views, beautiful rooms and every member of staff couldn't do enough for you. Sandy organised the most fabulous day trips for us and the breakfast team made sure we had plenty of yummy food for the activities that lay ahead. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rhian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Rhian,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family at Cape View Clifton. Let's try to get the entire family here next time.
Kind regards,
Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We absolutely loved your hotel and would love to return when we are next in SA. It is a perfect balance of fab personal service and homeliness. Cannot fault anything! Thank you so much. The good was delicious, the beds and apartment lovely and the view and terrace stunning. Thank you for helping make our furst stay as a family in South Africa so memorable :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Andrea and Craig family,
So pleased to hear that enjoyed your first visit to Cape Town. You experienced one of the best Autumns that Cape Town has ever seen. We look forward to hosting your family on their second trip to Cape Town.
kind regards,
Mitch Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We nestled into our favourite " home away from home" to prepare for our Daughter's Wedding which was taking place just outside Cape Town. Jess, Mitch, Mandy and the fabulous Cape View team pulled out all the stops to make sure our every need was anticipated and met….from printing last minute lists, to sending boxes to extra rails or sore feet…..whatever we needed. They dealt with our Visitors popping in for tea and delicious cakes and drinks and snacks…..All done efficiently and stylishly but most importantly always with a Smile.

Our Family, which ranged in age from 15 - 86 loved every moment of our 10 day stay….and in between the Beautiful Rooms and Outstanding food, we were all loath to leave the comfortable bubble of Cape View but after all was said and done we had to return to the real World until we find another reason to travel to Cape Town and stay at CVC.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronlynneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Ronlynne,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was such a pleasure to be a small part of your family's big day. We wish your daughter and her new husband all the best for the future. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Absolutely amazing place to stay! Great service, views and food. My husband and I have stayed here a few times now and it feels like a home away from home. Perfect place to relax in Cape Town and also very close to all the attractions if you feel like leaving the hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chantel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Chantal & Shaun,
Thank you for writing this review. Always a pleasure hosting you for your Cape Town getaways. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
346 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
266 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Clifton

Address: 232 Kloof Road, Clifton, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range: £373 - £942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape View Clifton is a centrally located luxury guesthouse. It boasts uninterrupted panoramic views of Clifton, Camps Bay and the Twelve Apostles. Recently refurbished, each suite is designed to provide privacy and the utmost comfort, optimizing the view and creating an intimate space to be enjoyed by guests. Cape View Clifton offers guests traveling in small groups or with family, two and three bedroom suites. These are created and decorated for a laid back and relaxed stay. All suites have private outdoor balconies overlooking the breathtaking coastline for guests to enjoy, with all the comforts of home in mind. The central pool deck provides a perfect spot for guests to relax, enjoy the Cape summer or a glass of wine and the spectacular sunsets. The tourist attractions of Cape Town are a short drive away and further afield are the renowned Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape View Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape View Clifton South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing